We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exclusive use wedding October 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exclusive use wedding October 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

After an extensive search for the perfect hotel to have our wedding reception in we came across the Cottonwood hotel and fell in love with it instantly. We chose to go for the exclusive use option so that all of our friends could stay and share our special time right through to the next day. The wedding coordinator was very efficient and put us at ease throughout the whole process. We would like to say a special thank you to Manager Garry and Chef Gary for pulling out all of the stops for us. We were thoroughly impressed with the service that we received and for their flexibility and recommendations.
The wedding breakfast three course meal was absolutely fantastic, Gary the chef and his team are absolutely top class. We had so much positive feedback after the meal, i dont think that they will forget it for quite some time! Many of the guests said that it was truly the best wedding they had ever been to. We cant recommend this hotel to have your wedding ceremony/reception in highly enough, you will be well taken care of by all of the staff. Thank you to all of you for making our wedding so special.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hi Jodie
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your exclusive use wedding at the Cottonwood in October. I'm so pleased that we were able to make your dream wedding come true and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in 2014 for your anniversary dinner!
Wishing you a wonderful Christmas and New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    140
    90
    35
    23
See reviews for
66
220
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

These friendly people made my husband (and my occasional visits) stay during his transfer to a new job very pleasant. During an emotional uncertain time, they went out of their way when he books at last minute (nature of his job) to give him the room of his choice, making him feel like he is returning home every time he checks in. Thank you! BIG value for MONEY!

Room Tip: Big open bay windows to see the ocean. Some mattresses bit soft but nothing that could put you off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Wanda
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor, I'm delighted that you have enjoyed your stays with us over the coming months. I do hope that we will continue to welcome you to the Cottonwood in 2014 and would like to wish you a very happy Christmas and new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We booked The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel as a mutually convenient location to meet up with some friends that we haven’t seen for a while. Our friends arrived late on Friday night but as we couldn’t get away until the Saturday morning arranged to meet up with them at midday saturday. The weekend weather was very cold.

We arrived at The Hotel at 12.00noon and tried to check in; we were told that our room wouldn’t be ready until “check-in time” which is 2.00pm, fair enough.

We returned to reception at about 2.30pm checked in, and were directed to our room which was at the rear of the hotel, across the car park and in a two storey annex over a former garage building. The room was very large with a double and two single beds and had a view overlooking the car park and road to the rear. The décor was quite shabby and the en suite bathroom was ancient and dilapidated. Prior to checking in I overheard a staff member telling a colleague that that heating was now off and wouldn’t come on again until 4.00pm so the coldness of the room didn’t bother me.

During checking in we were advised to book a table in the restaurant if we wanted to eat in the hotel, after consulting with our friends we decided to book a table but were told that as the restaurant had many prior bookings our table could not be assured. After some deliberation a staff member came to us to advise that a table would be available for 7.30.

We returned to our room at 6.00 to freshen up prior to eating and found our room to be freezing cold, It had only one very small radiator that was luke warm, I called reception to report our disappointment and asked for some supplementary heating and was told that they would see if something could be found. After about half an house someone arrived with a fan heater and the offer of a warmer room in the adjoining Ocean View Hotel, We declined the offer as we were staying at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel to be with our friends and had unpacked and didn’t want the disruption of relocating.

The restaurant was very quiet so the inquest over whether we could be accommodated is a mystery. Some of the meal was cold when first served but having put this right the meal was quite nice. Although the menu is limited and the daily special didn’t quite turn out as described. The service was indifferent and we had to remind the waiter that we waiting for his attention on several occasions.

On returning to our room it was still very cold despite using the fan heater. We used the duvets from the unused beds as extra covers for our double bed and this kept us warn during the night.

Breakfast was a buffet arrangement and was very good.

We won’t be returning to the Cottonwood Boutique Hotel. The reception and bar staff were excellent, the restaurant staff mediocre, but the hotel bedroom that we had and in particular the en suite bathroom was long overdue for a serious makeover and heating upgrade.

