We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments

Save Saved
You added Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 - 16 Burnaby Road | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8JF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 71 hotels in Bournemouth
Write a Review

379 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    116
    64
    22
    10
See reviews for
117
154
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

hotel is nice clean, food/staff excellent, rooms clean, although ours was a little draughty when the wind blew , hotel is not situated near the town/seafront, there are very steep hills to the seafront and a good 30 minute walk to the town of bournemouth along the prom. not really suitable for persons elderly or have walking difficulties. didnt use the fitness area or pools, but the outside one was down a lot of metal steps again not suited for elderly, there also was no gardens to sit in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear David D

Thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards
S Bala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a long weekend over the May Bank holiday. Arriving just before 2pm on Saturday, our room was ready and waiting for us. The reception staff were very friendly and described all of the hotels facilities to us. We had a double room with a sea view and balcony and the best word to describe it is "AMAZING!". For a 3* hotel, it really is top of the league compared to others in Bournemouth!. Parking was free, although on the 2nd night we had to park around the back which was not a problem at all.

On the first night, we sat in the entertainment area and enjoyed DJ Hub keeping the kids busy on the dance floor and out of the adults way, so that we could all relax (even us without them). We had already eaten out but decided to order some desert which amazed us again when it was served (pic attached). Later on that evening, we retreated back to our room which was very quiet despite being located next to the stairway door - We had a really good sleep and wasn't disturbed at any point during the night. The shower lacked overall pressure, but it was adequate. At breakfast, the service was good and the food was ok - the sausages were the best part at set us up for the day ahead. When we got back, we relaxed with a few games of table tennis and pool. We didn't manage to get to try the swimming pools which I hope we can do next time! The second night, the stars were shining bright and being an amateur astronomer, I enjoyed chilling on the balcony showing the stars to my girlfriend. The big dipper was right above our balcony and I couldn't help but to get the camera out - see other pic :)

Overall, This is the best 3* hotel I have stayed at in Bournemouth! Just 2 mins was from the Edge Restaurant if you fancy upping the game a little, 5 mins to the beach and 20 mins walk to the pier along the sea front!

We would like to thank all the staff for the great hospitality and we hope to stay again very soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Peter H

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are so thrilled that you had a great Holiday at The Riviera and we hope to welcome you in the Summer time, as we will have loads of kids activities such as ;
Themed Nights with Family Disco
BBQ by the Pool
Cycling Holidays
Air Festival SHOW - not to be missed :)

I shall pass this great email to all the rest of the team , once again thank you.

Kind Regards
S Bala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south-east
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We revisited the Riviera Hotel following a previous stay over 25 years ago. We were not disappointed! The Hotel had been improved dramatically since our first visit but retained all the warmth, welcome and character that we remembered from our previous stay.

We initially booked a standard double room for 3 nights but on arrival we requested to upgrade the room and were offered their "best room in the hotel" for an additional £20 per night. This was a perfectly acceptable surcharge and we were offered to view both rooms before making the decision to upgrade. The Room was at the top of the Hotel and was very quiet.

The upgraded room (No. 231) was larger than the standard double room and had a walk out balcony, with seating, overlooking the sea. It was perfect for us, well furnished and plenty of space, including immaculate en-suite bathroom, chairs to sit on, good sized television, tea and coffee facilities and ... what we believed to be a very comfortable bed. It was not until we retired that we discovered the bed was well past its sell-by date, totally worn out and the springs were noisy and unsupportive. We lost the whole of our first night's sleep, which was a great pity as we really needed to re-boost our energy after the drive and to recharge our batteries for the following day.

Before breakfast the following morning we requested a replacement mattress, at which time we discovered that room 231 was designated "The Bridal Room" - no further comments required! The mattress was replaced, without question, so we were able to enjoy more restful nights for the remainder of our stay and in fact we decided to extend our visit and book another night.

The plumbing in room 231 also left a lot to be desired. The basin hot tap spun around many times before any water came out and the shower taps were not particularly controllable, especially as the water was scalding, to the point where we risked burning our skin. However, we coped and didn't view this aspect of the room to be sufficient to complain about.

The facilities at the hotel were outstanding, although we didn't make use of the indoor or outdoor pools or the jacuzzi as we were fortunate to have such wonderful weather that we preferred to be out and about in the sunshine. The staff were friendly, accommodating, and nothing was too much trouble for any of them, including the restaurant staff, especially waitress Nicky. The food was good, the menu was varied and the breakfasts were excellent.

