We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carrington House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Carrington House Hotel to your Saves list
Carrington House Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Knyveton Rd, Bournemouth BH1 3QQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
Rugby, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We checked in at 1pm on a Saturday, rooms were ready and we unpacked. The reception staff were a bit offhand but we were all in good spirits so it didn't matter. We took a map of the town and headed out. On our return we decided to take advantage of the hotels dinner offer of children eat free before 6.30pm, the restaurant manager was very accommodating and got us a nice table for the 7 of us. He recommened a dish for my vegetarian friend and had a little joke with the children. We did wait some time for our main course but the restaurant manager apologies and told us it would be a further 10 mins, which it was. The dining room was very busy with a coach tour! The meal was fine and afterwards the children went to play in the soft play area while we enjoyed a few drinks in the very spacious seating area.
We went down to breakfast and was greeted by the same restaurant manager who remembered there were 7 of us and found us a table together. Breakfast was great and set us up for the day.

My friends rooms was right next door to the lift and was quite noisy with a very uncorfotable bed so she asked to move, this was arranged without hesitation. She packed her bags and we went out for the day, upon our return all of their things had been moved to the new room which was in a much better location.

The rooms were clean and spacious with a large bathroom and toiletries and lots of towels, the room maids were very helpful in providing more milk and tea/coffee.

The hotel itself is very tired and worn but for what we paid you couldn't ask for more, we had a fantastic stay in Bournemouth and would have no hesitation in staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCarrington, General Manager at Carrington House Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank-you for your comments. Our hotel is a little tired but we make up for it with our customer service. I have passed on your kind words to Alex our restaurant manager and also to our ever efficient housekeeping team.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Carrington House hotel on your next family trip to Bournemouth.

Kind regards
Stuart Kingsley-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    139
    167
    114
    180
See reviews for
149
189
29
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here for the last couple of days with our two children (ages 6 & 2) after booking a special offer online.
Positive - Excellent customer service with polite, friendly staff, thankyou.
Clean room that was serviced every morning
Breakfast!

Negative - Decor needs updating/replacing and minor repairs/tlc needed throughout.

We would have rated higher if the building was in a better (cosmetic) condition. Good value for what we payed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCarrington, General Manager at Carrington House Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank-you for your comments. Whilst our hotel is showing some signs of its age we pride ourselves on making up for it with our food and service. I am very pleased this is exactly what you experienced and we look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Bournemouth.

Kind Regards
Stuart Kingsley-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night over the recent bank holiday in a family room - 2 adults & 2 children. I was pleasantly surprised with the room having 4 full sized beds for us all with clean sheets & relatively comfortable. We all slept well and had an undisturbed sleep despite initially doubting this as there was a boxing match on site the night we stayed!! The breakfast was fine - enough to choose from and perfectly edible. The main problem with this hotel is the decor, which is tired & dated and the cleanliness in public areas. The sofas dotted around are filthy - you wouldn't want to sit on them, the chairs in the restaurant are equally dirty. In one of the public rooms the downlight from the ceiling had fallen down and was hanging from the wire - surely a health & safety issue. There was a dirty nappy sat on one of the radiators, towels from the swimming pool were strewn across the changing area. But as it was a glorious sunny weekend we were barely in the hotel other than to sleep and so the Groupon deal we used to stay here worked perfectly well for us. Not sure I'd rush back though.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCarrington, General Manager at Carrington House Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank-you for your comments. We pride ourselves on being a good value family friendly hotel and i pleased that is what we provided for your stay. However i am dissapointed with the issues you encoutered in our pool and lounge areas. I have addressed your comments with my team. We look forward to welcoming you to the Carrington House again in the future.

