We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and relaxed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Kent
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely and relaxed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My husband and I, decided we needed a break and found this hotel online. The room itself was not the best room in the world and the view was not nice at all. However it was clean and quite large but not one they have in their photo lineup. The staff were very friendly and nothing was to much for them. My husband wanted a drink they did not have but they went and found a bottle from another hotel which I thought was the ultimate customer service. We eat in the restaurant twice and was not disappointed witht the food, the service or the wine list. The location is spot on right in the middle between Boscombe and Bournemouth beaches and about a 15 minute walk to the town centre where there is an abundance of shops. All in all a wonderful relaxed stay and I would go back but next time I would book a sea view room as I think for the price I paid that should have been included. Bed was very comfy.

Room Tip: Book a sea view and not a room at the back of the hotel unless you want to oversea the fire escapes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    128
    85
    35
    21
See reviews for
61
202
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We have not stayed at the Cottonwood but have eaten there on a number of occasions. Most recently in the wonderful sunny weather we have dined on the balcony with great views of the sea. The menu is good, with specials of the day and a good selection of other dishes available.

Over the last few visits we have had the tuna nicoise salad with the tuna cooked to perfection, the home made burger, liver and bacon and venison sausages all of which are very good indeed. Lighter bites include Eggs Benedict and fish finger sandwich.

Deserts are good with an excellent pineapple carpaccio.

There is live music on Fridays and Saturdays.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We had a week at this lovely hotel from 13th July and loved it. The room was perfectly adequate as were the facilities and the staff very friendly.

The food in the restaurant is lovely and the terrace is a relaxing place to sit and take in the beautiful views.

Our stay was helped by the glorious weather but all in all we would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Sea view room is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Nicely situated just next to the beautiful Beach of Bournemouth this hotel is a good choise if you want great views and easy access to the main attraction of the area. The room was old and the bathroom even older, but it was clean! The interieur of the hotel was apparently recently updated but made totally tasteless with Strange colors and choice of furnitures. We had a light evening meal which was okay. Breakfast limited but okay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed at the Cottonwood Boutique hotel purely for the views and the quieter location it offers.
I would agree that the hotel is probably trying hard to boutique itself but shocking pink is more kitsch than boutique..... Style is more Dubai chic than boutique!!
Fantastic food, small but well chosen wine list and superb panoramic views helped complete an enjoyable stay... Aided by some remarkable weather!!
We recommend the hotel to others looking for well priced, accommodation in a quieter location just a short walk from the town centre.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

The decor didn't live up to expectation, more kitsch than boutique. The only attempt to make our sea view bedroom 'boutique' was a Perspex chair and matching bed throws. Having said that it was a large room and spotlessly clean. The staff were friendly and helpful although they did attempt to clean our rooms before 9am each day. Not being particularly early rises this wasn't appreciated. The breakfast was good and it was great to have the use of pool and sun loungers at the sister hotel next door which we took full advantage of. Overall it was OK but they should market themselves more realistically.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

What a lovely find. Great location, good parking, very friendly and lovely staff, nice breakfast, comfy bed, pleasant surroundings, all in all they have got it right. We stayed for one night, but wished we had gone for two. We could have done with a bit more tea/coffee sachets, but I'm sure if we'd asked they would have obliged. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel

Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With magnificent panoramic views across the bay, the chic and recently refurbished Cottonwood Boutique Hotel has a superb cliff-top location. It offers a sun terrace, and an on-site restaurant serving locally sourced fresh ingredients. Free parking is available on site and free Wi-Fi is available throughout. The boutique hotel has 28 stylish rooms with tea/coffee making facilities, a TV and a hairdryer. Many rooms overlook the bay, and all have a private modern bathroom. The stylish Bar Vista, with its sunny terrace and garden, provides contemporary brasserie food all day. The Garden Restaurant offers refined and elegant dining using local, fresh ingredients from one of Dorset's leading chefs. Guests can enjoy a range of beauty treatments in the on site beauty parlour Beauty Essence, as well as live entertainment in the Bar Vista. The Cottonwood Boutique is located a 15-minute walk from the centre of Bournemouth ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Minotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.