We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, excellent breakfast, pity they do not stock proper beer.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Michaels Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5DU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #18 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice room, excellent breakfast, pity they do not stock proper beer.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Old building,nicely refurbished and our room was spacious and very comfortable. The breakfast was one of the best we have experienced whilst travelling. Attended a function there and the function dining could have been a little better, but it was OK. Found the staff friendly and helpful and the stay was very pleasing. However, I do wish that the hotel would stock proper beer. They did not even have bottled English ales. Parking is a nightmare unless you are very lucky to find a space in their limited car park. Would use it again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    261
    118
    49
    26
See reviews for
128
325
18
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

From the fuss free checking to the stress free check out two days later everything went very smoothly and comfortably. The room was clean and well equipped with all the essentials, my early morning trips to the spa were a great way to start the day, alas the excellent breakfast quickly undid any benefits gained from the spa.
The staff were nearly all very efficient, courteous and friendly, the location is unbeatable over looking the rolling waters of Poole Bay and the English Channel beyond an appropriate vista for the annual sailing conference!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighcliffGM, General Manager at Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your stay and the conference.

We always enjoy hosting you and your colleagues for your annual event - so it is nice to hear that you enjoyed your time here too.

Thank you again for your feeback and for staying with us - We hope to see you again next year if not sooner.


Andrew Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

On arrival the attention of the consierge cannot be underestimated. The customer service at the hotel is faultless. Receptionists say all the right things and the timing from arrival to room was faultless. A sherry overlooking the bay passed the time and once seen the room was well worth the wait.

We were part of a special event so truly cannot complain however the buffet that was provided for our function was horribly dry, cold and ultimately inedible. Not our hosts fault but disappointing as we were starving by 9.30 pm.

A highlight was the breakfast - amazing and as mentioned before the service impeccable throughout.

Thank You for an amazing stay but I would think twice about an event if the food was as bad as we suffered - maybe an all day breakfast is the answer!

Room Tip: Room was horribly hot, even in January. Tried to cool it with the air conditioning but to little ef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

There are so many great things to say about this hotel. The included breakfast is fantastic - so much variety and just a great way to start the day overlooking the ocean from the dining area.

My wife and I had our wedding reception here and stayed in one of the junior suites. We've been back to the same room twice since and it's still as great as we remember it. Each time our room request has been met, which is wonderful and adds so much to our experience for nostalgic reasons. The room itself is very good - two large TVs for the bedroom and the sitting area, comfortable bed.

The staff are wonderful, the location is amazing, the rooms are great, the breakfast is fantastic and though I have never used it, the leisure facilities get great reviews. So why no excellent rating you ask?

The shower is not a great experience. The width of the bathtub at the showerhead end is so narrow it's ridiculous. It's fine if you actually take a bath and you sit at the wider end, but taking a shower is a pain. I seriously felt like I was taking a shower while standing on a balance beam. One step to the left or right and you would slip. There is just enough space to stand with your feet together, but that's hardly relaxing nor easy to maneuver!

And annoyingly, there's no free WiFi for guests! OK, I exaggerate, you are fortunate enough to get a small window of free WiFi in your room - about one hour if I remember rightly, but come on! For the price you pay to stay here, you should be getting free WiFi in this day and age. What's more annoying is the outrageous price for connecting to the WiFi for 24 hours if you wanted to, plus the fact that visitors to the restaurant get free WiFi downstairs. Seems a bit off to me...residents don't get it but lunch visitors do.

On this particular visit we were also disappointed to find some left behind rubbish in the room. Room key, water bottle, etc. Not a lot, but still not what you expect when you check in. Either the previous guest had managed to get back in to the room after housekeeping had been in, or housekeeping just didn't finish their work. It was taken care of quickly and we were offered a room change, which wasn't necessary.

I still like the hotel a lot, it has many things going for it, but the WiFi is a pet peeve of mine and the shower is of upmost importance in my hotel stays. For such a great facility in every other way, it's a shame.