Kind regards
Stuart Kingsley-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night during the 2013 May bank holiday. We are a family of four with two small children.
The hotel is easy enough to find and check in was pleasant. From there we had to take two seperate lifts and travel half way across the hotel to find our room. First impressions were not good: ripped wallpaper, ripped beds, a musty smell and no ventilation. Worse still, none of the lights were working.
On returning to reception I was told someone would be up shorlty and sure enough we were visited by a very helpful member of staff within five minutes. He couldn't get the lights to work either so supplied a couple of table lamps. Although this would do for one night his comments of ''I'm surprised anything works in this place'' and ''god knows who they got to do the wiring in here'' didn't help.
On a trip to the bar five minutes later we were met by five or six security staff who told as that we couldn't go any further ''without wristbands''. It turned out there was a boxing event being held the same night and presumably the hired security weren't aware that they were working in a family hotel with other paying guests. Either way, they still didn't let us pass and we had to find an alternative route through the hotel.
The reception area then turned into a scene from Gypsy Weddings as the boxing audience turned up and the subsequent music and shouting from the compare continued to boom through the two floors up to our room until midnight.
Have no fear, when the music stopped and the noise from outside finally died down you could listen to next door's toliet flush as the walls were so thin.
The best thing about this hotel was the breakfast, eat as much as you like and a fairly enjoyable experience. The staff were also pleasant. The hotel is only a 15 minute walk through gardens to the beach (Boscombe beach, not Bournemouth beach).
If we had paid full price for this one night stay (£129 apparently...) another star would be missing from above. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCarrington, General Manager at Carrington House Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank-you for your comments. I can only apologise for the less than satisfactory stay you had with us. I would like to re-assure you that this is not the norm at the Carrington House. We try very hard to meet all our guests expectations however this is not always possible. Please come and see us again the next time you are in Bournemouth and we will demonstrate your previous experience was a one off.

Kind regards
Stuart Kingsley-smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

a nice place with good services and the breakfast is lovely and only a short distance away from the beach, the rooms are nice and big and have plenty of space for luggage. it also has a nice clean bathroom but the showers only haf cold water. beds were comfy too.

Room Tip: top floors are quiet and have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCarrington, General Manager at Carrington House Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank-you for your kind words i have passed them onto my team. We look forward to welcoming you again next time you are in Bournemouth.

Kind Regards
Stuart Kingsley-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Whilst this hotel is perfectly adequate, where the 3 star rating comes from still eludes us.

The general state of decor is sadly in a bad state of disrepair. The rooms are very basic (once they can find a clean one) and the many winding corridors don't give the best first impression.
We suffered a setback on arrival,which was quickly sorted by the manager in a very professional manner. The other staff were helpful although the room cleaner still insisted on trying to enter despite the do not disturb sign clearly hung.
Overall if your looking for a budget hotel on 3 star prices then this is perfect for you.
For those who aren't there is a Travelodge just around the corner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCarrington, General Manager at Carrington House Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank-you for your comments. Our hotel is showing signs of it's age however we pride ourselves on making up for this with our service and food. I was therefore dissapointed to hear we had not managed this on this occassion. Please be assured this is not the norm at the Carrignton House and we hope you will give us another chance when you return to Bournemouth.

Kind regards
Stuart Kingsley-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We've just got back from a three night stay at this hotel and I have to say we had a great time. Yes the hotel is showing signs of wear & tear but the staff were more than helpful. The breakfast was wonderful and there was lots of it. The pool was great and each time we went, empty, which was a bonus! The room was large and had a huge superking bed (two singles) plus bunks for the kids it was also lovely and warm. Plenty of free parking at the hotel and lots of facilities nearby. Great value for money, great staff and very family friendly. We had a pizza delivery from Centro Pizza which was excellent value and hot when it arrived so for those of you who love pizza I'd recommend them. Boscombe was by far the best place to get to the beach for us although not sure how nice it would be around that area at night! We also visited the Tutankhamun exhibition in Dorchester which was fun especially the lady that runs it - get your children to do the competition though otherwise you might get round it a bit quick! Finally we visited the Bournemouth Oceanarium before we came home and it was brilliant - you can return any time all day on the day you go. All in all a great few days holiday!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCarrington, General Manager at Carrington House Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank-you for your comments. I have passed them onto my team however next time try our pizzas they are just as good as Centro!!

We look forward to welcoming you to the Carrington House again in the future.

Kind regards

Stuart Kingsley-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carrington House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrington House Hotel

Address: Knyveton Rd, Bournemouth BH1 3QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carrington House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carrington House Hotel, close to the town centre and all Bournemouth's top attractions, is situated on a quiet pine tree lined avenue on the East Cliff side of Bournemouth - perfect for a weekend break or short sightseeing trip. The hotel is close to both the railway and coach station and is only a ten-minute drive from Bournemouth Airport.There is so much to see and do in Bournemouth and its surrounding area, that you are bound to be back again and again whether it is a relaxing short break in Bournemouth that you are after, a cosmopolitan city break, or a weekend break for sight seeing and fun, Carrington House Hotel is an ideal base for all your activities.The hotel has 145 en-suite bedrooms, including 42 purpose-built family rooms plus conference and banqueting facilities for up to 700, a heated indoor swimming pool, table tennis, pool, table football and free parking for 85 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Carrington House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrington Hotel Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carrington House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.