We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Carrington House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Carrington House Hotel to your Saves list
Carrington House Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Knyveton Rd, Bournemouth BH1 3QQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Don't bother!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed at this hotel recently and would compare it to Faulty Towers! Have stayed in loads of hotels and I'm sure this was lovely in 1980 but I think was the last time it was decorated!!! I have stayed in similar hotels to this and it wouldn't be so bad if the staff were lovely friendly and welcoming but they are NOT! They couldn't care less about the people staying there until this changes this is why people will pick the travelodge or premier inn!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    130
    149
    92
    156
See reviews for
137
160
27
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Hotel was old and tired, but there is building work going on which I assume is updating work. There was no notification by Expedia of this work going on and if you wanted an afternoon nap, forget it! Therefore I am rating it noisy, but to be fair there wasn't a lot of noise at other times. Other than this the room was very clean and very comfortable and I enjoyed my 2 night stay. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful. Online it stated that wi-fi was £10 for 24hrs but it was actually free. The problem was there were a limited number of users and it was n't until the 2nd day that I managed to get connected. I opted for their buffet breakfast which was fine as long as you waited for a fresh batch of fried eggs. I think the hotel represents very good value for the £50 per night I paid + £5 per breakfast.

Room Tip: My room on the right side was good, as there was a separate exit to where my car was parked, but thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldock, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This hotel was recommended by my parents who has stayed here when it was run by the now defunct Forest Deane chain who ran some very swanky business hotels including the Royal Cambridge. Warning bells soon sounded when I heard it was now being run by the Britannia hotel chain who are synonymous with letting once great hotels in Bournemouth like The Royal Bath and the Roundhouse (see my previous review) fall into ruins.

Fortunately the only area currently given the low-rent Britannia treatment is the food, which has all the trademark bush tucker trial fare of their other hotels. In the past this place had waitress service with a decent cooked to order breakfast but this has been replaced with a buffet that if served in a refugee camp would have The UN providing swift intervention. It is a shame as the actual restaurant is quite plush and well appointed. I love the heavy use of wood throughout the interior which gives an air of quality to the place, albeit revealing the hotel's glory period to be firmly stuck in the 1990s.

However the downstairs section is very plush for the money and would still befit a four star hotel. The bar is good value with a great selection of drinks. I found it a very cosy place to spend the evening with well lit corridors. The modern wing of the hotel currently being renovated feels generally very nice and in terms of the prices being asked it is fantastic value compared to travelodge. It is not as good as Premier Inn but the room I was in was far bigger than anything they would offer you at half the price. No aircon or a good shower are the only drawbacks to otherwise a very comfortable room. The free wi-fi is dreadful and so annoying with passwords frequently expiring.

The swimming pool was also a nice surprise if one overlooks the horrible changing rooms that I dread to think are like in winter. They were dark, damp and smelled of dog wee. However the pool itself was a lovely heated offering that felt pleasant with a nice walk through.

Location is great as it is on a quiet, tree lined road yet close enough to the bustle of Bournrmouth or Boscombe. Car park is also monitored by CCTV as I noted is indeed the pool, so bear that in mind if you're worried about being ogled by staff while in the pool. It is doubtful that such circumstances would be encountered anything less than covertly however as the staff were always keen to help with any queries I had on any issue.

Overall it is a bit of a curate's egg with some good bits but an equal amount below par. I enjoyed my stay overall because it was comfortable and it was very cheap for high season. I am aware of many hotels far worse than this in Bournemouth and I did feel that the hotel's plush origins from better times helped. It is not dirty and ticks all the basics for a good stay.

The renovations may help improve things but the awful food and low staff numbers are a trait of Britannia confusing a cheap experience for a good value one.

Room Tip: Rooms on high floors on modern section seem far superior and quieter to the original wing that is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley. Surrey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one night and will not be repeating the experience. We only paid a budget rate through a hotel booking website so it could be considered good value but you must remember that the hotel is expecting you to pay full price normally £149.00. The equates to very poor value and basically this hotel and others like it are treating customers with contempt. The furniture was well past its sell by date, fabric torn and ripped. The bed sheet was not big enough for the bed and the amount of mould in the bathroom was frightening. There was no air conditioning in the rooms and only one opening window, very uncomfortable night.
Unfortunately this hotel represents many other hotels in the town and it is not good enough. I have been visiting Bournemouth now for 40 years and I have witnessed a steady decline in the amount of hotels and the standard of them. Don't forget this town used to boast 2 five star hotels and now has none. It is time the Bournemouth Tourist department came down hard on these establishments and demanded better standards. Never thought I would be doing this but my best advice is that stay in the branded budget chains like PremierInn and Travelodge, at least they are all presented to a uniform standard and you really do get value for money.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I stayed at Carrington House Hotel Bournemouth with my wife and two of our friends from Friday 27 June to 29th June having booked 2 double rooms through UK Breakaways on a half board basis.