Still, recommended for it's location, breakfast and overall room quality.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighcliffGM, General Manager at Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Chris

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your stay at The Highcliff here on Tripadvisor.
It is nice to hear that the hotel holds some great memories for you and your wife and I am very pleased that in the main, you enjoy staying with us.

With regard to the bathtub in your suite, could I ask that you kindly email me directly and let me know which suite you stayed in, as this is an issue that has never been identified before? We do have some smaller bathtubs in the bedrooms that occupy the former coast guard cottages, due to the configuration of these listed historic buildings, we in think that this is part of the charm of the cottages. Please do drop me an email though if you will.

The situation that you report regarding some waste items in the room is clearly a mistake on our part and I appologise for that. It is more likely that we missed emptying one of the waste bins, than a prior guest being able to access the room.

With regard to wifi, we do provide a completely free wifi service throughout the public areas of the hotel: lounge, bar, restaurant, lobby and health club. You are correct in that we do currently have a charge for the much higher band width service that is available in our bedrooms, ideal for streaming a movie or downloading large presentation type files.

Thank you again for returning to stay with us and I hope that we will see you back at the Highcliff again soon.

Kind regards

Andrew Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We have stayed here many times and it is always a great place to stay. Have just returned from a great weekend here and it was better than ever. The hotel has a great location, the public rooms have a fantastic view. Lovely furnishings in the public areas and the bedrooms and everywhere spotlessly clean, I always say it is the only hotel that I would feel confident looking under the bed and find it as clean as everywhere else. The bedclothes, towels and choices of pillows is superb and best of all the. staff are amazing, they are very friendly and welcoming and exceptionally efficient. The food is good, particularly the breakfast. We can't think of any negative so thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighcliffGM, General Manager at Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write such a positive review - it is wonderful to know that you hold the hotel in such high regard.

I am very proud of the team here at the Highcliff, so greatly appreciate your acknowledgement of the service and engagement that you have received whilst staying with us.

I do hope that we can welcome you back to the Highcliff and to Bournemouth soon.

Kind regards


Andrew Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Visited with a company called Just You (for singles) and can find only good things to say about this Hotel. The service, the food, ambience - all excellent - will definitely visit again. All the staff went out of their way to make the experience a happy one.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighcliffGM, General Manager at Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for choosing to spend Christmas with us at The Highcliff this year. It was our pleasure to host you and your fellow guests in your group.

Please do come and stay with us again soon - maybe a nice Spring break, or a Summer stay ahead of a return at Christmas?? Thank you for posting your feedback here, we appreciate your comments.

Kind regards


Andrew Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had afternoon tea on Sunday with the rain and wind beating at the windows but the view over the coast was still spectacular. afternoon tea was fine,the usual sandwiches,scones and cakes. I was disappointed by the cakes, it seemed to be left over Christmas cake and a large piece of brownie, no patisserie or tempting delicate treats. The pastry chef could pick up some tips from the great British Bake off!!
However the staff were attentive and friendly and the champagne delicious.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighcliffGM, General Manager at Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Charlotte

Thank you for your feedback and for visiting us for Afternoon Tea, I love the view from the Highcliff Lounge - Whatever the weather it is a great place to sit and watch the sea, so I am pleased that the rain didn't spoil your visit.

Your feedback on the cakes is very welcome. We certainly were not using up Christmas cake; in fact our fruit cake has always been a popular item on our afternoon tea. However we are literally just in the process of sign off of the new season's afternoon tea (tough job all this tasting) and I think that you will really like it, based upon your comments.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope that we see you again soon.

Kind regards


Andrew Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel

Address: St. Michaels Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#24 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping sea views, an exquisitely detailed lobby and outstanding staff welcome you to the Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel. Located adjacent to from the Bournemouth International Centre on the Dorset coastline, we offer a setting that both business and leisure travellers will appreciate. Richly appointed guest rooms offer supreme comfort and secure high-speed Internet. In summer, the sun terrace and outdoor pool provide the perfect retreat. Wifi is available free of charge in the lobby, lounge and bar to all hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bournemouth
Bournemouth Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.