We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location + Friendly Staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Russell Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Russell Court Hotel to your Saves list
Russell Court Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2EP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 151 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location + Friendly Staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

The Russel Court Hotel enjoys a privileged location in downtown Bournemouth making it easily accessible for everyone. The Hotel can become busy at times but I found the staff to be always friendly and helpful. Although there are cheaper and more trendy alternatives to the Russel Court I would still recommend it for its value for money and spacious rooms. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    104
    77
    57
    110
See reviews for
44
133
31
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Lets start with the good side: LOCATION location location. It's perfect. Minutes walk to the beach, shops, town center etc. If this hotel would not have it's location, it would go dramatically down in it's finances.. Another good thing is Breakfast. Yes, me and my boyfriend, missed seasonal fruits and croissants but overall breakfast was fresh, tasty Full English plate and staff ( 3 girls) in Breakfast area was one of the best we have ever seen.
Now overall experience: most of the staff members as Receptionists were polite and welcoming, but some other as Housekeeping staff - cold. We had booked standard double room but on our arrival Manager said he would recommend us Sea View room. With additional cost, of course. We decided to go to see both rooms at first. And here comes the biggest minus of this hotel - be prepared to spend more than planned. Standard room we were showed definitely was not refurbished. It was good size and bathroom seemed new but room itself - no, thank you. It seemed like hundreds years old, inc furnishings. The best rooms they have in this hotel are those ones with Sea View, they call them Executive rooms. With additional cost (10 GBP from person per night) we took room 202. It had a wonderful view and in general seemed nice and comfortable. We felt a bit cheated as we know this hotel has refurbished double standard rooms so don't be shy as we were and ask for refurbished one. Another thing - they gave as no receipts at all. My boyfriend asked to put his bag in storage room on Checking out day. We are even Ok if we need to pay for it (and you need to) but Manager put his bag in Dining room in the corner. We were stunned! Not even mentioning receipt. But as we had no choice, we said nothing...

Per night for Sea View room with Breakfast we paid around 80 GBP.

Would we stay again in this hotel if we visit Bournemouth? No. But we keep no hard feelings for this whatsoever....

Room Tip: As soon as you arrive, ask for REFURBISHED room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne United kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

I stayed at the Russell Court Hotel, due to a problem at home . They made me very welcome and were always considerate. Although I live in the area and therefore not likely to wish to stay again I will most certainly go back on occassion for Sunday lunch and possibly dinner when people I met in the hotel are coming back next year and I promised to meet them. I can reccommend this hotel.

Room Tip: State your requirements .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

The staff is really excellent - nice and helpful. The room was small, but always very clean. Everything considered, a good value for your money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights starting on 10th June 2011. It was my birthday and our wedding anniversary on 11th. Although the hotel staff were mainly foreign we found them all to be very friendly and their english was very good. Our bedroom was small but clean. The only criticism was the shower in the ensuite. It took an age for the water to get warm at certain times, probably when alot of people were taking a shower at the same time. We had a flat screen TV with enough channels to choose from. The lift would only hold 2 people but, so what?. The breakfast was great. There was a coach load of elderly people who stay there regularly. They obviously enjoy staying there and you can tell why. There is a reasonably sized lounge area with a Ballroom just off from it. We had a great stay and will book there again. The bonus is that it is very close to the Pier on the front. Good Hotel.

Room Tip: Very handy hotel on Bath Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is a very nice hotel. Not sure why it only has 2 stars or what it would need to get three but we found it to be excellent. The room was nice - ok there was a crack on the bath side panel but so what. The room was clean and spacious. The staff were excellent, very quick, promt services, and very helpful. Location is also excellent. A very short (2 mins) stroll to Bournemouth pier. Good value if booked in advance. I would certainly go back and would highly reccommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

The hotel is well kept with rooms which appear to have been recently refurbished. It was an ideal location for our overnight stay giving us good access to the town and the amenities in Bournemouth. The staff were pleasant and helpful and we would consider using this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Russell Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell Court Hotel

Address: Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Russell Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Russell Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Russell Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.