We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Westcliff Hotel

Save Saved
You added New Westcliff Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Westcliff Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 - 29 Chine Crescent | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5LB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 70 hotels in Bournemouth
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had a fantastic night at the hotel the staff were wonderful and the food was fantastic, we would certainly go there again when we go to Bournemouth.For the price we paid we thought it was very good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank You for your review on staying at the New Westcliff Hotel.We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here.Since your last visit we have made even more Improvements to the Hotel so customers can relax & enjoy its clean & comfortble surroundings.
On behalf of the Management & Staff we would like to wish you a Merry Christmas & a Happy,Healthy prosperous New Year.We hope to see you again on your next visit over to Bournemouth so you can see for yourself on how Bang On we are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    62
    33
    22
    20
See reviews for
28
107
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The food was great, the staff bent over backwards to be helpful and yes some of the rooms and reception areas are in need of redecoration....but the areas which have been refurbished are bang on. We hope that they can continue to improve .

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your review regarding your visit,we are pleased you thought the Hotel was good value for money and enjoyed the service, meals and the facilities .We have made even more Improvements to the Hotel since your last sleepover and we hope that we will get the chance to show you around on your next visit to Bournemouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there a couple of times now and have to agree with some previous comments good and bad.
The staff are friendly and the restaurant is efficient with good food.
Portions are small, especially the tiny breakfast.
The rooms I have stayed in are too small for the furniture or vice versa. In the rooms I've had a double bed, bedside cabinet, desk, chair and wardrobe all shoe-horned in with no space to walk round them.
The wi-fi is a bit hit & miss.
Old portable TVs have been replaced with small flat screen TVs but you can't see them unless you're standing up as they are perched on the old style bracket which blocks the screen when you're viewing from anywhere but the back of the room.
The bathrooms are tiny and it is best to leave the shower running whilst you clean your teeth or something before climbing in.
I have heard the cabaret echoing around the car park every night in all the rooms I've used.
I stayed in one room for a week and on arrival found an empty Haribo bag under the window behind a bedside table. It was still there when I left.
There's a guy with crazy hair works in there and I still can't decide if he's ok or if he's really irritating, clueless and rude.
The downstairs gents toilets (next to reception) are the finest part of the hotel and quite possibly the best in Bournemouth.
I think the hotel is quite average over all, in a good location but given the cost of the restaurant on top, probably a little overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at New Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for your 3 star reviews. I am glad you have enjoyed your stay and your comments have been passed on to the staff and head chef. I noted your comments about the TV's but you will be pleased to know that once the rooms are being decorated and televisions are being fixed on the walls and a complete make up to bring it into line like our new public toilets by reception which you have approved so hopefully our new rooms will be to your satisfaction. The refurbishment is a working progress as we would like for it all to be of high quality as you have noted from the present work carried out so please bear with us till all it’s done as it’s a two year project.

We do offer FREE Wi-Fi in the reception public areas and depending which room you are in you are also able to get it in your rooms but this is not guaranteed.

Sorry that you felt the Breakfast was small given that we have a choice of cereals as well as a full English breakfast however in future is you require any additional please do not hesitate to ask where the chef will be willing to help.

Thank you once again for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ampthill
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Great Party for 40 people with Great food and fantastic staff everyone served quickly and seamlessly with no delays, well done to Head Chef Alistair and Eddie in the Restaurant. Stayed in Branch suite top quality well on the way to 4/5 stars standards which is the model for the rest of the hotel. Thanks to Annie Shepherd the Entertainer she made the night perfect for my partners 70th Thanks to everyone. Breakfast was just right plenty of choice for everyone.

Room Tip: Try the Branch suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our room was rather tired, with a tiny shower room (no room for cat, let alone swinging one). Within these limitations the hotel staff were friendly, helpful, and the restaurant was excellent, with wholesome food, well-prepared. The owners are clearly trying hard to update, as and when they can, but vey difficult in these older buildings

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were dingy and pokey. Bathroom you couldn't swing a cat in. Shower mechanism so stiff had to get my husband to work it. Sarcastic and patronising receptionist cum barman (called me love which l hate). Whole place needs redecorating. Room was directly opposite ballroom where noisy cabaret was going on. Wifi connection free but rubbish. Breakfast disappointing but restaurant staff were nice.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Paid £138 to stay at The New Westcliff Hotel for one night (family of 3)......completely over-priced and a waste of money....old room on top floor with tiny bathroom. Toilet broken.....sarcastic receptionist 'fixed it' whilst we were out and on our return explained (in his words) that he had done a 'botched job' and if there was any problems during the night to "take the lid off the back of the toilet cistern and lift the ball-cock valve manually" !!!! I explained we had paid £138 to stay in the room, therefore shouldn't be carrying out plumbing in the middle of the night....he said there was no night porter and, in an extremely rude and sarcastic manner, said "well if you want me to come and fix it at 3am, I won't be at work tomorrow" - implying that our only option was to make do............Throughout the night, there was drunken shouting and screaming outside until the early hours of the morning; the room was musty and old; there was no fire safety/exit routes instructions in the room (we were on the top floor of an old building!!)........The breakfast was disgusting - one piece of bacon, one sausage and sloppy scrambled egg which resembled yellow porridge.........For £138 per night, we were thoroughly disappointed and will not be returning!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Westcliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Westcliff Hotel

Address: 27 - 29 Chine Crescent | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — New Westcliff Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful Victorian building is quietly situated in over an acre of grounds and gardens, yet within easy walking distance of all local attractions. Rated as the highest 2* AA hotel in Dorset, the New Westcliff Hotel has 53 en-suite bedrooms all of which have been beautifully refurbished to include colour televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, direct dial telephones, trouser presses, irons and hairdryers. Lift serves all floors. The hotel is open all year, not only to be enjoyed in those warm and hazy days of the summer. With our wonderful, much-envied facilities, we also make the ideal winter retreat for the weekend or mid-week break away. Our aim is to provide comfort in a tasteful yet relaxed environment. Our guests say it is our friendly atmosphere and sense of fun that brings them time after time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your New Westcliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Westcliff Bournemouth
Hotel New Westcliff
Bournemouth Hotel New Westcliff
Bournemouth Hotel Westcliff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Westcliff Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.