We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a bit of tlc” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elstead Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Elstead Hotel to your Saves list
Elstead Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 - 14 Knyveton Rd, Bournemouth BH1 3QP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 76 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Needs a bit of tlc”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Pretty good value. It's about a 5 minute walk from the station. Taxi to the pier costs £6.80. It has a lounge bar, a restaurant and a few other rooms which looked like function rooms. It also has a gym, a swimming pool with jacuzzi. The decor was a bit 1980s, however, and needs some work. Staff were friendly.

Room Tip: Probably better on 2nd floor, looking out towards the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Macehill, Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Regards, Graham Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Just got home from 3 lovely nights at the Elstead Hotel a lovely hotel and good value for money with friendly staff good food and spotlessly clean . We upgraided our room so we had a big room, ok as others have said needs updateing on the decor but that is really the only downside of this hotel if they did that then wow , deff go back one day thank for a good holiday

Room Tip: If its a large room you want go for the double room with seperate bathroom , our room was on the sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Dennis B, Thank you for a lovely review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted that you will be returning so we will look forward to seeing you back at The Elstead Hotel.
Kind regards, Graham Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Booked on a whim at a reasonable price last minute. Reasonable room and good food. Spoilt somewhat by a very hot towel rail - I still have a burn mark 4 days later. A lot of noise from a generator or air con outside my room window. Ceiling fan was excellent.

Room Tip: Don't overlook the roof at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry_the_Coach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Barry
Thank you for your review. I am very sorry for the excessively hot towel rail and can inform you that following a comment about it to receptioon, the towel rail has been turned down. Regards, Graham Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I had a really enjoyable stay last weekend at the Elstead. The staff made us feel very welcome and we were treated as special guests. They were always on hand to help and would actually take the time to ask what we had planned during our stay and when we returned they would ask us how it went. The room was very small, but very comfortable and the leisure facilities were great. There was a great selection at breakfast, including poached fish, which was delicious. The walk into town was very pleasant, only just over a mile. I would most definitely be staying there again on my next trip. Thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: Talk to the staff about your wants and needs and if they are able to provide what you are looking fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Embutton74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Embutton74
Thank you for a great review and it is always a joy to hear that we have ensured guests have an enjoyable time. I have passed on your comments to the Team here at The Elstead and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Graham Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for five nights .The hotel is a fifteen minute walk to the seafront.we had a double room with an extra bed for our son,the room was spotless and a very good size.The breakfast was very very nice and we really enjoyed it.The staff are friendly and make you feel very welcome,we had a lovely hholiday and wouldnt hesitate to go back as we found it exellent value for money

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joe1721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Joe1721
Thank you for taking the trouble of writing a review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoy your stay. I am also pleased that you found the stay good value. We are always doing special deals on our own website so keep an eye out for some bargains for a future stay.
Kind regards, Graham Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Was nice enough for one night but room quite small and ceiling fan no where near the bed so pretty pointless on a hot stuffy night. Also got woken up early by knocking on the door to see if we had left so they could clean the room. Booked through last minute.com as a secret hotel but now regret it as could of got some where nicer for the same price. Pool area is nice though.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Helena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Helena, Thank you for your review and I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay as a secret hotel. Regards Graham Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

4 nights for the price of 3 was a good start!
A lovely friendly atmosphere all round , made the most of the pool with a swim in the evening after a long day in the sun with the kids.
As others have mentioned there are a few areas that could be touched up, but overall a wonderful stay all round.

comfortable/clean rooms & very good choice of breakfast in the morning

didn't eat in the restaurant but bar food was more than good enough with generous portions

This is a great hotel in a nice location for beach/shops/supermarket all within walking distance.

Will be back for sure!

Room Tip: had room 223 that looked out over flat roof ..not good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mick d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamPhillips, General Manager at Elstead Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Mick D
Thank you for your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I note that you are hoping to return so we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards, Graham Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#10 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 2,626 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#17 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,113 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#18 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elstead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elstead Hotel

Address: 12 - 14 Knyveton Rd, Bournemouth BH1 3QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#11 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Elstead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Elstead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elstead Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing