We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Norfolk Royale Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Norfolk Royale Hotel to your Saves list
Norfolk Royale Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Richmond Hill, Bournemouth BH2 6EN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Stayed for a night and was very pleased with the room. Stayed in a family room for four, which had a lovely queen sized bed and two foldaways. There was tea, coffee and hot chocolate provided in the room, just what we needed after long day out. Ensuite shower and bath was lovely and clean with plenty of complimentary toiletries. Staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful. Location is perfect as it's just 5 minute walk from the town centre and the beach...which can be reached via a nice stroll through the park.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    250
    138
    61
    39
See reviews for
149
295
17
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Arrived at the hotel with a friendly welcome, although parking is not inclusive of my room rate, considering of what the hotel costs it should be included to make you feel more looked after? We went up to our room after parking and was pleasantly surprised with big Telly and soft white bed sheets. Decided to explore Bournemouth and eat out as the restaurant as it looked rather sparse and lacking personality. Had a lovely nights sleep decided to have a shower which was extremely hot! Called down to reception and a member of staff come to look at it, and was extremely hot when I left... Really needs looking at. Of course I don't want a cold shower but I don't want to scald my skin whilst showering. The towls stank of vinegar which I felt was odd... I know that's how you keep them white but still wash them after? Breakfast was nice although a served breakfasts would be nicer as it would show that bit more quality more than pigs at a trough. Something like scrambled eggs and salmon or eggs Benedict would be top notch! Although the coffee was lovely. We would stay again as hotel is convenient although needs more personality and a better breakfast offering.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor and overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Did not have a great start as our pre booked car parking space did not materialise and as my wife is disabled that was a major problem especially as it took some sorting out.
A better description for the hotel would be good rather than the very good, the room was nice but very noisy. The reception areas is decent as is the indoor swimming pool though rather on the small side.
Breakfast was very nice as was the evening meal that we partook of on one evening, very well presented and appetising.
The only issue that would prevent us staying here again is the location situated as it is on a hill albeit in the centre of the town and close to the pier, etc.

Room Tip: Side view rooms do not have a good view and are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I married my handsome husband at this beautiful hotel on 18th July. I can't express how amazing our day was.

Nikki was an absolute pleasure to work with. She made sure everything was exactly how we wanted it. She made us feel more excited about the day as she was so excited for us. We were on a budget and Nikki was on hand to give us advice and her opinion on how to get what we wanted whilst remaining inside our budget. We wanted a simple, relaxed and fun wedding and that's exactly how it turned out, thanks to Nikki's planning and all the staff who helped. This includes James who looked after our party in the late afternoon/evening. He could not have been more accommodating, even making sure our gluten free guest (who had been forgotten by us) had something to eat in the evening as we only served pasties.

I highly recommend this hotel as a wedding venue, everything was absolutely perfect-from the very beginning of planning to the wedding itself. We can't thank Nikki and all the staff at the Norfolk Royale for making our wedding so special and everything we had dreamed of.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We are not really quite sure what has gone wrong here, after staying here for long weekends for countless years and enjoying our stay we noticed this visit a sharp dip in the quality of service received at this hotel. Firstly the room that we were allocated must have the lowest sleep quality in the whole hotel, located next to a fire door leading to a stairwell taking you up to the first floor. the fire door which we accept has to close tight in order to be effective, slammed shut noisily which sounded like a gun going off in the early hours of every morning. we spoke to the manager regarding this on the first morning and was told it would be looked into. the following two nights were just as bad. then we come to the restaurant, Fawlty Towers at its best. Shambolic order taking resulted in random dishes arriving at the table, the young lady taking the orders was not listening and it showed this resulted in some of us having food delivered to the table and others not, thus we sat patiently and politely waiting until all had their meals before starting. Lack of condiments on the table, wine glasses, butter etc etc etc, two people in that restaurant seemed to care and have a clue what customer service means and they are A waiter called Jose and a waitress called Irene, they were embarrassed by the holdups and mistakes and apologised for them, the ones responsible hid away and left them to it. they are not the ones in charge and so should not have been left to take the flack for the shoddy work of others. disappointing in what seems to be a massive slide in standards. There are other good Hotels in the area that will snatch the business away, but at the moment the Norfolk does not seem to appreciate this or care enough? As we were leaving after writing a checkout comments letter, a maintenance man was seen looking at the fire door. . . .72 hours too late.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

We would like to record our sincere thanks to the friendly and courteous staff during our 8 day stay at this lovely hotel. Please pass on our thanks, especially to the restaurant and housekeeping staff. This was our 4th stay here and we would definitely like to come again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Dilwy

Thank you so much for your positive feedback on the staff and facilities here at the Norfolk Hotel. We're really pleased you enjoyed your 4th stay and your kind comments have been shared with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With kind regards
Rachel Painter-Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My auntie and her support worker have just stayed in the norfolk have been various times before. The room was very comfortable the food was fantastic well done the kitchen team nothing was to much trouble .!!.....we are planning our next trip back in December thank you to all the staff at the Norfolk especially jennifer the housekeeper a great ambassador for the hotel give it a go and John the duty manager....see you again spin

Room Tip: Room 9 great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Morag H

Thank you for your very positive feedback. We're pleased your Auntie and her support worker had a great stay with us. We're delighted they found the food fantastic and that nothing was too much trouble.

Your kind comments have been passed onto the team, particularly Jennifer and John.

We look forward to welcoming you all back soon.

Kind regards
Rachel Painter-Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Norfolk Royale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Royale Hotel

Address: Richmond Hill, Bournemouth BH2 6EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Norfolk Royale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bournemouth's premier AA four-star hotel, The Norfolk is Ideally positioned within a short stroll of the resort's major attractions - including its award winning gardens and golden sand Blue Flag beaches.Originally converted from two imposing Edwardian villas, The Norfolk Hotel today boasts 95 spacious and thoughtfully-equipped en suite guestrooms. The Norfolk Hotel's lounge and bar provide the ideal setting to relax and enjoy morning coffee, a new and innovative range of afternoon teas, or evening cocktails.Recently-introduced Friday Fizz events invite guests and non-residents alike to celebrate the start of the weekend with sparkling wines and Champagnes at half price between 4pm and 8pm.The lounge opens on to The Norfolk Hotel's impressive Art Deco verandah which, along with the hotel's secluded gardens alow visitors to eat, drink and be merry al fresco The gardens are also the Venue for The Norfolk Hotel's summer barbecue season which runs from May through September. From noon to 9pm, guests can lunch or dine in the summer sun or when the weather refuses to co-operate move into Echoes, the hotel's fine-sining restaurant. Guest facilites also include a glass-roofed heated indoor pool, whirlpool, steam room and sauna, while the Orchid Rooms Beauty Salon offers a wide range of beauty, holistic and clinical therapy treatments in a quiet and relaxed environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Norfolk Royale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Hotel Bournemouth
Hotel Norfolk Royale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norfolk Royale Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.