We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good B and B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westbrook Private Hotel

Westbrook Private Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Westbrook Private Hotel to your Saves list
Westbrook Private Hotel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   64 Alum Chine Road | Westbourne, Bournemouth BH4 8DZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 151 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
hereford uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very good B and B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just had a week at Westbrook Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. It was all you could want in a B
and B. Very clean and tidy, good breakfast , comfortable rooms, and Mo and Mick were very friendly and welcoming. It has the added bonus of being in a great location. Less than a 5 minute walk from Westbourne village, which is a really vibrant little place, and a nice 30 minute walk along the beach to central Bournemouth. Also 5 minutes from an extremely good bus service, if you want to explore the area without using the car. The area itself his lovely, so we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
13
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Westbrook Hotel for just one night, and it was a very comfortable stay. The room plus bath was nice, clean, and tidy. There were many maps and numbers provided by the hotel, and Mo was always very polite and courteous to me (I did not get a chance to meet Mick in my short stay). The breakfast was a very good full English, and the views out of the window were nice as well. The only thing is I wished there was free Wifi guests could use, but this is only a minor note, and for the price of the stay it's perfectly fine. Awesome value at this hotel, highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Just spent a long weekend here with my partner for our anniversary and couldn't be happier with the place. The room was a good size and had everything we needed for the weekend all for a great price. The staff were excellent and gave us helpful information about where to go while we were down there (we had never been to Bournemouth before so needed all the information we could get). Breakfasts were served very fast and efficiently and were what we needed for a long day walking about the sites and sounds that Bournemouth has to offer! Will definitely be booking again for next year :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morag W, Owner at Westbrook Private Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Wowsers! What a superb review, thank you so much! .... and thanks for bringing the sun, it never stopped shining for you we're glad to say! For all information about 'things to do in Bournemouth' the Tourist Information website is really helpful at www.bournemouth.co.uk . And now that summer is well and truly here don't forget that on Friday nights at 10pm there are fireworks at Bournemouth pier and on 29th August to 1st Sept we have the Bournemouth Air Festival with vintage planes and those dear ole Red Arrows flying all over the seafront! Thanks again for your kind words, enjoy the rest of your summer :-) Very best wishes from Mo & Mick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed Saturday night in the Westbrook to attend a vw show on the seafront on the Sunday. Excellent sized lovely clean room,with the hugest bed i have ever seen which was so comfy,flat screen tv with freeview,tea and coffee making facilities in the room,en suite.. and a really lovely breakfast&very friendly owner..we will definately go back next year. Didnt want to come home :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morag W, Owner at Westbrook Private Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi, What a fantastic review, thank you, luckily you got the super king bed that night; we have 2 rooms with these zip-link beds in, they can be made into a big double bed or changed into 2 single beds when we need to use them as a twin room. We're glad you found the VW show alright as I wasn't sure where to signpost you to at the time was I. Actually, its a good chance to mention that our local motor enthusiasts are very active during the summer season down here; on Sundays from 4pm - 6pm they line up all their old vintage cars on the seafront near Bournemouth pier and on Fridays they show them off at Pool Quay from 6pm. Also, our local bikers, not to be outdone, bring 100s of their beautiful machines out on Tuesday nights from 6pm and park them all along Poole Quay! Might be a good excuse for you to have another quick break away, LOL. Anyway, thanks again for your review, much appreciated as always. Mo and Mick, The Westbrook Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

we stayed here at the beginning of june, mainly for location as we have friends who live very close by, great little place, the weather wasn't so great and we got there early, they let us check in early, unfortunately they were sold out of doubles and we had a twin, but for the price we really cant complain, great location , nice people run it , onsite parking, and a good brekkie , what more could you want??

we will definitely stay here again,

Room Tip: not a tip for a good room , but if your looking to eat in Westbourne I can thoroughly recommend coff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morag W, Owner at Westbrook Private Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Well hi again, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We're glad you were happy with the place and sorry we didn't have a double room for you but, remind us of who you are next time and we'll do our best to accommodate you with a nice super king size! Unfortunately, Bournemouth is always busy at the weekends especially in the summer months or when the sun comes out so its always good to book well ahead. Sorry we couldn't bring the sun out on your visit too, wish we could, but who knows, if we all think 'happy thoughts' maybe July and August will bring him out with his hat on .. hip hip hip horray (as the ole song goes, LOL)! Thanks again you two, much appreciated, our very best wishes to you both. Mo & Mick at The Westbrook Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights for a little break before i have my baby. As soon as we got there we were greeted into a lovely friendly atmosphere. We were shown to our room which was clean had a lot of space an ensuite bathroom. As we are not from bournemouth both hosts gave us easy quick directions to the local shops resturants and the beach. Both hosts were lovely welcoming and extremely caring and friendly. The breakfast had alot of choice and plenty of drinks from decaff to juice. The host even asked did me a well done egg (as im 9month pregnant). There was plenty of choice from a full english to cereal or just toast and even catered for vegetarian and special diets. All theought was extremely clean and well looked after. Myself and my partner enjoyed a 2 days here and will definalty be returning in the future and will also be recommending to all friends and family. Thank you for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morag W, Owner at Westbrook Private Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hi you two (nearly three)! .... Thank you so much for your superb review, what lovely things to say about us and our B & B, thank you so much. We've been here for 18 months now and we have just about got to grips with getting the basics right (it was quite run down before we took over) so from now onwards we can just concentrate on keeping the rooms looking nice and improving them in any little ways we can. Actually, your words have reassured us now and made us feel that the time might be right for us to apply to get some hotel accreditation stars from the 'AA Association' or 'Visit Britain'. So, we might just become 3 stars soon ... just like you! LOL ... good luck with the birth and enjoy every day with the new bundle! Our very best wishes to you from Mo and Mick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We came to Bournemouth for my nephew's wedding and found this hotel on the internet. Being in low season we expected that there would be maintainance work being carried out. When we arrived there was scaffolding across the front of the hotel. We found out that they were having the roof repaired.

We had a very warm welcome from our host who showed us up to our room. All the rooms are named after local areas of Dorset. Just inside the door was a metal framed sofa bed which could be used to put luggage on. Past this piece of furniture and down 2 steps was the bedroom. One side had a bedside cabinet with a lamp and alarm clock and on the other side was a table with a lamp and tray with kettle and cups to make a hot drink. There was no wardrobe but there was some shelves and a rail with hangers. On one wall was a flatscreen t.v. Through a sliding door was the en-suite with shower, toilet and washbasin.

The room was clean and fresh and we found it very comfortable.

We were served a very good breakfast in the morning. There were a choice of ceareals and juices. There was also a choice of cooked breakfast.

Altogether this was a pleasant place to stay and offers very good value for money. I would certainly be happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morag W, Owner at Westbrook Private Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We're glad that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed your wedding especially! The scaffolding has now disappeared as quickly as it went up we're pleased to say and our roof is looking nice and new now. Thank you for all your lovely compliments and taking the time to write a positive review about The Westbrook Hotel, very much appreciated. We hope you have a lovely summer and the sun shines for us all! Our very best wishes to you both. Mick and Mo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westbrook Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westbrook Private Hotel

Address: 64 Alum Chine Road | Westbourne, Bournemouth BH4 8DZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Westbrook Private Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run value Bed & Breakfast guest house situated in Westbourne, a quieter suburb of bustling Bournemouth, 10 minutes walk to the seafront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Westbrook Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westbrook Private Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.