We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruby Wedding Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments to your Saves list
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 - 16 Burnaby Road | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8JF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Ruby Wedding Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I booked the Riviera Hotel at short notice to celebrate our Ruby Wedding by getting away on our own. The pictures on the website looked inviting and the price quoted was very reasonable. Having had a bad experience in another hotel in Altrincham 3 weeks previous we were a little apprehensive our feras were allayed as soon as we approached the Reception desk. We had a warm friendly greeting from the young man on duty who explained everything about the hotel and gave us vouchers for offers in the restaurant. The room although a bit on the small side was adequate for our needs and all of the staff during our stay were first class, catering for our every need and always available if we needed any help. We were given a map and directions from the hotel to the Town Centre when we enquired. The buffet breakfast on both mornings of our stay was very good and the meal we had in the restaurant on the Sunday evening of our anniversary was first class. My wife and I came away having had a special weekend made possible by all at the hotel. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room with a sea view away from the frony of the hotel, although we had no prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    145
    68
    23
    11
See reviews for
136
177
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a review of the apartments, not the hotel, although I must say the areas of the hotel we saw appeared to be a little more loved than the apartment we stayed in.

We stayed with our one year old daughter and had a two bedroom apartment, which was located on a separate building to the hotel itself. This means arrival is a little messy as you check in at the hotel reception then go out of the back door, down two sets of stairs, between the outside pools, then up some more stairs into the apartment building. Fortunately the apartments have their own entrance and parking so you quickly realise that, once you have reversed your journey and driven round, it is not too much of an issue to unload.

Whereas the reception and all areas of the hotel we saw were really nice, the apartments seem in need of a bit of an upgrade. Located on the top floor, ours was well appointed but a little dated. We found the main light bulbs had gone in both the bathroom and sitting area, while the switch in the main bedroom seemed a bit dodgy. There are radiators but no method of cooling the rooms apart from opening a window, none of which would open more than a few cm. The shower was a bit random, with hot water coming and going at times. But our main gripe, given we had to remain in the apartment in the evening to look after our daughter, was the sofa which was tiny and very uncomfortable - not really conducive to a snuggly night in front of the tv.

Having listed the negatives, there are numerous positives. The location is superb, no more than 5 minutes walk from the beach, albeit down a steep hill which was much less fun on the way up! We had free WiFi which was faster and more consistent than most hotels we have stayed in. And, although we didn't make use of the outdoor pools, the indoor pool is superb. All in all, if we overlooked the decor and sofa, it was a very pleasant stay.

As a final warning, the hotel is found through a maze of quiet, leafy lanes in a very nice residential area of the town. We were amazed therefore to find a mobile police speed detector van hiding round a corner near to the hotel, ready to spoil our holiday. We may have been unlucky on the day concerned, but if they are there regularly, it is an odd place for them to be hiding.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Darrenbod

Thank you for your comments, we have passed your comments to our MD and are pleased to inform you that our apartments will be having a facelift over the winter months, we would love to welcome you back once the apartments have been updated.
Kind Regards
SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

My wife, dog, my baby son and i booked 2 nights accommodation here. We only stayed for one night because we were so unhappy with the hotel. One of the main reasons we chose this hotel was for the indoor and outdoor pool. The indoor pool, was very cold, too cold for children or a baby. The water seemed dirty and the areas surrounding were much the same. The outdoor pool was very dirty and had scum on top of the water.

Dogs are allowed at the hotel but there wasn't any areas for them apart from a room which was too hot. There is not any greenery for the dogs.

Reception staff were helpful and very friendly. My wife and I were unable to bring a travel cot so had asked for one upon arrival. Reception asked 'frankie', housekeeping staff, to ensure one was placed in our room. Frankie responded rudley 'that's the kind of thing you should really check you have', utterly disgusting customer service.

We were put in a room at the top of the hotel. We had a buggy and a dog with only one lift made moving our things a nightmare. The lift is small and cramped so we could only fit the buggy just about.

The room was boiling hot (the temperature outside wasn't that hot), with little ventilation. We complained about the heat in the room and were given a pointless fan.

We couldn't get passed the cleaning room due to cleaning equipment being left in the corridor upon arrival too.

