We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel for a coach trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments to your Saves list
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 - 16 Burnaby Road | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8JF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 76 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Rugby
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“good hotel for a coach trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We have just come back from a 5 day mystery coach holiday. It was a lovely surprise when we checked in to this hotel. Lovely big reception, lounge and dining room. They even laid on cream teas for us in the lounge while the suitcases were being taken off the coach. This also made it easier to check in at reception when we were ready, instead of trying to do it all together. The rooms were clean, bed comfortable and a good sized TV on the wall. Breakfasts were buffet service, hot and ample to choose from, cereals, porridge, fruit or full English . Dinners were hot, waiter/waitress service well cooked but not so ample quantities. There is a games room downstairs and we used the pool table and dart board. Also indoor swimming pool. All the staff we met were very friendly and so was the manager. The hotel location is on a hill and some rooms look out to sea. For the less mobile travellers it's not an easy walk down to the beach but once there you can get a bus back up that stops near the hotel road. There is a lovely wooded walk, once you get down a lot of steps, along Alun Chine either to the beach or the other way. Buses run every half hour into Bournemouth or Westbourne which is nearer.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a balcony that looks out to sea but haven't tried them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harold55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Letchworth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Very friendly staff. Swimming pool was a bit run down but still fine for a splash about with the kids. Rooms were clean and nice area with the beach down the road. Breakfast was a help yourself and wasn't great quality but filled the kids up. We will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabianski2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Visited for a weekend, Friday to Sunday. Well located for access to the west beaches but a long walk for little one into Bournemouth. With good weather however it isn't a chore.

The hotel is popular and all rooms are en-suite. Our room had a balcony and sea view. The room was a fair size and had flat screen TV, kettle and hair dryer. The en-suite was serviceable but a little dated in decor. The bed was comfy but only a small double.

The room did have a few drawbacks which although did not affect us directly could cause problems for others. These were:

The door to the room when opened gave full view of the bed to anyone in the corridor.

The balcony was obviously located next to others but you had full view into the other rooms as the was no modesty screen ( it would block the sea views).

The shower over bath was erratic with scalding water being delivered even when the hot tap nearly off. It would then switch to cold or very cold.

The staff on the main we're very helpful and chatty but not intrusive. The waiting and bar staff had the knack if remembering you which gave a welcoming atmosphere.

The General Manager (Jonathan) was always around and very attentive and approachable.

All in all, a well run hotel with what you would expect for a 3 star venue in Bournemouth. . It's outside of a national chain which is rare these days for a larger venue and this adds to its character.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

The management and staff made our first Christmas together fabulous.

From the moment we arrived everything was first class service.

Justin in the restaurant exceptional. Franki the House Keeper excellent and all staff always willing to go the extra mile.

The apartment was great and food beautiful. Drinks were good value and leisure facilities small but perfect.

We will be going back and if we weren't committed to being with family this coming Christmas we would have booked straight back up.

Nick and Mark

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gt834162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We have visited The Riviera several times, but this is the first time we went for the New Year package. The hotel was excellent as usual and our family (two adults and two young children) had a great three night New Year break.
We stayed in one of the self catering apartments, this was the first time we have stayed there and it really was superb. A large bedroom and large living room with a well fitted kitchen and well appointed bathroom. Even though we were in the self catering apartment we stayed on the New Year package which involved dinner for three nights in the excellent restaurant as well as breakfast and a lunch buffet. New Year's Eve also included a piper and a magician. Each night of the break included musical entertainment and one night included a fun casino which was excellent,
Many thanks to the extremely hard working staff, especially the manager (Jonathan) who found us the best apartment, Alex who facilitated my (very) late booking and Justin who ran the restaurant as smoothly as ever despite it being full every night.
Accommodation - excellent. Food - excellent. Overall Experience - excellent.
Thanks again for a great New Year's break

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

To put you in the picture I stayed at the Royal Bath Hotel the week prior to staying at the Riviera. The Royal Bath is 4 star and a landmark hotel in Bournemouth.
The Riviera is in Westbourne so not in the Town Centre and new to me.
See my review on the Royal Bath. Basically awful.
The Riviera gave the Royal Bath a lesson. A lesson in how to offer customer service, cleanliness, staff that are attentive, polite and very helpful.
The breakfast at the Riviera totally beat the Royal Bath. Fresh, not greasy and very tasty!
The pool was nicely warm, the hot tub and sauna worked and the hotel had room service. These points are made as the Royal Bath failed in providing these.
So if you are looking for a hotel in Bournemouth take some advice. Book at the Riviera.

Room Tip: Given family room although booked a double. Exceptional. Try to get an upgrade !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clive G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Clive G,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, we appreciate your kind words and are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back to The Riviera in 2014.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

After reading a few positive reviews about this hotel I thought I would just see for myself.
I wanted to have just a nice relaxing weekend away and thought this would be perfect as its away from the city centre.
Well, from the moment I got to reception to the time I checked out I was treated like a VIP.
The staff were all very helpful and extremely polite and were willing to just chat.
The room was very clean and tidy with more than enough room for 2 people to have somewhere to keep their belongings and to sleep.
The bed was also very comfy and unlike other hotels I have stayed in the bedding smelt fresh and clean.
The food throughout my stay was very very good and I would happily give that a 5* on all counts.
The bar/lounge area was well organised, clean and roomy.
There was a wedding reception going on on the Saturday night and all was very well organised and I even spoke to some of the guests the following day and they all said how great the evening was thanks to the more than helpful staff.
I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone, whether your a singleton such as myself or a family of 4 you would not be disappointed.
My stay was from Friday 9th August to Sunday 11th and I couldn't find a single negative thing about my stay here.
The one thing I would like to point out would be the walk to the beach. Even though it only takes about 5 minutes the hills you have to walk up and down are very steep and I helped a guy push his elderly mother in her wheel chair up the hill, so for that reason I would say this would be better suited for those without any mobility problems.
I am defiantly going to book myself in there again next year and Im just hoping that nothings changed.
A big well done and thank you to all the staff at this superb hotel.
5***** & A+

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee821974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Lee W,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on you visit to The Riviera Hotel, we value your opinion and are really happy that you experienced our wonderful service. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Riviera in 2014.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.8 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#10 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 2,624 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.0 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
0.8 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments

Address: 12 - 16 Burnaby Road | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#22 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good value hotel in Bournemouth which is renowned for its warm service and excellent food in spectacular surroundings – perfect for holidays in Bournemouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, LateRooms, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel And Holiday Apartments
Riviera Hotel Bournemouth
Riviera Hotel Holiday Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing