We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location & parking!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cecil Court Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cecil Court Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cecil Court Hotel
4 Durley Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5JL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 150 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
bedfordshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good location & parking!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Warm welcome from Kenny & his son on arrival. Always find it slightly odd that you have to pay on arrival rather than check out - but hey ho! Hotel was completely refurbished last year having been derelict and this shows in the decor and cleanliness. We had a deluxe room (Room 6). The room was very small and the view from the window was the car park of a neighbouring hotel. Glad it wasn't a standard room! Steps down to the bathroom which were OK. Shower worked fine on Sat evening, however, flushing the toilet caused the shower to stop working. Met other guests in the bar on Sat evening watching the football. The drinks are very expensive- London prices, which was a little shocking. Shower did not work at all on Sunday morning. No water pressure and the trickle was either boiling hot or freezing. Breakfast was good and it seemed as though you could keep going up for cereals, yoghurt, toast etc. We mentioned to the manager that the shower didn't work and he did not seem surprised and said there had been "issues." All in all, this was a pleasant stay and we would go back (if they accepted dogs)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    8
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
15
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A very friendly greeting when we arrived and then we were shown to our room which was basic but had everything you needed for a one night stay including a hair dryer. Happy to answer questions; directions to the beach. However although the breakfast was nice the people serving were quite rude, we were sat for 15 minutes before anyone came over, serving people who arrived after us also when I asked what I could choose from I just got a blank look and response of well it's just a full English. I won't let this put me off and will return again and go to spoons for breakfast :)

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we stayed here june 22nd-29th ,warm welcome, spotless room, friendly staff, free off road parking, breakfast was delicious.a first class hotel , we had a quiet room ,was so quiet we slept untill 9am ,nearly missed breakfast[the bed was a memory foam one ,comfortable to say the least]highly recommend this hotel .5mins walk to the beach and to the shops.

Room Tip: we would use this hotel again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although a smartly presented budget hotel close to town I'm not sure quite how this hotel got it's amazing reviews. Just the little things - like maybe offering to help carry a case when we were led up a steep flight of stairs to our room. When asking for a cup of tea at the empty bar one evening we were told 'there are tea things in the room'. As it was our second day and the rooms are only cleaned every 2, we had run out milk/tea bags. He went to the kitchen and rather than make me a tea came back with a small jug of milk and extra t-bags, I then had to take these up to my room, make tea and come back down as my partner was having a beer there. Yet all the reviews say 'nothing was too much trouble for the staff'? Breakfast is included in the price but there are 2 options on the Booking.com website and I had inadvertently ticked the wrong box that hadn't included breakfast. We were informed of this at the breakfast table in a packed room and made to feel really uncomfortable - he kept saying he won't make a big deal of it and to continue with our cereals for free but then that's it. Felt so embarrassed like we were trying to cheat them (although it came free anyway) and couldn't wait to leave. What with the really noisy air con unit outside all night, rubbish left in the bedside cabinet, hot/cold shower and the unfortunate incident of standing outside because of the fire alarm at 3am.....will never stay here again that's for sure!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richard c, Owner at Cecil Court Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
thank you for your review I have checked your paperwork and you booked a room only
no breakfast
I provided breakfast on the first day my mistake for not checking paperwork on the second day I noticed that you were room only out of curt icy I let you have toast juices coffee cereal's
without charge
we do not do free breakfast there is always a charge
always check your paperwork
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 1 night with friends in a triple room. Good parking, very friendly and helpful staff.
Room was clean and the beds very comfortable. Very good breakfast. Only comment was the air conditioning unit from the next hotel was outside our window and very noisy from 6 am. This however was not his fault and he did apologise. Also for a triple room there was not enough tea/ coffee or milk.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beds, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked room 10 which was the deluxe king room, on arriving we were shown 2 rooms but both were double rooms, our room had been given to someone else by mistake and it was the only room of that type and we had booked 6 months in advance and specifically booked the room and paid extra for it, the guests who had our room had gone out for the day so we had to wait for the management to contact them, after a couple of hours we returned and the other guests luggage had been removed and we were let in the room, the other couple still had the key though and the management had to use a piece of plastic to get in as no spare key (!!) which is a bit worrying security wise. The room was lovely and spacious with a big flat screen tv, 2 bedside cabinets, a dressing table and wardrobe with ensuite shower. The bed was 2 singles pushed together but this didn't bother us, bedding nice and clean, Minor problems ,only 2 smallish bath towels supplied, no hand towel, the taps in the sink moved when you used them, in the evening the shower was great, hot and powerful, at 8.30 in the morning it was freezing with hardly any pressure, tried 15 minutes later and it was working ok, a bit of a pain having to wait though. Didn't have much sleep as there was a hen party that made loads of noise outside when coming in and for a few hours in the rooms nearby, I'm sure I noticed somewhere that they didn't have single sex parties, but this wasn't the case, the same women turned up in the morning for breakfast still wearing their bed clothes in the breakfast room which didn't seem right. Breakfast was served quickly and was really good, only gripe is that you have to make your own toast and it gets a bit congested in the corner waiting in a queue.
The staff are very friendly and attentive, everywhere is very clean, parking is a bit tight but is good that it is free if you are able to get a spot, bar area is nice, airy and clean, location is good as not far from seafront. Would definately stay again but only in room 10 as the other rooms we saw seemed a bit small. Would have been perfect if we had the right room on arrival and the other female guests weren't so noisy

Room Tip: if you are a couple ask for room 10 and pay the extra tenner, well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We decided to take advantage of the lovely weather and go for a one night midweek stay, that we had booked the day before. Our booking was for the last standard double (room 2) for £45. A previous review on TA for room 2 was a little disparaging; in particular saying that the room was only suitable for a single person. As far as we were concerned the room was of more than adequate size for two, we have been in much smaller ones. It was nicely refurbished, and had good bathroom with shower. Good tea & coffee tray with quality cookies. Bed was very comfortable and we slept well.
The full English breakfast was very good, all top quality produce including good filter coffee, muesli, Kingsmill bread, orange juice, quality bacon, sausage, very good black pudding etc. Very substantial and kept us going all day.
Location was OK, about a 10 minute walk to the beach, and maybe 20 minutes from Bournemouth pier. Also close to shops. We would definitely stay here again. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cecil Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cecil Court Hotel

Address: 4 Durley Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5JL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderfull building built in the later part of the 1800s a true gentlemans residance with many original features ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Cecil Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cecil Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.