We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riviera Hotel Bournemouth” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments to your Saves list
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 - 16 Burnaby Road | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8JF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Riviera Hotel Bournemouth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This is the third time we have been to Riviera and the accommodation has improve due to a revamp of the rooms. The week we went it was very hot in the rooms due to the temperature being in the high 20's but they did provide fans and they knew it was difficult for some guest and staff. The staff were very courteous and helpful which does not do justice to a 3 star rating and very helpful with the parking since there was a wedding on our first day. Breakfast was a full English but they did offer some alternatives if required. On the whole we have a very good stay and we will be going back at a later date. The outdoor pool was great for kids and there is an indoor pool for when the weather is not so good.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view if possible on the south east side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Robert L,

Thank you for your comments. Great to see that you had a great stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back at the Riviera.

Kind Regards

SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    144
    68
    23
    11
See reviews for
136
177
13
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We celebrated our wedding there on 19th July with many of our family and friends staying over for a long weekend.
Every single detail was perfect ! The staff were amazing, the food was served quickly, was beautifully presented and absolutely delicious, the chefs there are great, the evening buffet was equally scrummy, great music in the evening. Having the evening do in the main bar was great for everyone and the other hotel guests enjoyed joining in the festivities.
Silva the events manager is wonderful, Jonathan the GM was a great master of ceremonies, Alex and Charlotte do a great job on reception especially with our numerous complex bookings.
All the staff were great, too many to mention all by name.
All our guests were delighted by the attentiveness and genuine warmth shown by the staff.
5 stars aren't enough for this level of service.
We will be back as often as we can and needless to say our anniversaries will be spent at the Riviera, big thank you

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, Director of Sales at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Mrs Pat O

THANK You so much for your beautiful comments. It was a pleasure looking after you on your big day and thank you for letting us be part of your's and Andy's Big Day. I shall make sure that all the team sees the lovely comments - It was a pleasure and a joy to have met you both and we all look forward to seeing you soon in October for your Birthday Party !!

Kind regards
SIlva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

great hotel with very friendly and attentive staff great food and service.
I have stayed here several times including a newyear package.This hotel is within walking distance of the beach and aleisurely stroll along the prom will get you to Bournemouth in about 20 mins.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear nwjw

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I shall pass it on to the rest of the team.

Have a great summer and we hope to welcome you soon.

Kind Regards

SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have just returned from a weekend break at the Riviera, it was our 1st time at this hotel and they did a great job looking after us. In all there were 15 of us age ranging from 2 - 60 on a dinner, bed & breakfast basis.
The staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough to help, the food was fantastic with a great range at breakfast and a good but limited evening menu although what they lack in menu selections they certainly make up for in quality of food.
We would definitely use this hotel again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear becci Coventry,

Thank you for your fantastic comments !! I shall pass your comments to the rest of the team who will be happy to see that all the hard work is paying off. Once again Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back !

Kind Regards
SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Hotel is in a nice road, plenty of parking and walking distance to beach. Plenty of amenities at the hotel although didn't use them was out most of the time. Room clean and bed comfortable but basic decor and water took ages to flow out of taps. But for a weekend it served a purpose. Breakfast was great, plenty to choose from and the service was good. We ate out for lunch and dinner as so many places to do so in Central Bournemouth and towards Sandbanks as situated in between. Would book to stay there again for its location and service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, Director of Sales at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Donna R

Thank You for your comments. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Riviera Hotel.

Kind Regards
SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We received a room upgrade to a room with a large balcony & sea view. The room had 3 beds (1x double & 1x single) & had plenty of space. The bathroom was modern, clean & also spacious, although the water pressure in the shower was a little weak & we couldn't remove the shower head from the wall. The hotel was clean & tidy & facilities were good for a UK hotel. All the staff were lovely & really made the effort to be helpful & pleasant. The food at breakfast & the evening meal was exceptionally good also. Nothing was too much bother, so it seemed.
I would really recommend this hotel & would definitely stay again. Plus it was a short 5 minute downhill walk to Alum Chine beach, which is beautiful. So location was an added bonus too :)

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms with the balcony & sea view.. worth the extra cost :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, General Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Natalie L

Thank you so much for your kind words . We are thrilled that you had a great break with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
JG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We were not expecting the room to be that good, we had a great view and balcony which was not planned! Out of blue we had a room with a balcony with wonderful sea view!

The room was spacious and loads of space, most importantly clean and tidy!

The location was so convenient and 5 mn away for the beach

BREAKFAST was great no complain at all and staff were very kind and friendly!

Definitely give it another go!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Save R

Thank you for your Great comments !! We are all thrilled that you had a great time with us and that you liked our beautiful sea view room!

We hope to see you again, once again thank you !

Kind Regards

SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments

Address: 12 - 16 Burnaby Road | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#21 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good value hotel in Bournemouth which is renowned for its warm service and excellent food in spectacular surroundings – perfect for holidays in Bournemouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel And Holiday Apartments
Riviera Hotel Bournemouth
Riviera Hotel Holiday Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.