The room had too much dated furniture which made it impossible to get the buggy in the room without moving some of it, not what you want after a long journey. The decor was tired with masking tape covering large cracks on walls around electrical points, I'm glad my baby wasn't old enough to start exploring.

The bathroom smelt disgusting, the water was scolding hot and the shower was a dribble with broken taps and vastly varying temperature. The toilet seat was also broken.

Room service was overpriced, burger was over cooked and the chips were cold. Side salad was pointless.

Our complaint was dealt with well by Charlotte but I was disappointed with 20% off our bill.

Wouldn't stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear TheOC85

We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations, your comments have been passed on to the rest of the team and we are looking to rectify the issues you have raised.
Kind Regards
SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I would like to start off by saying we have not actually stayed at this hotel, we booked a room with a seaview just for myself and my husband but sadly our little boy had to have a procedure done at hospital ( which involved a general anesthetic) so we had to re-arrange with the hotel, who because our children would now be coming with us gave us a family room but after speaking to ours sons consultant we had been told that he would probably be unwell for a few days after so this time we had no choice but to cancel, bearing in mind that we cancelled with at least a week notice, we were told we would not be getting our deposit back which was £40 - now whilst having a non -refundable deposit is fine in most circumstances we do believe that for medical issues ( we had proof of the procedure) the deposit should be given back. One member of staff said we should have taken out holiday insurance - not many people who are going away for one night in their own country take out holiday insurance do they? All I would say is be sure you don't cancel and if you do have to, be prepared not to get your deposit back what ever the reason!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Elaine11a

We are sorry you are disappointed with our terms and conditions, we will forward your comments to our Managing Director.
Kind Regards
SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

As the weather was not too brilliant, we decided to treat ourselves to lunch at The Riviera Hotel, Alum Chine, Bournemouth.
We were seated overlooking the Isle of Wight and were able to actually watch the weather improve.
If the weather had been better, we would also have had the brilliant view of watching folk enjoying themselves around the outdoor swimming pool in what looked like a really nice area! Plenty of seating etc was evident.
With the improving weather and the beautifully served 'lite lunch' we were really pleased with our choice of venue and the quite extensive and reasonably priced menu.
The staff were helpful and friendly and came over to make sure we had all we needed.
Certainly this is one Hotel we will be earmarking for dropping in for lunch when in the area!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Valsey49

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your lunch with the view in our bistro area.
We hope to welcome you all very soon.

Kind Regards
S Bala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I booked this hotel on the strength of its good reviews, so I was extremely disappointed to find that the walls were paper thin, therefore we were subjected to intense snoring from the room next door. So much so that I purchased ear plugs in order to obtain a good nights sleep!

The bed felt like it was made of concrete, and despite the staff padding it out with duvets, it was a real struggle to get comfortable!

The shower - well, quite frankly it was just a hose connected to the tap, therefore the trickle that it emitted took an age trying to get clean!

The drinks and food seemed someone overpriced for a 3 star hotel and there were very little options for vegetarians.

On the plus side, the staff were extremely welcoming and the hotel itself was clean and tidy.

To summarise, I think T~he Riviera is best suited to the older holiday maker, since the entertainment was specifically targeted to this age group.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, this hotel is definately one to avoid, since the beds are rigid and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Nina C
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to see that we did not meet your expectations. I shall pass the comments to the rest of the team

Kind Regards
S Bala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed at the Riviera Hotel near to Alum Chine Beach for 5 nights with our Son and family. We spent most of our time on the beach, sunny but chilly, except for one day of rain. The Hotel was very good, breakfast and dinner were more than acceptable, bedrooms were clean, overall a pleasant break in a family friendly hotel. One small gripe, Room 123 is immediately above the nightly entertainment which fortunately finished by around 11.00pm!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Peter S

Thank you for your kind comments. It is great to read that you had a great family holiday with us ; we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you all soon.
Kind Regards
S Bala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments

Address: 12 - 16 Burnaby Road | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#21 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good value hotel in Bournemouth which is renowned for its warm service and excellent food in spectacular surroundings – perfect for holidays in Bournemouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel And Holiday Apartments
Riviera Hotel Bournemouth
Riviera Hotel Holiday Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.