We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing :-)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carrington House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Carrington House Hotel to your Saves list
Carrington House Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Knyveton Rd, Bournemouth BH1 3QQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

a nice place with good services and the breakfast is lovely and only a short distance away from the beach, the rooms are nice and big and have plenty of space for luggage. it also has a nice clean bathroom but the showers only haf cold water. beds were comfy too.

Room Tip: top floors are quiet and have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCarrington, General Manager at Carrington House Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank-you for your kind words i have passed them onto my team. We look forward to welcoming you again next time you are in Bournemouth.

Kind Regards
Stuart Kingsley-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    139
    167
    114
    180
See reviews for
149
189
29
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Whilst this hotel is perfectly adequate, where the 3 star rating comes from still eludes us.

The general state of decor is sadly in a bad state of disrepair. The rooms are very basic (once they can find a clean one) and the many winding corridors don't give the best first impression.
We suffered a setback on arrival,which was quickly sorted by the manager in a very professional manner. The other staff were helpful although the room cleaner still insisted on trying to enter despite the do not disturb sign clearly hung.
Overall if your looking for a budget hotel on 3 star prices then this is perfect for you.
For those who aren't there is a Travelodge just around the corner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCarrington, General Manager at Carrington House Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank-you for your comments. Our hotel is showing signs of it's age however we pride ourselves on making up for this with our service and food. I was therefore dissapointed to hear we had not managed this on this occassion. Please be assured this is not the norm at the Carrignton House and we hope you will give us another chance when you return to Bournemouth.

Kind regards
Stuart Kingsley-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We've just got back from a three night stay at this hotel and I have to say we had a great time. Yes the hotel is showing signs of wear & tear but the staff were more than helpful. The breakfast was wonderful and there was lots of it. The pool was great and each time we went, empty, which was a bonus! The room was large and had a huge superking bed (two singles) plus bunks for the kids it was also lovely and warm. Plenty of free parking at the hotel and lots of facilities nearby. Great value for money, great staff and very family friendly. We had a pizza delivery from Centro Pizza which was excellent value and hot when it arrived so for those of you who love pizza I'd recommend them. Boscombe was by far the best place to get to the beach for us although not sure how nice it would be around that area at night! We also visited the Tutankhamun exhibition in Dorchester which was fun especially the lady that runs it - get your children to do the competition though otherwise you might get round it a bit quick! Finally we visited the Bournemouth Oceanarium before we came home and it was brilliant - you can return any time all day on the day you go. All in all a great few days holiday!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCarrington, General Manager at Carrington House Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank-you for your comments. I have passed them onto my team however next time try our pizzas they are just as good as Centro!!

We look forward to welcoming you to the Carrington House again in the future.

Kind regards

Stuart Kingsley-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Cheap and cheerful Easter break late deal with a family room for four nights B&B costing less than £300. Clean room, decent breakfast, helpful staff and a reasonable pool. Some rooms are showing signs of wear but everything was clean and working. Definitely not cold despite the winter weather (in fact some people were too warm!). Bit further out of town than I expected but a 20 minute walk got us to plenty of eating places and another 10 min to anywhere else we visited. A £3.90 daily bus pass would be an alternative. Walked on the level from the train station with our bags in about 15 mins (friend paid £9 for a taxi). A noisy stag group disturbed some friends on Saturday night but the hotel reroomed them when they asked. Single room was surprisingly large but as usual no view to speak of! Would go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCarrington, General Manager at Carrington House Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank-you for your comments. We pride ourselves on being a good value family friendly hotel and i pleased that is exactly what we procided for your stay.

I have passed on your comments to my team and we look forward to welcoming you to thte Carrington House again in the future.

Kind regards
Stuart Kingsley-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel represented very good value,The room was clean with nice toiletries. We found the staff efficient and friendly. Buffet breakfast to suit most tastes.The hotel is located in a quiet area, but within walking distance for restaurants. Plenty of free parking avalible. We didnt use the pool, but it looked inviting. All in all a very pleasent one night stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCarrington, General Manager at Carrington House Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank-you for your comments. I have passed them on to my team and we look forward to welcoming you to the Carrington House agian in the future.

Kind regards
Stuart Kingsley-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was a 2-night family stay over Easter bought through Groupon. Good things: helpful, friendly staff and good breakfast. Bad things: grotty rooms, broken lift, and room key that didn't work so had to ask porter to open up door (at one point we couldn't find him either!) Room was a country mile away from reception and walls paper thin so heard neighbours children screaming all night. But worst of all my 14-year-old, who slept in one of the bunk beds, came home with head lice. Definitely from there as has not been in contact with any other kids' heads for at least 8 days and anyway children of that age tend not to get head lice. Gross! Would never, ever go back there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCarrington, General Manager at Carrington House Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank-you for your comments. I am very sorry to hear of the issues you encoutered during your stay. I can assure you this is not the norm at the Carrignton house.

I will contact you privately to discuss the issues further.

Kind regards
Stuart Kingsley-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

i have stayed here a few times and each time there has been problems.

the price you pay is a reflection on the hotel, most sites offer B&B for about £39 p/n for a double room. The hotel is very dated and needs a big revamp. Wall paper falling off the walls, threadbare carpets, the decor of the rooms would suit a 1970/80's themed hotel, creaking floors so you can hear everyone around you going up and down the corridors and walking around their rooms especially if they are above your room.

During one stay I had another guest trying to get into the room after the reception staff assigned them our room. During 2 stays I put the sign out to let the chambermaids know not to clean the room but they still knocked and tried to come in... how silly of me not to leave a sign out asking them not to disturb... oh, i did!!!

The pool is ok, clean and tidy but as it is advertised as heated i feel that 24-26c is not heated.

I only used the restaurant for breakfast which was the standard buffet options you get most places. During one stay though they ran out of sausages and bacon whic is surely standard foodstuffs for a buffet breakfast.

Some rooms are very noisy an makes me wonder about the sound proofing. We complained to the manager and got an upgrade to a room which looks like it is one that is reserved soley for one of the coach parties that reguarly use this hotel.
The hotel manager or duty manager (whatever he was suppose to be) offred a mean and abottle of wine but we could only have the meal that night which was no good as we had already made arrangements with family. We had to ask a few days later to get the bottle of wine so if the manager is that lapse it doesnt surpise me most of the rest of the staff are.

If you can find another hotel of similar price or even a little bit more i'd recommend you use them.

Room Tip: as for one away from the cleaners cupboards or try to get an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCarrington, General Manager at Carrington House Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank-you for your comments. I must apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay. I have spoken to my managment team to ensure the issues you encountered with you room are not repeated.

I can ssure you this is not the norm at the Carrington House and hope you will come and visit us again in the future.

Kind regards
Stuart Kingsley-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carrington House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrington House Hotel

Address: Knyveton Rd, Bournemouth BH1 3QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carrington House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carrington House Hotel, close to the town centre and all Bournemouth's top attractions, is situated on a quiet pine tree lined avenue on the East Cliff side of Bournemouth - perfect for a weekend break or short sightseeing trip. The hotel is close to both the railway and coach station and is only a ten-minute drive from Bournemouth Airport.There is so much to see and do in Bournemouth and its surrounding area, that you are bound to be back again and again whether it is a relaxing short break in Bournemouth that you are after, a cosmopolitan city break, or a weekend break for sight seeing and fun, Carrington House Hotel is an ideal base for all your activities.The hotel has 145 en-suite bedrooms, including 42 purpose-built family rooms plus conference and banqueting facilities for up to 700, a heated indoor swimming pool, table tennis, pool, table football and free parking for 85 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Carrington House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrington Hotel Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carrington House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.