We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments

Save Saved
You added Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 - 16 Burnaby Road | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8JF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Nice hotel & apartments great value, stayed in the apartments that had lots of space with breakfast in the hotel which was basic but ok, indoor and outdoor pools were great for the kids.

Best bits; first class staff, location and apartment size
Poor bits; areas need updating beds too small and hard

Will be coming back next year.

Cheers

Room Tip: Stay in apartments as more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Lwylie1255,

Thank you for your kind comments. The apartments are great , big and very spacious. We are slowly refurbishing them all so hopefully next year you will see the improvement.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back at the Riviera

Kind Regards
SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    132
    66
    23
    11
See reviews for
128
167
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This is our second time at the hotel, we tried a couple of other hotels the last two years but returned to Riviera! The staff were all very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. They remembered my son's name including his likes and where we liked to sit for breakfast. You are made to feel at home as soon as you arrive. There are lots of families and my son made friends straight away and in fact we are arranging to come back next year with one family. The indoor swimming pool was well used both in the morning and evening! The beach is very close by that is if you can get the kids out of the swimming pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, General Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Lucy C,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We look forward top welcoming you back at the Riviera.

Kind Regards

JG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Since it was our second stay in a month, we got an upgrade to a sea-view room and a bottle of fizz on ice. The balcony was great in the sunny weather and the room was about 50% larger than the standard room we had on our first visit. All the staff are very friendly and helpful, rooms clean, comfortable beds and buffet breakfast just excellent. The indoor pool was a little small but the outdoor pool was great, with tables and relaxer-chairs dotted around the large pool-side patios. Walk down to the beach in 5 minutes and 10 minutes back up the hill to the hotel. Well trained staff, well managed.

Room Tip: Sea-view room with balcony is worth the extra if the weather is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, General Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Dave_Jane_enroute,


Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon at the Riviera.

Kind Regards

JG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milnrow, Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Came here for the wedding of close family. Chose to stay for 3 nights (Fri, Sat & Sun). I cannot fault the hotel or staff at all. If you want a wedding package I can say that they did a marvellous job of organising it. The ceremony and meal was for 50 people and we were easily accommodated. The food at the wedding breakfast was superb, as was the evening buffet. The service was brilliant and always with a smile. The evening doo was held in the main bar area and this was enjoyed by all. The DJ did a great job with no muttering and talking throughout. The rest of our short stay passed too quickly. Our room (number 230) was spacious and very comfortable.The staff are very attentive. Special mention for Alex who seemed to work 24hours. What a lovely guy. The breakfasts had an array of cereals, fruit, bacon, sausage, eggs etc - the full works. We ate off the bar menu one evening and had the fish & chips - you've got to try them - gorgeous. All-in-all we had a brilliant time. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. Think it should have another star on its rating.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear cruisebuddy2002,

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are so happy to see that you have had a wonderful time with us. I will pass your comments to the rest of the team , I am sure Alex will be very happy to see that all is hard work is paying off.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Riviera soon

Kind Regards

SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Having stayed here for two nights in July we felt compelled to write a review.
I can honestly say that this hotel has the friendliest staff that I have ever encountered in a uk hotel .
However ....
We arrived in Friday and were show to our room which was clean (or so we thought ) and adequate , we had chosen not to pay £25 per person per room for a sea view room.
We spent the day out and came back to swim and use the jacuzzi , and so were disappointed to find out that it was out of order (the spa facilities were one of the main booking criteria) :-(
We dined out and came back to our room to retire , unfortunately on pulling back the bed sheets we were greeted by a pair of someone else's worn pyjamas !!
To be fair the management rectified the situation immediately with the manager herself changing our bedding at 1130 at night and providing a fan , for the room that was hot ,
If the pyjamas hadn't of been there though we would never have known !
The following night we were woken by fighting in the street outside by a wedding party that had held their wedding breakfast in the hotel , again , the same female manager sorted the situation ! Not the hotels fault , but when guests are asking directions to buy booze , and the wedding party was drinking their own alcohol in the car parks and outside hotel areas , do wonder if more restrictions need to be put in place !
Although we were apologised to for the dirty bed linen etc , i do feel that some goodwill gesture could of been extended , and were somewhat surprised to be charged £3 for a pot of tea as our final checking out bill !! The young suited reception manager and the female night manager were fab , but come on , sort out your teething issues !!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, Director of Sales at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear suecoyle

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased to see that out of 5 stars you have scored us a 4 and that you were impressed by our team. We are all very helpful and try our best to make our guest feel at home.
Regarding your first point ; I can reassure you that the Housekeeping Manager is investigating the issue. With regards to the wedding guests the Duty Manager controlled the situation as best she could, however this can be out of our control.
I hope that you will give the Riviera another chance, if you did wish to return then please contact me personally and I will take in consideration your above points.

Kind Regards

Silva Bala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This is the third time we have been to Riviera and the accommodation has improve due to a revamp of the rooms. The week we went it was very hot in the rooms due to the temperature being in the high 20's but they did provide fans and they knew it was difficult for some guest and staff. The staff were very courteous and helpful which does not do justice to a 3 star rating and very helpful with the parking since there was a wedding on our first day. Breakfast was a full English but they did offer some alternatives if required. On the whole we have a very good stay and we will be going back at a later date. The outdoor pool was great for kids and there is an indoor pool for when the weather is not so good.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view if possible on the south east side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Robert L,

Thank you for your comments. Great to see that you had a great stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back at the Riviera.

Kind Regards

SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We celebrated our wedding there on 19th July with many of our family and friends staying over for a long weekend.
Every single detail was perfect ! The staff were amazing, the food was served quickly, was beautifully presented and absolutely delicious, the chefs there are great, the evening buffet was equally scrummy, great music in the evening. Having the evening do in the main bar was great for everyone and the other hotel guests enjoyed joining in the festivities.
Silva the events manager is wonderful, Jonathan the GM was a great master of ceremonies, Alex and Charlotte do a great job on reception especially with our numerous complex bookings.
All the staff were great, too many to mention all by name.
All our guests were delighted by the attentiveness and genuine warmth shown by the staff.
5 stars aren't enough for this level of service.
We will be back as often as we can and needless to say our anniversaries will be spent at the Riviera, big thank you

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, Director of Sales at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Mrs Pat O

THANK You so much for your beautiful comments. It was a pleasure looking after you on your big day and thank you for letting us be part of your's and Andy's Big Day. I shall make sure that all the team sees the lovely comments - It was a pleasure and a joy to have met you both and we all look forward to seeing you soon in October for your Birthday Party !!

Kind regards
SIlva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments

Address: 12 - 16 Burnaby Road | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#22 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good value hotel in Bournemouth which is renowned for its warm service and excellent food in spectacular surroundings – perfect for holidays in Bournemouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel And Holiday Apartments
Riviera Hotel Bournemouth
Riviera Hotel Holiday Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.