We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carrington House Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carrington House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Carrington House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carrington House Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Knyveton Rd, Bournemouth BH1 3QQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 70 hotels in Bournemouth
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Carrington House Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Just returned from a 5 day/4 night break with David Urquhart Tours to the Carrington House Hotel on a DBB basis. The hotel is nice and clean, good food, great room (113) and excellent, friendly and helpful staff.
Really glad we went. Even the weather was good considering the time of year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    109
    119
    77
    116
See reviews for
106
126
23
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Staff very nice and helpful. The lift is very old and broke down twice while we were staying and we were only staying for 2 nights. I think that the heating and plumbing needs to be updated, the radiator could not be turned down and was full on, the pipes under the floor boards were also heating the room so it was like being in a Sauna for the whole time, I ended up feeling very unwell. The cold tap water came out warm so I could not have a shower as it was scalding.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here for one night break including dinner, bed and breakfast. The room was lovely with a huge & comfy bed. There was a large bathroom that was nicely finished.
The staff were very helpful and all had smiles on their faces. You could see that the hotel catered for disabled travellers too as where there were steps there were also ramps and a lift.
The meal was lovely with ample portions.
There is an indoor heated swimming pool and a childrens play area.
Whilst you can see that this is a hotel that caters for business functions you can also see that it suits the needs of families, couples and a business worker.

Room Tip: We stayed in 154 which was large and quiet, the view was of the neighbouring flats but it suited us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FunkyMiya
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I booked this hotel via a Groupon offer for £120 (inc. Saturday supplement). I was expecting it to be awful from the previous reviews I read but it was not as bad as expected. I arrvied and parked on the road but was informed that parking was available at the back of the room. The staff were helpful and friendly which made it easier. The room for me was a very large, plenty of room, not a WOW room but clean and spacious. The main downfall was the noise. You could hear the doors slamming in the corridors which was annoying. The walls are not exactly soundproof and I could hear a bit of noise from the other rooms but it wasn't unbearable and did not last long. I didn't go down for breakfast but as I left it was extremerly busy when I walked past. The location was not too bad. It was a 10 minute walk from the hotel to the East Cliff part of the beach and about a 20-25 minute walk to the city centre. Easy checking out. I would not pay full price for the room but would pay the price I paid via Groupon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This Hotel requires a lot of maintenance, Lifts not working, to many trip hazards Heath & Safety could have a field day, Split Chairs in Bar Lounge, Bedrooms do not smell fresh. Very Poor !!
Some of the staff very helpful but seemed to have their hands tied.

Room Tip: None !! do not go !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel whilst down in bournemouth, went with a group of friends for a football tournament. On arrival, after parking up round the back of the hotel the reception staff were very helpful and friendly, due to us all arriving at different times it could have ended badly however they coped very well, they even gave us recommendations about the best bars and clubs nearby (i say nearby, a good 25 minutes walk to the centre). The room layout was slightly confusing but once found we found the room to be quite standard, nothing special but it was clean at least. After a regular nights sleep my friends and I headed down to breakfast, it was quite good actually, good full english all you can eat, some of the food was uncovered which was slightly worrying but other than that no issues. On leaving it was easy as well, signed out no problems and left. All in all a good hotel, am unsure on what it would be like for extended stay but for the one night it was good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I booked this hotel for £120 for 2 nights on a Groupon deal. As most of the reviews were negative I wasn't expecting great things. However I was pleasantly suprised. Check-in was efficient, the room was of a decent size and clean, the bathroom was o.k. but could do with up-dating. The room was very warm but there was a fan provided. The breakfast was of a high standard, with plenty of choice.

We ate at a nearby Harvester in Boscombe on the first night, as the hotel was busy because there was a wedding on. Its about a 10-15 minute walk through Boscombe Gardens.

The second night being a sunday was much quieter and although the restaurant wasn't open there was a full menu in the Lounge. Approx £32 for two courses for 2 people.

All in all it was good value for money and I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carrington House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrington House Hotel

Address: Knyveton Rd, Bournemouth BH1 3QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 70 hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carrington House Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carrington House Hotel, close to the town centre and all Bournemouth's top attractions, is situated on a quiet pine tree lined avenue on the East Cliff side of Bournemouth - perfect for a weekend break or short sightseeing trip. The hotel is close to both the railway and coach station and is only a ten-minute drive from Bournemouth Airport.There is so much to see and do in Bournemouth and its surrounding area, that you are bound to be back again and again whether it is a relaxing short break in Bournemouth that you are after, a cosmopolitan city break, or a weekend break for sight seeing and fun, Carrington House Hotel is an ideal base for all your activities.The hotel has 145 en-suite bedrooms, including 42 purpose-built family rooms plus conference and banqueting facilities for up to 700, a heated indoor swimming pool, table tennis, pool, table football and free parking for 85 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Carrington House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrington Hotel Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carrington House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.