We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very reasonable for a seaside hotel! ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments to your Saves list
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 - 16 Burnaby Road | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8JF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very reasonable for a seaside hotel! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This was a very pleasant visit and I was surprised just how much you got for your money.

Excellent customer service, two minutes' walk to a blue flag beach and a decent breakfast.

Included in the stay you also get access to their pool facilities which include an outdoor pool, indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. This was a lovely addition to out stay especially when it turned a bit rainy (and they even provide free towels to use at the pool!).

The room was spotless and the bathroom squeaky clean. The bed was also really comfortable.

It was nice to see that there are still hotels where you don't have to pay an arm and a leg to feel a little spoilt.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Alec_Waldeck,

Thank you for your great comments. I shall pass it on to the rest of the team who will be happy to see that we met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon at the Riviera.

Kind Regards

SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    190
    85
    29
    13
See reviews for
162
241
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Here is a hotel where hoteliers in UK could take example from.
Welcoming,friendly and nice optimistic staff is what you will encounter there.
I've upgrade our bedroom to a seaview one paying for ,but they offered me an ugrade for free next time i come in sign of loyalty...
Ahhh and iwas lucky enough to see a bluemoon with clear skies right from my balcony..beautiful!!!!!
Close to the beach
Only point the kids pool could be painted and cleaned more often and
the breakfast could have more options...
Thanks for a good service specially the guys in the Reception really nice and professional.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear C M,

Thank you for your lovely comments. I shall let the team know and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Once again Thank you and see you all soon

Kind Regards

SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Excellant location for beaches,walks and shops. However on our arrival the balcony was stil strewn with fag ends and a filthy ash tray and on examination the rest of the balconies were the same and the flat roof that adjoined it. Also the room smelt distinctly of cigarette smoke.
We complained to the management who said they would address it. However though they cleaned the ash tray nobody cleaned the 'fag ends' up. When we asked again and asked if this was the normal that we had to accept dirty 'fag ends' they said oh no they would address it. However, by the time we left we gave up so the next occupant would have the same welcome! The shower was dismal and the bath that we had to stand in we're totally unsafe and shook. Also the situation with blocking your car in was quite disturbing if one should have an emergency!. All in all a very disappointing stay and could not recommend.
D & D

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Denise J,

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I will pass your comments to the Management.

Kind regards

SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

A well run hotel with a competent, efficient and smiling staff led from the front by a good manager, who we noticed keeping a close eye on customers' needs. Room was small but spotless and breakfast was great. Convenient location. Parking a bit tight at a very busy time, but we actually had no problems. More traditional than modern with mixed clientele who all seemed happy to be there. Very good value for money. Nice friendly buzz about the place. Would return happily.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Der Jackie W,

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are all thrilled that you had a great time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back !

Once again thank you and see you soon

Kind regards

SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Nice hotel & apartments great value, stayed in the apartments that had lots of space with breakfast in the hotel which was basic but ok, indoor and outdoor pools were great for the kids.

Best bits; first class staff, location and apartment size
Poor bits; areas need updating beds too small and hard

Will be coming back next year.

Cheers

Room Tip: Stay in apartments as more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Lwylie1255,

Thank you for your kind comments. The apartments are great , big and very spacious. We are slowly refurbishing them all so hopefully next year you will see the improvement.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back at the Riviera

Kind Regards
SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This is our second time at the hotel, we tried a couple of other hotels the last two years but returned to Riviera! The staff were all very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. They remembered my son's name including his likes and where we liked to sit for breakfast. You are made to feel at home as soon as you arrive. There are lots of families and my son made friends straight away and in fact we are arranging to come back next year with one family. The indoor swimming pool was well used both in the morning and evening! The beach is very close by that is if you can get the kids out of the swimming pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, General Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Lucy C,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We look forward top welcoming you back at the Riviera.

Kind Regards

JG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Since it was our second stay in a month, we got an upgrade to a sea-view room and a bottle of fizz on ice. The balcony was great in the sunny weather and the room was about 50% larger than the standard room we had on our first visit. All the staff are very friendly and helpful, rooms clean, comfortable beds and buffet breakfast just excellent. The indoor pool was a little small but the outdoor pool was great, with tables and relaxer-chairs dotted around the large pool-side patios. Walk down to the beach in 5 minutes and 10 minutes back up the hill to the hotel. Well trained staff, well managed.

Room Tip: Sea-view room with balcony is worth the extra if the weather is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, General Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Dave_Jane_enroute,


Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon at the Riviera.

Kind Regards

JG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.8 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#7 of 73 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 2,346 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth
1.0 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
1.1 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#29 of 73 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments

Address: 12 - 16 Burnaby Road | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#20 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#24 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good value hotel in Bournemouth which is renowned for its warm service and excellent food in spectacular surroundings – perfect for holidays in Bournemouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel And Holiday Apartments
Riviera Hotel Bournemouth
Riviera Hotel Holiday Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.