We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location but a little overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Michaels Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5DU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #18 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Kent
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Perfect location but a little overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights but unfortunately didn't get a seaview room, I would say try for these. The hotel layout is a little strange as its an old building so sometimes you have to walk a long way to your room.

I have to say the Marriott food never fails to disappoint me, its always freshly cooked and nicely presented and there is a huge option for breakfast including special requests.

Apart from the location and views my favourite part of the hotel is the leisure club. It has a well equipped gym and a lovely large pool areas with sauna, steam room and jacuzzi.

The only downside is you have to pay for parking.

I would definitely stay here again when visiting bournemouth.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    261
    118
    49
    26
See reviews for
128
325
18
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Staff couldn't do enough to make our stay a fantastic one. Parking is difficult around the area but they car park staff simply took our keys and solved the parking for us. We stayed in the complex that is a converted row of cottages. Rooms were nice and clean, very quiet with comfy beds and hot showers. Breakfast next day was very comprehensive and the chef making my omelette had a good chat with me whilst working - made the food taste a wee but nicer knowing a bit about the guy that cooked it. It's right next door to the BIC (about 2 mins away) and about 5 mins from the Pavillion Theatre. Will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: Go for the converted row of cottages - lovely rooms and quiet too
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here for an event at the weekend.
Staff were fantastic from start of our stay to finish- courteous and very helpful.
The room wasn't massive but had everything we needed without it being cramped. Room and bathroom were very, very clean.
The hotel is well placed- close to the beach and town but in a quiet location.
During the event itself the food and venue was good and again staff were very attentive and polite. Good selection of food available at breakfast. Only thing we sadly didn't get to try out during our stay were the swimming pool/spa facilities but these were spoken highly of by other members of our party.
Positive experience- though not at all the cheapest hotel in Bournemouth.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Stay here for a couple nights every month on business. I can say that I always look forward to returning to this hotel, I could never say that about any other hotel! In the 3 years I have stayed here I have never had a cause to complain. The staff are polite, professional and attentive. Rooms are nice and quiet, especially the cottages. Breakfast always enjoyable. Great location as well. Highly recommend to anyone thinking of staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I stayed in the hotel when I visited last month.

The food was great (much better than the awful restaurants I ate in) and it was very clean.

It's in a great position and handy for the town.

Will stay again!

Thank you

A+++++++++++

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I was very disappointed, perhaps I just expect to much. The Hotel is in a great position, the staff are great, but we paid over £300.00 pounds to spend two nights in a tiny room, with a small double bed. Now I booked a double room, but have stayed in so many hotels and the bed is never ever a small double. We were in 302, at the end and perhaps this was the reason for such a small room.

Room Tip: Not 302, Check the size of the room and the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The staff are so attentive and helpful and the position of the hotel is perfect
We were in a cottage of the hotel, which was ideal with a view onto the garden and outdoor pool
What makes this hotel is its location and the staff - it's up to, and possibly above other Marriotts

Room Tip: If you want to be away from the main hotel ask for a coastguard cottage room It's an annex wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel

Address: St. Michaels Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#24 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping sea views, an exquisitely detailed lobby and outstanding staff welcome you to the Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel. Located adjacent to from the Bournemouth International Centre on the Dorset coastline, we offer a setting that both business and leisure travellers will appreciate. Richly appointed guest rooms offer supreme comfort and secure high-speed Internet. In summer, the sun terrace and outdoor pool provide the perfect retreat. Wifi is available free of charge in the lobby, lounge and bar to all hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bournemouth
Bournemouth Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.