We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay in a Quiet Area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments to your Saves list
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 - 16 Burnaby Road | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8JF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay in a Quiet Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in June for our wedding anniversary. We arrived early so our room wasn't ready, but the reception team checked us in and informed us of the dining times and pointed us in the direction of the leisure facilities if we wanted to use them. The hotel is in a quiet area and a 5 minute walk from the beach. Our room was on the ground floor which was also near the pool which made the room quite hot, but the was a fan provided which made it more bearable. The room was clean and comfortable with tea/coffee making facilities, tv and bathroom toiletries. We didn't dine in the restaurant for dinner only breakfast which was a buffet with a great selection of fruit, cereal, cooked food and fruit juices. We used the pool (indoor) once which was small but good enough for a quick dip! Overall a pleasant stay with good service.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Jayne M

Thank you for your comments. We are happy that overall you had a pleasant stay. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you at The Riviera soon.

Kind Regards

SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    173
    75
    24
    12
See reviews for
148
217
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This was our second stay at The Riviera and again we had a wonderful time. There was 11 of us all family ages ranging from 27 to 70 and we thouroughly enjoyed it. We stayed from Monday 16th June to Friday 20th June the weather was lovely so we had a swim in the outdoor pool which was great there is also a lovely indoor pool too. The rooms are comfortable and clean the staff are lovely and the food is brilliant you could not fault any of it we went half board and every morning and night all of our party couldnt compliment ihe food enough the chef and the waiting staff were exellent. I would highly recommend staying here we would definately go back again. Bournemouth is a lovely place there is lots to do for both adults and children beautiful beaches and you can get a little train which takes you all the way down the beach to the next pier and you can go on to nearby Boscombe where there is a market on once a week. The reception staff are helpful and friendly as are the bar staff and the restaurant staff. We had a brilliant time would have liked to stay for longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Vicki909,

Thank you very much for your Great comments.I shall pass it on to the rest of the team who will be very happy to see that all the hard work is paying off. Once again THANK YOU and we look forward to welcoming you back at the Riviera.

Kind Regards

SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I was travelling alone so only looking for only looking for somewhere to get my head down for the night before an early morning ferry. Picked this one because it was reasonable, at £59 room only. Most other hotels n Bournemouth were either full or costly. Wasn't expecting a lot, so was a plenty surprise. Room spacious and very clean, all communal areas very tidy, check-in and staff efficient and polite. Everything I would expect if I were paying more somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Excellent apartment for the price. We stayed for a couple of nights and found the location very convenient. Staff were friendly and helpful specially the girl at the bar. We would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We spent a night here over the May bank holiday. This hotel is nicely located in Alum Chine, a short walk from the beach and in a quiet street. We had a balcony which overlooked the pool and had a partial sea view.

Our room was a bit on the small side but it was perfectly adequate as we were only staying here one night. The floorboards were quite creaky so we were a bit disturbed when anyone walked by our room. The bathroom was a tad dated but clean and tidy.

We booked a dinner, bed and breakfast deal. Dinner was really nice, we were sat in the restaurant with a nice view over the sea. We had the ham hock terrine, pork loin and cheese board for dessert. All the food was of a good quality and served piping hot. Breakfast was pleasantly surprising; a standard selection of the usual hot food but the option to order eggs which came out perfectly poached.

This hotel is above average but does not have the wow factor. I enjoyed my night here but would not rush back and if I was in Bournemouth for longer I would want something a bit more special.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This was a really good choice. From the quiet and lovely location to the wonderful breakfasts- just everything was great.
The room was tidy and the beds very comfortable.
The staff was very nice and the breakfast room with seaview and the breakfast itself just wonderful.
The only tiny thing to complain about was the neglected outside pool area. We will stay there again whrn in Bournemouth.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Lovely Hotel, very friendly and efficient staff very good food for both evening dinners and breakfasts. Bar staff and bar meals also very good. very comfortable clean rooms. I used the indoor swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi,
there is relaxing seating around the indoor pool and sun loungers around the outside pool. all very nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments

Address: 12 - 16 Burnaby Road | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#11 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#22 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good value hotel in Bournemouth which is renowned for its warm service and excellent food in spectacular surroundings – perfect for holidays in Bournemouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel And Holiday Apartments
Riviera Hotel Bournemouth
Riviera Hotel Holiday Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.