We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend by the sea!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Michaels Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5DU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Credit
Ranked #20 of 73 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend by the sea!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is our third time for a weekend stay by the sea in Bournemouth at the Highcliff Marriott. Whilst the hotel is nice in many ways, the main attraction of this hotel for us is the location - high on the cliff overlooking the sea. As such we would advise paying extra to book a room in the main building with a seaview since going to sleep and waking up with the sound of the waves outside is definitely worth every penny (or should I say pounds!). And throwing back the curtains in the morning to see the view is a wonderful way to start the day along with the ability to have a morning stroll along the beach. Location wise it is also just a 10 minute walk to the main shopping area as well so everything is on your doorstep.

For us this is the perfect place for a weekend. As indicated the location is great and the hotel offers all you need - the rooms are comfortable and clean (admittedly some are better than others as some reviewers have mentioned but we have always found all sea view rooms to be of a generally good standard), the restaurant is nice, the bar provides a nice place to sit for a while and have a drink and the breakfast is of a good quality. The rooms themselves offer nice large beds with the usual lovely pillows and bedding you come to expect from a Marriott, the bathrooms, whllst a bit dated now, are always clean with plenty of crisp towels. As an added bonus there is also a pool which guests can use free of charge including spa pool and fitness area.

On all of our stays we have always found the staff to be very helpful. On our latest stay - over the very busy Valentine period, with a wedding going on in the hotel as well - we still found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We left having had a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing time. We will certainly be returning again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a room in the main building with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    319
    143
    59
    33
See reviews for
152
400
21
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

we had a day pass at the health club which is a fantastic way to spend a gloomy sunday out of the cold and rain! The indoor pool, sauna, steam room and jazuzzi was wonderful.. very clean, relaxing and welcoming. Soothing music surrounds you making this a very relaxing way to chill. we even tried the outdoor heated pool that certainly awoke the senses!
we will be back and are even considering joining on an annual membersip for the health club :-)

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We had high tea (afternoon tea) in this delightfully located venue. The service was second to none. The location was perfect.

The sandwiches were very average with only two varieties - cucumber and salmon. The selection of cakes and scones on paper sounded lovely, however, failed to deliver. The scones were hard and on the cusp of being stale. The cakes individually had they been fresh would have been ok. On the plus side the lemon curd was amazing.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We are really looking forward to our Two Nights Stay in March, Taking our Grand Children to Peppa Pig World, I Love Marriott Hotels, Stayed at most in the UK, But not this one yet any tips on what to do in Bournemouth for two 50 year olds

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for two nights in August 2012 and asked for a quiet room on a high floor as it was busy holiday season and Bournemouth can be manic at this time- we werent wrong as there were weddings on both days, which meant the only fun underground bar in the hotel was booked out for wedding guests only.
The hotel foyer and main bar and restaurant are a little tired but have been made over in the last few years but the room we were put in was so shabby and old. Dont let this put you off thoough as the staff cannot do enough for you, and the hotel is so central to the town and beach that you ignore the shabby rooms! The Thai restaurant next door to the hotel is a must.
Car parking was manic when we arrived but the concierge always managed to find us a space in the hotel car park.
The hotel pool and gym was nice, very busy as high season but we used the changing room to shower after we had been to the beach and checked out and they were happy to help and give out towels. If you want a central hotel close to the beach and BIC and town this hotel is a must, just pray you are located in the main building

Room Tip: Main building, high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

What a delightful way to spend a couple of hours enjoying a splendid afternoon tea overlooking the sea from a very comfortable lounge. The sandwiches were generous and the scones equally so. The other cakes were a little heavy for our taste and as we were unable to finish everything our attentive waitress kindly offered to box them up for us. Not really a place where very young children will be easily occupied but an excellent place to take elderly relations for an hour or two.

Room Tip: Not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Had quite a few vouchers to use from work and decided to upgrade to a suite. Spacious room and really enjoyed our stay.

The food was superb and breakfast the best ive had in a while.perefectly cooked eggs.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#7 of 73 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 2,349 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central
0.7 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 73 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel

Address: St. Michaels Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#23 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping sea views, an exquisitely detailed lobby and outstanding staff welcome you to the Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel. Located adjacent to from the Bournemouth International Centre on the Dorset coastline, we offer a setting that both business and leisure travellers will appreciate. Richly appointed guest rooms offer supreme comfort and secure high-speed Internet. In summer, the sun terrace and outdoor pool provide the perfect retreat. Wifi is available free of charge in the lobby, lounge and bar to all hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Marriott, Hotel.de, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bournemouth
Bournemouth Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.