We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Salad Bar” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Neptune Harvester

Neptune Harvester
Undercliffe Road | Boscombe Pier, Bournemouth BH5 1BN, England
01202 399 987
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #330 of 521 restaurants in Bournemouth
Price range: $5 - $26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: At The Neptune Harvester in Boscombe food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.If you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Boscombe, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Bournemouth, Christchurch and Charminster, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Good Salad Bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Your typical harvester. Food was pretty much average. I had the chicken while not anything to rave about. I did not leave hungry which says something. Although that was pretty much due to the salad bar. If you want a quick meal for reasonable and you have a family this is good value for money. We went in October so it was not busy. I expect in the summer it could get quite busy as it is right on the beach opposite the Boscomb Pier so probably the most convenient restaurant in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

38% Recommend
    11
    37
    21
    17
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good Value for Money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Food was good when we needed a quick meal on a busy day, and good value for money. The place wasn’t crowded when we ate there, and friendly, good service from staff. Happy customer here.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“21st Birthday dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Not having visited a Harvester pub before to my knowledge, we accepted the invite reluctantly. Initially our opinion on the venue was marred by the somewhat sad seating in the public bar area, however as we had arrived early, we had a wander around and found that the rest of the restaurant was really quite well presented. The bar staff were friendly and very helpful, when we told them that we were part of a larger gathering one lady said that she would come get us from the public bar when our hosts arrived, which she did and we were soon with our friends chatting around the table reserved for the Birthday boy.

We were not in any way hurried and after sampling the salad bar which I found quite interesting in the variety on offer and quantities, we ordered our meals from an albeit standard menu.

My partner and I opted for the Lamb and when it arrived with our individual selection of vegetables and "sides" we were pleasantly surprised that it was a delicate pink and very succulent, something very rare if you pardon the punn in some restaurants.

The rest of our gathering ate and chatted at a leisurely pace until we all were finished our meal.

Altogether an experience which at first was regarded as somewhat strange but in the end turned out quite well indeed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Embarrassed to live in Bournemouth - go to Urban Reef!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I decided to treat my son and grandsons for breakfast on Saturday. We are all locals and as we had children with us I thought the Harvester would be more appropriate for the chldren than the Urban Reef further on. What a disaster. Whilst you don't expect too much from a Harvester you should expect some service and edible food.

When ordering our breakfast, I started with the milk shakes and the barman insisted on preparing all the shakes, hot chocolate etc before he would enter the meals into the till. We then had to wait 40 minutes for the food to arrive and even my grandson who is not a fussy eater, nor is he used to gourmet food refused to eat his burnt sausages and revolting looking scrambled egg.

I love living in this area and enjoy taking visitors out and about but will never subject any of them to this dreadful place and was embarassed to have suggested we meeet there. It is in such a prime location I cannot understand how the Harvester chain can allow it to be such a poor example of their brand. For goodness sake walk a few more steps and go to Urban Reef.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“minimal prawns”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Thought we might be safe just ordering prawn cocktails - mostly lettuce leafs. Should have come with brown bread, instead poppie seed bread. OK, for those people who like poppie seeds.

The whole place is in need of refurbishment and a good clean!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neptune Harvester also viewed

 
Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Neptune Harvester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neptune Harvester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.