We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude receptionist - lacked any sense of manners or customer service.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of New Westcliff Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added New Westcliff Hotel to your Saves list
New Westcliff Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 - 29 Chine Crescent | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5LB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now FREE Upgrade !
Ranked #26 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Rude receptionist - lacked any sense of manners or customer service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Went to check-out and settle our bill, got to reception and there was a queue a mile long with other guests luggage everywhere. Decided to go and put our luggage in the car, and have a cigarette while the queue went down. Got half way to the car when the extremely rude elderly receptionist started screaming at us from the front door to get back inside and pay our bill. Told him to wind his neck in and that we were putting our luggage in the car. It's funny that none of the older guests that had the same idea as us were ordered back inside. I also reminded him that my credit card was on file (I'd already paid a 75% deposit for the room) so even if I'd left without paying he had my details. Rude old man that could probably do with being put out to pasture.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    71
    42
    26
    25
See reviews for
40
134
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Met by pleasant staff at reception on arrival.
The room was very clean and airy with a nice big window facing the spacious car park at the front.
The waiters in the dining room were very polite and efficient, the food was exceptional with such a varied choice that we had a job to decide what to choose.
As well as the wide selection of food, the standard of cooking was excellent too.
The price was very good value for the standard that was offered for such a hotel.
It was noticeable that the hotel was being re-furbished, but unless someone is capable of doing such a mammoth task overnight, such things that had not been done were noticeable but acceptable.
We certainly were made welcome, we enjoyed the swimming pool, sauna, jaccuzi, entertainment in the evening and the cinema and will definitely be using that hotel again.

Room Tip: I would recommend the little extra money to acquire a 'Superior' room and preferably facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were put in room 11 you couldn't move in the bathroom. There was a hole in the door, the glasses were dirty. Breakfast was horrible with the worst tasting bacon. The staff on reception were limited to one and you had to wait for the bar, as they were based in the reception/office. It was old fashioned in the decor. If they didn't have the leisure facilities then they couldn't charge these prices. Very disappointing, would never stay here again!! Also the free WiFi they advertise does not exist.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford Kent
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We love this hotel having stayed many times over the last twenty years or so, there are so many positives, the public rooms are fine, the staff are great, the food is good and the facilities are excellent, bowling green, cinema, swimming pool and good entertainment (especially Rob Roberts).

It is therefore with a heavy heart that having stayed with friends over the air show weekend, we have to say that the room standards are no longer acceptable.

We had two "Superior rooms" in the Durley Chine part of the hotel, both rooms were shabby and more importantly grubby and not cleaned to an acceptable standard.

The owner Paul Hedges is such a lovely man and has a great vision for the hotel, he deserves success and we would love to return but only once the rooms have been refurbished to an acceptable standard and the housekeeping issues resolved.

I really hope this review is viewed in the constructive way that it is intended.

Meanwhile if you stay try to get a room in the original part of the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in the original part seem better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelmsford essex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Clean rooms good service good food close to beach so no expensive parking bus stop nearby so is the town centre indoor pool and small cinema very good value ,staff give good welcome ample parking ,been many times before will go again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Staff are polite and helpful.The room was clean but the decor was a little tired.Could use freshening up.The only real gripe was the lack of water pressure in the morning but hey everybody was using it so is somewhat understandable.Just needs looking at.The pool.jacuzzi and sauna are excellent.Very handy for beach and shops.Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I recently stayed at the New Westcliff for a period in excess of a week and during this time met with the owner Paul who with his dedicated team, made me feel extremely welcome throughout my stay. For a 2 star hotel, the rooms were clean, tidy and very comfortable. I had full use of the facilities including the swimming pool/spa area, which considering, I was very impressed by. The toilets had recently been refurbished to an extremely modern and very high standard, and my understanding is that this will extend throughout the hotel. The owner, Paul, took the time to explain to me his vision for the hotel and demonstrated with passion the refurbishment program. Also, I must add that the quality of the food was very good. There are not many places that you can go where you can enjoy really good food, be made to feel very welcome, enjoy the pool and facilities and be comfortable. Just excellent value for money! Will, I go back? Definitely! Why? Because I am made to feel like a person and not just a room number.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Westcliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Westcliff Hotel

Address: 27 - 29 Chine Crescent | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5LB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — New Westcliff Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful Victorian building is quietly situated in over an acre of grounds and gardens, yet within easy walking distance of all local attractions. New Westcliff Hotel has 53 en-suite bedrooms all of which have been beautifully refurbished to include colour televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, direct dial telephones, trouser presses, irons and hairdryers. Lift serves all floors. The hotel is open all year, not only to be enjoyed in those warm and hazy days of the summer. With our wonderful, much-envied facilities, we also make the ideal winter retreat for the weekend or mid-week break away. Our aim is to provide comfort in a tasteful yet relaxed environment. Our guests say it is our friendly atmosphere and sense of fun that brings them time after time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your New Westcliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Westcliff Bournemouth
Hotel New Westcliff
Bournemouth Hotel New Westcliff
Bournemouth Hotel Westcliff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Westcliff Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.