Unfortunately the bedroom we stayed in were not fit for purpose and could cause a health hazard due to the dirt and grime particularly in the bathroom.

The rooms needed a good scrub as strings of web with dirt attached to them hung from the ceiling. The ceiling was dirty and stained. Dust had accumulated in areas between pipes and wall, black mould had accumulated in many areas of the bathroom, outside windows were that dirty it was difficult to see through them, outside sills cannot have been cleaned for years, carpet threadbare, wallpaper dirty and torn, woodwork tired and chipped, massive amount of foam hanging out of arm of armchair that should have been thrown out years ago.
My wife and I are both at retirement age and have visited many hotels over the years . This is the first time I have found it necessary to complain as we will accept different standards depending on price. What I am not prepared to accept however are rooms that are below minimum requirements for guests particularly if this could lead to the hotel not meeting hygiene quality standards.

Additionally we could not believe how the restaurant operates and the poor quality of the food. Our evening meal on the first evening was the worst experience we have ever had in a hotel. It was completely self service and apart from water on the table we were not offered a drink.
The limited selection of food had been stood for over 2 hours under hot plates and was very bland and unappetising. We discovered that if we required a drink we would need to go to the bar. At the bar we were told that we could not put the drinks on our room and as they did not have a machine to authorise card payment I was escorted by the bar staff to reception with my card.

To add insult to injury the resident workmen are allowed to use the restaurant in their work clothes spreading dust into the air which undoubtedly reaches the food.

Bar and lounge area very tired with chairs and settees torn with internal foam showing in places.

Noisy room with generator noise early in the morning.

Room Tip: Stay clear!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

...a hotel with good walking distance to the beach, coach/train station, boscombe shopping area and town centre this is it!

Affordable rooms, but don't book breakfast as it isn't very good (eatable, thats it) and you can eat at various excellent restaurants in boscombe (boscanova, urban reef, urban beach... or other small cafes in boscombe shopping street).

Room was at third floor at the far end and quite alright! if you compare with other recent reviews it wasn't that dated. Wallpaper still on wall, tv working fully etc.
Wifi in room was slow but at least it was there.
Bathroom ok, bit dated and shower just drizzeling water but that's quite normal for english bathrooms.
Clean towels and shower gel, soap and shampoo which was always refilled!

Hotel lounge (Java Lounge) was comfy, very good wifi and you can eat some small hot meals and have drinks.

Hotel is refurbishing some areas which is very much needed in some rooms.

Staff was always very nice and helpful!!

If you're there for holidays and are out and about and need a hotel to sleep in go for it!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

One night on business, one night too long! This place want's knocking down. Tired is an understatement, damp smelly bathroom, rusty bath/shower, notice on the wall in bathroom saying "if water brown its OK" I don't thing so. Carpets thread bare, telly remote not working so only one channel working. Wifi saying not secure. Lamps not working by the bed, wallpaper coming off the walls. Paint all chipped. Bed lumpy, sheets were clean thank god! Had a drink in the bar area, the settees were all dirty and worn so went back to my room. Did not have breakfast checked out as soon as possible. Would I stay again, what do you think!

Room Tip: No rooms worth having
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carrington House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrington House Hotel

Address: Knyveton Rd, Bournemouth BH1 3QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carrington House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carrington House Hotel, close to the town centre and all Bournemouth's top attractions, is situated on a quiet pine tree lined avenue on the East Cliff side of Bournemouth - perfect for a weekend break or short sightseeing trip. The hotel is close to both the railway and coach station and is only a ten-minute drive from Bournemouth Airport.There is so much to see and do in Bournemouth and its surrounding area, that you are bound to be back again and again whether it is a relaxing short break in Bournemouth that you are after, a cosmopolitan city break, or a weekend break for sight seeing and fun, Carrington House Hotel is an ideal base for all your activities.The hotel has 145 en-suite bedrooms, including 42 purpose-built family rooms plus conference and banqueting facilities for up to 700, a heated indoor swimming pool, table tennis, pool, table football and free parking for 85 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Carrington House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrington Hotel Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carrington House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.