We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, cheap and basic- serves a purpose.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Celebrity

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Celebrity to your Saves list
Hotel Celebrity
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Gervis Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3DD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Southampton
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Central, cheap and basic- serves a purpose.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We stayed here a few weekends ago on a last minute impulse as we were going to the BIC for the evening. As we live less than an hour away it seems indulgent to stay anywhere expensive so we really were looking for somewhere cheap and this fitted the bill. We got a double room with breakfast for £46 and parking on site is also free. Bargain.

So- it was easy to find, car park was not huge but we managed to get the last space at around 6pm on a friday so would imagine most people were already checked in by this point. There is onstreet parking outside also for a charge although free overnight.

Check in was quick- were given key and remote control (!!). We had asked for a quiet room and were a little disappointed to see we were given a room above the function suite. Thankfully we were out til quite late and the funciton was over by the time were returned and there was no noise of any note through the night. Yes the floorboards creak when you move about but it is an old building.

The room was basic and hadnt had a refurb. It is dated and tired. Bed was not great but we were only there for 1 night. Bathroom was clean but again dated. Room was spacious enough with a very 1980's style white dresing table area. Freeview on the TV was handy- some newer hotels still haven't provided this service so that was a bonus. We had to keep the windows open as the room was quite warm, we also had the fan on all night which was provided. Luckily we were overlooking the garden area so had no noise.

Short walk into town and to the beach- less than 10 minutes to shops/BIC/bars and beach area.

Breakfast was the usual hot and cold selection. Didn't eat a great deal as not hungry but what I did have was fine. The dining area was actually quite nice- and if this is a sign of the way the rest of the hotel will be going then things should look up.

Check out was swift. We left the car in the car park tiil later that afternoon which saved us moving it into a pay and display.

Would I stay here again? Yes. It served a purpose- being central and clean. We had no bother from hen or stags, creaky floor boards certainly didn't bother me and are to be expected with the age of the property.

My only advice to the hotel is to really crack on with updating the bedrooms as they are looking quite tired.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityHotel47, Front Office Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
We are very happy that you had enjoyed your stay! All rooms are being renovated on a day to day basis. I do hope you will come back soon and entice you to one of our updated rooms next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    261
    103
    46
    33
See reviews for
113
297
54
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

I stayed 2 midweek nights after advance booking online. £35 / night including breakfast is very good value for a clean comfortable fully equipped bedroom (bathroom needs some tlc). Staff addressed all requests promptly and with a smile. Buffet breakfast was hot and tasty and bar was fine. I did not have evening meal but saw that it was available.
Recommended for an economical place to rest your head.

Room Tip: always stay away from lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityHotel47, Front Office Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind review!..Hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Our 2 night break was outstanding value, the freshly refurbished room an added bonus.
The hotel is clean, in an excellent location with adequate parking. Nice breakfast and a big comfy bed.
Now under owner management and with an interesting history to the building, this was a well out of the ordinary stay. True there's some work to be done here and there, but this was more than compensated by amiable staff and helpful service.

Room Tip: Do ask for one of the updated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityHotel47, Front Office Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

Hotel Celebrity is a good, basic hotel. We paid £68 for a double room including breakfast just before peak season. It's location is good - very close to the town centre and the beach so you can walk everywhere.

Bournemouth is a big party town with pretty much all hotels having tour groups of hen and stag do's. The reception staff made us aware of a function that was booked at the hotel and gave us a room away from the noise-as I previously requested.

We had a nice large room with a comfy double bed, tv, dressing table, chairs and wardrobe. The bathroom was dated but cleaned immaculately. My parents bedroom was located just down the hallway and they had an equally decent sized room too. Breakfast the next morning was a self-service buffet and was very tasty - the fried potato pieces are delicious! The one thing I would suggest to the hotel is that they move the area for teas and coffees away from the middle of the food buffet table - maybe have it at the side near the toaster (?) as it caused a bit of congestion when people were waiting to use the tea and coffee as well as trying to get to the food.

The one common negative comment I've read on all the reviews for this website is the creaky floorboards - yes they creak but it's an old building, so are pretty much all of the buildings in Bournemouth so there's nothing anyone can do about that. To be fair I didn't find them that bad.

