We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ìfantastic , friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Norfolk Royale Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Norfolk Royale Hotel to your Saves list
Norfolk Royale Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Richmond Hill, Bournemouth BH2 6EN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
bournemouth
1 review
“Ìfantastic , friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed over night when our comitee attended a rock and roast night the weather was horrendous so it could not be held outside but the staff made the night most enjoyable with the the way they handled the situation obviously plan B it was a fantastc night and the following morning the breakfast was one of the best i have ever had in a hotel the general manager and the staff needs to be congratulated and lizzie i think that was here name ..needs a special mention on the way she engaged with the guests .

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    223
    126
    58
    38
See reviews for
141
252
15
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

It has become a bit of a tradition to come to Bournemouth's Christmas Market and experience what Bournemouth has to offer durning the festive season. Amazing as always especially with this years additions of the Light pods and ice rink. The Norfolk royal hotel always looks amazing at Christmas and adds that extra special touch to make it a truly magical stay. When we re-booked we always request our same rooms as they are on the ground floor and are newly refurbished. When checking in we was given different rooms. We did view the other rooms but decided that we liked the rooms we had before. The manager corrected this straight away with no problems. Fantastic service from all the staff the whole length of our stay as always. The only downside was the breakfast was moved into a lot smaller room as the larger function room was being decorated. I completely understand that it is necessary but it was cramped and a lot of waiting around. Also it was not a buffet/self service style breakfast but a table service. This took the leisurely breakfast away we thought. Oh well hopefully this was a one off and it will be back in the large function room on our return in December!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I used to stay at this hotel when we were child and loved it but I will never stay at this hotel again after my most recent visit. Not because I had an unpleasant stay (although the breakfast was terrible) but because I had an item stolen from me.
I left a dress in the wardrobe by mistake along with a couple of other items after I checked out, everything was returned to me except the dress which they have no record of finding. The Norfolk Hotel assured me that they were taking this incident seriously but after almost two months of chasing the manager for an explanation and a resolution I have finally gone to the police.

Now for my review... This hotel is distinctly average and old fashioned although they appeared to be refurbishing it whilst I was staying there. There is wifi available in a few rooms so if you want a room with wifi it's best to request one when you make your booking. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable with room service available 24 hours a day but it's pretty inedible.
The breakfast was very poor and the service was terrible, most days we didn't even get a table and had to eat elsewhere, although again this could be due to the refurbishment which they should have mentioned to us when we booked.
The pool is nice and warm and the jacuzzi redeem the hotel for me slightly but all in all, if you just want somewhere to lay your head in a good location then it's fine. Just make sure you don't leave anything in the wardrobes...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Last minute stay on new yeas eve, so prices were expectedly higher than normal, but even so this place is not great value for money at £191 per night. Location is great as its very close to the beach and shops, however i dont think they should get away with charging £13 for parkig your car. we stayed in the deluxe room which have been refurbished more recently, it was a nice room, spacious, but the basics were missing - no wifi, really limited selection of tea/coffee in the room etc. the hotel itself is extremely dated and just looks old and a little shabby, large parts of it are in need of an upgrade. Staff were relatively friendly, breakfast is ok, overall it's ok but I wouldn't choose to stay there again.Small pool but I didn't use it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stayed for a business meeting. Check in was swift and room very good. Clean, spacious and a firm bed. Only 2 things let it down. Clueless Barman and a lukewarm cooked breakfast. Otherwise, a very nice to stay in Bournemouth

Room Tip: 121 was very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Booked an overnight stay in November for a special occaision. Booked a suite rather than a normal room, the upgrade was worth every penny. The room was reall, really good. Big jacuzzi bath with a flat screen TV in the wall, lovely decor and huge bed. Would reccomend this to everyone. Didnt use the pool etc, but all seemed ok, but looked like it could do with modernising. Excellent location and parking on site. Breakfast ok, neither good nor bad. All staff were very helpful, warm and friendly. Will defintely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Booked in nice a and easy. A good room with tea and coffee. Nice bed very comfortable. We all used the pool and hot tub. Both were good. This is nice looking hotel and the staff very helpful. Breakfast in the morning was OK, nothing special, we had to ask several times for coffee and toast. The cooked breakfast could have been better. Overall not a bad hotel for location and comfort. Parking is not included and at £13 is a little expensive.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Norfolk Royale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Royale Hotel

Address: Richmond Hill, Bournemouth BH2 6EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Norfolk Royale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bournemouth's premier AA four-star hotel, The Norfolk is Ideally positioned within a short stroll of the resort's major attractions - including its award winning gardens and golden sand Blue Flag beaches.Originally converted from two imposing Edwardian villas, The Norfolk Hotel today boasts 95 spacious and thoughtfully-equipped en suite guestrooms. The Norfolk Hotel's lounge and bar provide the ideal setting to relax and enjoy morning coffee, a new and innovative range of afternoon teas, or evening cocktails.Recently-introduced Friday Fizz events invite guests and non-residents alike to celebrate the start of the weekend with sparkling wines and Champagnes at half price between 4pm and 8pm.The lounge opens on to The Norfolk Hotel's impressive Art Deco verandah which, along with the hotel's secluded gardens alow visitors to eat, drink and be merry al fresco The gardens are also the Venue for The Norfolk Hotel's summer barbecue season which runs from May through September. From noon to 9pm, guests can lunch or dine in the summer sun or when the weather refuses to co-operate move into Echoes, the hotel's fine-sining restaurant. Guest facilites also include a glass-roofed heated indoor pool, whirlpool, steam room and sauna, while the Orchid Rooms Beauty Salon offers a wide range of beauty, holistic and clinical therapy treatments in a quiet and relaxed environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Norfolk Royale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Hotel Bournemouth
Hotel Norfolk Royale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norfolk Royale Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.