Throughout our stay the hotel hosted two coach parties of elderly people but this did not detract from their ability to care for everyone else in the establishment. The place was busy at all times but nothing was too much trouble and indeed we commented on how well everyone interacted with one another. We didn't partake in any of the evening entertainment but we did witness the music in the lounge bar which culminated in dancing on the ballroom floor for anyone who wished to take part.

All in all we cannot fault this Hotel and will most definitely be back for a third visit at some time. We were sorry to leave but have brought home with us some wonderful memories of Alum Chine, Bournemouth and surrounding Jurassic coastal resorts. For us, the Riviera Hotel ticked all the boxes and made our visit to Dorset so much more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Choose a room with balcony & sea view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Pearl_30years

Thank you for your great comments. I shall pass this on to the rest of the team and Nicky – she will be very happy to hear about your lovely comments.

Once again thank you and we hope to see you back at the Riviera Hotel soon

Kind Regards
S Bala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Adequate but comfortable location for our walking group on a Spring weekend break. Some TLC required in a few of the rooms but coffee/tea making facilities and toiletries were good. Entertainment on both Friday and Saturday nights was ideal for our group, giving us the chance to relax after an energetic day's walking. Half board meals were good, and our hotel package included a free drink on both nights - now that can't be bad!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivman2008, Public Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear LeslieH


Thank you for your comments.

I am pleased that overall you had a pleasant stay with us. We are undergoing a facelift so perhaps next time you visit you might be pleasantly surprised on the changes.

Once again thank you and we hope to see you back at the Riviera

Kind Regards
S Bala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel last minute at a reasonable price. When we arrived there was no parking spaces free so we parked on the road a short walk away.

When we got to our room we were disappointed as we were expecting sea views and couldn't really see any sea out of the window. We phoned down and reception said that they could get us another room.
When we got to the next room it was much larger with a balcony overlooking the sea. Beautiful.
The room was not overly special and a bit dated and the bed appeared to give my boyfriend a cricked neck.

The balcony was definately a highlight and enjoyed the sunny weather sat out.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We spent a two night break with friends at the hotels first Gourmet and Wine Tasting Weekend.
We were greeted by very friendly reception staff. Only 2 of our rooms were ready, but that was our fault for arriving an hour before official check in. We decided to leave our cases in the cars and headed off in the direction of the beach to get lunch at a restaurant suggested by the reception staff.

The rooms were ok, The bed was very firm, a bit too firm for us and there was plenty of drawer space and hangers. We didn't have any problems with the shower. Although the weather was around 13c during the day, we needed to keep the windows open all day and night. I dread to think how hot the room would get in the summer. We were on the 2nd floor.

The first night we had a sparkling wine reception with canapes and met the other guests who were on the same break. We had a pleasant 3 course dinner and this was the only time that we had to pay for wine with our meal. The hotel brochure and website said that there would be live entertainment but this was not forthcoming. In fact the welcome letter stated that it would be a chance to have any early night!! Not exactly what we expect when we go away for the weekend.

Saturday lunchtime saw us sampling 10 different wines, all expertly explained by our wine tutor Sarah. This was followed by a light buffet lunch. When we came down to dinner, our reception room had been transformed into a very elegant dining room. We dine on smoked salmon tartare followed by foie gras. This in turn was followed by Scallops, then 3 kinds of lamb, not so eton mess, cheese and biscuits and finally coffee. Each course was accompanied by a very generous glass of wine specifically chosen by Sarah to complement the food.

Our thanks go to Jonathan the Manager and his staff for all their hard work in making the weekend a success. I would give the hotel 5 stars for service and food but having stayed in 5 star hotels around the world we would rate this hotel as 3 stars for the facilities on offer and the comfort of the rooms.

If the hotel does another Wine tasting Weekend next year we would certainly consider repeating the experience but entertainment on the Friday evening would be nice

Room Tip: Not sure which room would be best. It would depend on the time of year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments

Address: 12 - 16 Burnaby Road | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#19 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#23 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good value hotel in Bournemouth which is renowned for its warm service and excellent food in spectacular surroundings – perfect for holidays in Bournemouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel And Holiday Apartments
Riviera Hotel Bournemouth
Riviera Hotel Holiday Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.