Basically the Hotel Celebrity is a nice budget hotel and I found the staff to be very friendly and polite throughout our entire stay. I would recommend it if you are travelling through the area.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room away from the fuunction rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityHotel47, Front Office Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank you for your honest and polite review. The hotel is now just over 80 years old, so the floor boards can be a little creaky as well as other hotels in Bournemouth have the same problem, but hopefully this will be sorted out soon as part of our ongoing renovation plan throughout summer and autumn. I do hope we will see youn again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B/WOOD ENGLAND
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

After reading a few reviews I cursed my partner for booking this hotel, instead of our regular hotel in Bournemouth .But for all my reservations surrounding my stay in the Celebrity Hotel were soon put to bed. In fact my stay was very pleasant.
The room was immaculate clean bright and fresh. The staff were very pleasant and keen to help. The service in the hotel was very good and everybody was very cheerful, no miserable faces, very unusual.
There was no rowdy clients (none we could hear) and the night porter was keen to make sure everybody had a good night sleep.
It is in an ideal base for getting around and the parking in the Celebrity was good.It was good value for the money.
I would thank the management and staff for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityHotel47, Front Office Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank you very much for choosing us! All of our staff are hard working and dedicated to their jobs for which they do enjoy so much! I am glad your thoughts were soon laid to rest and we hope to seeing you again very very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here on the 28th April, I have to say a little apprehensive because of some of the comments on here but how wrong they are! We paid £39 for a double room incl breakfast and parking - bargain.

The beach and town centre are a 5 min walk from the hotel, the staff are really friendly and cannot do enough for you. The rooms are big, a little dated BUT extremely clean. There's a bar with a pool table, comfortable sofas and an outside seating area. The prices of drinks are reasonable with a beer and small glass of wine coming in at just over a fiver.

The only downfall to the whole stay is we tried to order some room service but was told they were unable to do this as there was only 1 member of staff available. The breakfast more than made up for this, there was a choice of hot and cold food and all of it lovely, they even had proper cut fresh bread for toast!

I would defiantly stay here again. Thank you for a pleasurable stay :)

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityHotel47, Front Office Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind review. I am sorry we were not able to offer room service, but one of our nightporter's had not shown up for work the very evening in question, so I do apologise for this. On the whole, the management and staff thank you for your kind words and hopefully will see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

I stayed here with my family, which consisted of toddlers and teenagers, i thought this hotel was fantastic value for the money. The staff were really friendly and helpful, the breakfast was great with a varied selection of food available. The hotel itself is very spacious, has a bar, really nice garden area, a childrens play area. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityHotel47, Front Office Manager at Hotel Celebrity, responded to this review, April 30, 2011
Thank you very much for your wonderful review, we will keep on with our hard to work to provide the very best of service and for what we stand for. Hopefully we will see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Celebrity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Celebrity

Address: 47 Gervis Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Celebrity 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a tree lined avenue on the East Cliff, just one road back from the sea, the Hotel Celebrity is a family owned and operated hotel that prides itself on friendly and fully trained staff dedicated to spoil you and cater for your requirements, making your stay a memorable one!!!The Head Chef (Owner’s wife) and her brigade have successfully gained an outstanding reputation for providing traditional “home cooked” food. Alternatively, our vibrant Lounge-Bar, with its stylish celebrity-themed décor, is the ideal place to enjoy tasty food and drinks that uplift your spirit without emptying your pockets!!! Each morning, all guests can partake of our complimentary “all you can eat” buffet breakfast (freshly-cooked traditional Full English, fruits, cereals and plenty of coffee to set you up for the day. The Hotel’s comfortable en-suite bedrooms, with their new mattresses and 32” flat screen TVs, offer very good value for money to guests on a budget seeking 3 star accommodation. We offer free off-road parking facilities and complimentary Wi-Fi in the public areas. Superb location, just a ten minute walk from the main bus/coach and railway station, Hotel Celebrity is just a short stroll from Bournemouth sandy beaches, town, Pavilion Theatre and BIC. Whether you are on your own, you’re a family, in a party, on holiday or “down for business”, you can always be sure you will have a warm welcome and a lower priced 3 star accommodation as, we believe, great value for money beats a high price!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, LateRooms, Odigeo, HostelBookers, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Celebrity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Bournemouth
Bournemouth Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Celebrity, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.