We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food matched by excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Westcliff Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added New Westcliff Hotel to your Saves list
New Westcliff Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 - 29 Chine Crescent | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5LB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
___NYE 3 night £275pp___
Ranked #25 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Redruth
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food matched by excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

This was our first visit to the New Westcliff, and we were thoroughly delighted with the rooms, the friendly staff, the facilities (warm pool) and the fantastic food. The staff were particularly helpful and polite. We will certainly stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    65
    38
    23
    22
See reviews for
31
123
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We have recently stayed at the New Westcliff Hotel and i can only state how things seem to have changed for the best. We stayed here in October and was a little concerned over a few of the comments on Tripadvisor. However it seems to have been bought from the Administrators and the difference is remarkable. All the leisure facilities are now open and very clean. The room we were in was beautifully decorated with modern facilities. The staff were fantastic and couldnt do enough for us.
However the food...wow...Every meal we had was outstanding hot, very well presented and very efficient staff serving. I too have stayed in much more expensive hotels with many more stars above the door but i can honestly say the food, facilities and hotel seems to be much higher standard than other places i have stayed in and paid considerably more!!
Congratulations to the new purchaser for a remarkable turnaround. We will definately be back with more of us.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We really enjoyed a very nice long weekend stay at New Westcliffe Hotel in Bournemouth. The evening meals, served from a varied menu, by friendly and efficient staff, during my recent stay, were of a very high standard. The food was far better than that served during a recent stay in a four star hotel in Bradford. The room (No 17) was OK once we had rearranged the furniture. Roy and Jacqui from Norwich

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Have just returned from a weekend in Bournemouth staying in the New Westcliff Hotel which is now out of administration and under new management.

Having read a few of the previous comments on trip advisor was nervous.

On arrival in the reception was greeted by a smartly dressed man who informed us of all the necessary details for our stay which included meal times in the dining room, the entertainment, directions to various rooms and the usual instructions. We went up to our room which was on the first floor - room 19 which was nicely furnished with attractive bedcover and curtains with tie backs. Bed was quite firm which was good, unfortunately had plastic cover on the bed which made you very hot and sticky, but then I suppose thats the norm. The ensuite was very small which consisted of shower, loo and a very small hand washing sink! Oh well what can you expect from a converted old house.

The whole of the hotel was spotlessly clean and nicely decorated.

The breakfasts and evening meals were very good, nice selection and very good presentation. Staff were extremely polite and very efficient.

On our first night we didn't take advantage of the entertainment but we did on our second night which was very good and took place in the ballroom. Drinks were very reasonable (in fact cheaper than our local British Legion).

Other than the small bathroom we could not find fault.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Malden United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We were greeted in a friendly way.
We were given a room in the basement which was described as a superior twin. This was a dim room in the basement described otherwise as a family room with a small double bed and a single bed. The single bed was broken - there were no bedside lights, one light above the dressing table was broken. The matress covers were made of plastic making sleeping very hot one minute and cold the next. The entertainments was extremely audible in our room. The spa amenities were not available due to rain damage. The breakfast was adequate and staff pleasant. A disappointing stay and we cancelled our second night. We received a full refund for the second night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We were a family party of 10, with ages ranging from 6 months to 75 and stayed for 5 nights. As requested we were given 5 rooms altogether and the staff couldn't do enough to help. The food was plentiful and the service good - the only real bug-bear is that none of us found the beds to be comfortable and the rooms were stuffy at night. I fell in love with the Edwardian staircase and huge mirror on the first landing, and found the whole hotel to be in a much better state of decoration than other reviews had led me to believe. Although the pool wasn't in use due to the hotel being under administration, we were told we could use the Durley Grange's leisure facilities and if we kept the receipts the cost would be deducted from our final bill on departure - you can't say fairer than that. There was entertainment in the hotel every night, as well as a film shown in the mini-cinema each evening from 7:30. If so required, dvd's could also be borrowed to watch in your own room. The all weather bowling lawn could have been done with being swept of fallen leaves, but that didn't stop us having a good laugh playing as we are all rank amateurs anyway. All in all, the New Westcliff provided us with a good base from which to have our holiday and we'd all definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Give full details of your needs when booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

we have been irregular customers of this hotel for at least 10 years due to my disability and the travelling from Scotland, and it is about time i gave my families recommendations it has always been a pleasure to get there, even at ten o'clock at night on one visit, and find a relaxing atmosphere and comfortable rooms within a short walk from the cliff, the shopping and access to the Wessex way for touring to a mass of local places to visit and of course the Bournemouth theatre with the long clean beach and Park scenes and attractions. I wish I could come more often.

Room Tip: Our favourite room was right next to the cinema and the entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Westcliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Westcliff Hotel

Address: 27 - 29 Chine Crescent | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5LB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — New Westcliff Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful Victorian building is quietly situated in over an acre of grounds and gardens, yet within easy walking distance of all local attractions. New Westcliff Hotel has 53 en-suite bedrooms all of which have been beautifully refurbished to include colour televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, direct dial telephones, trouser presses, irons and hairdryers. Lift serves all floors. The hotel is open all year, not only to be enjoyed in those warm and hazy days of the summer. With our wonderful, much-envied facilities, we also make the ideal winter retreat for the weekend or mid-week break away. Our aim is to provide comfort in a tasteful yet relaxed environment. Our guests say it is our friendly atmosphere and sense of fun that brings them time after time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your New Westcliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Westcliff Bournemouth
Hotel New Westcliff
Bournemouth Hotel New Westcliff
Bournemouth Hotel Westcliff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Westcliff Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.