We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Harrods for afternoon tea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frieda's Tearoom

Frieda's Tearoom
7 Stafford Road, Bournemouth BH1 1JH, England
+44 1202 291981
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 556 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Description: AN INDEPENDENT, FAMILY RUN, VINTAGE STYLE BUSINESS. DESIGNED TO BE A RELAXING ENVIRONMENT FOR YOU TO ENJOY. FRIEDA'S TEAROOM TEAM PRIDE THEMSELVES ON USING ONLY THE FINEST LOCALLY PRODUCE. THEY PROVIDE THE BEST BREAKFAST IN TOWN, HOMEMADE LUNCH AND CAKES, FRIEDA'S AFTERNOON TEA IS FAMOUS IN WHOLE COUNTY FOR FRESH, HAND MADE SANDWICHES, HOMEMADE CAKES AND SCONES SERVED IN BONE CHINA TEA SETS AND 3 TIER CAKE STANDS.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Better than Harrods for afternoon tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We visited Frieda's after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. We never would have found it otherwise as its situated in a fairly shabby part of town.The view outside is not good but inside is pleasantly decorated in a vintage style.
The afternoon tea for 2 was excellent and very good value - We had more food than we could eat.The tea was served in china sups and tasted delicious. The waitress was very attentive and friendly and Frieda came out to speak to us. We'll be visiting again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    14
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Absolutely amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

The reviews on here are so true. The setting is beautiful and the food just awesome. Such great value. Sooo many cakes ok the afternoon tea, with the best scones I've ever eaten. You have to try this place. So sad I don't live in Bournemouth otherwise I would be there every day and be fat :). Thanks guys

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Real Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I visited Frieda's for an afternoon tea and it really was one of the best experiences I've had. Everything is homemade and delicious, the decor is perfect and the staff were so friendly. If you're in the area and want a real treat you can't do any better than Frieda's!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best cafe in Bournemouth!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I would never have known this gorgeous little tearoom existed had it not been for a groupon voucher a friend purchased and took me to for afternoon tea. Everything was homemade and it made me realise that I had forgotten what real food should taste like when you eat out. I cannot recommend this hidden gem enough. If you appreciate good service, friendly staff and good quality ingredients then please ditch all of the Costa and Nero's of Bournemouth and help support businesses that have real passion for the good things in life!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stumbled upon this place by accident whilst in Bournemouth, its a absolute delight. great service and the food/drink were superb.

I wanted to add a photo but Tripadvisor is a bit picky with file sizes!

Hope it continues for decades!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frieda's Tearoom also viewed

Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Frieda's Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frieda's Tearoom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.