Room Tip: If you chose to stay here be sure to ask for a warm room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We have just stayed at this hotel, what a wonderful experience. Lovely, helpful and friendly staff. Room was spotless and we had a wonderful nights sleep. Food in the restaurant was excellent, especially the scallops with sweet potato puree. We will definitely be back another time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My partner and I booked to stay here for three nights last week. As we have stayed here before a couple of times, we thought we would not look anywhere else as we have had a lovely stay previously. On the booking form I asked for a room on the second floor as the floors are very creaky, I appreciate this is an old building, I also put on that if possible a room at the front of the hotel, I had a call the day before from the hotel saying if I wanted a sea view I would have to pay a supplement of £15.00 per night. When I stayed previously we had a sea view room for no extra charge, room 31 so I declined the upgrade. So on arrival, we was greeted by the receptionist, her uniform left nothing to the imagination, as her breast area was on show only being covered by a flimsy t shirt material. Maybe appropriate for a night out but not for greeting customers. I was still hoping for a room on the second floor, but alas no was given Room 4, I must say it was a huge room with a queen size bed, small table and chairs, a wardrobe and a single bed. The room and separate bathroom were spotlessly clean. The only downsize is that there wasn't a proper shower, I had to bath every morning, which having a dialysis fistula in my arm found it difficult to manoeuvre in and out of a high sided bath. The room we noticed was very cold, the radiator was luke warm, we were above a storage room and people was in and out and shouting quite loudly and slamming doors at 1am in the morning and it started again around 6 am in the morning. Also not sure if we were by the kitchen as there was some kind of fan which continually on all through the day and night, never went off at all. The breakfast staff was amazing, food as always excellent.
Will have to seriously think about staying here again.

Room Tip: Do not have room 4 very cold and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear EmmaCSmith
Thank you for choosing to stay with us again at the Cottonwood and for your mixed comments. All aspects of your feedback will be investigated and we hope to be able to improve upon most, if not all of your comments.
To guarantee sea view rooms we do charge a supplement; however if we have the availability we will always try to upgrade our guests on a complimentary basis. It seems like that the first time your stayed with us we had the availability to upgrade you free of charge, however this last time it would seem that we were almost full hence the need to pay a supplement if you wanted a guarantee of a sea view.
I'm delighted that you once again enjoyed breakfast and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to once again welcome you back to the Cottonwood.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Just had 2 night stay at this hotel and was disappointed. We stayed here in July (hottest day of the year) and was delighted with every aspect hence our decision to return. I had highly recommended the hotel to friends that joined us there from the west country too but I left feeling slightly embarrassed as the experience was not as good as the first. The food was without fault, both breakfast and evening meal was excellent however the evening meal service was not very good, this was acknowledged by the waiting staff without any prompting! There was a wedding taking place therefore the hotel guests were eating in another area away from the kitchen and this obviously affected the continuity of service, pity and unfair on the chef. My mothers room was on the north side of the building and one of the windows was not double glazed, the radiator was on full but it was still cold. She was given extra bedding upon request. Our room was on the south side so was warmer with the sun streaming in but the bathroom was very cold, it had a three bar towel rail however only the bottom rung was warm. Our friends that visited were booked into the room above a garage, I believe, cold is an understatement, they were offered a room in the next door hotel or a fan heater, opted for the fan heater which took the chill off but had three duvets on the one bed! This should be rectified rather that being greedy and continuing to take bookings through the winter, ultimately custom will be lost and ratings will go down.
In summary - excellent hotel in the summer but avoid this time of year. Would definitely recommend the food so compliments to the chef.

Room Tip: Room 34 is better than room 29
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear RossyBognorRegis
Thank you for choosing to stay with us again at the Cottonwood and for your comments on Trip Advisor. All your comments regarding the heating will be looked in to and hopefully resolved. I'm glad that you brought this to the attention of the team whilst you were at the hotel and that we were able to assist slightly.
Delighted that you enjoyed breakfast and dinner and Chef will of course be made aware of your comments.
I do hope that you will keep us in mind if you plan a trip to Bournemouth again as we would be delighted of the opportunity to reinstall your faith in the hotel once again.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay with breakfast at The Cottonwood - a quirky, colourful and chic modern hotel with charm. After looking on the internet for several days I came across this hotel - a really good location on East Overcliff, just a few minutes walk from the beach. We were met with a warm welcome and the quirky design really appealed to me - the room had a sea view and was comfortable, again with quirky touches. We sampled their restaurant evening menu which was fairly priced and appetising. The breakfast was also fresh, well cooked and allowed for all tastes. The bar area was the heart of the hotel and was well staffed with a large selection of drinks including cocktails and also live music during our weekend stay. I would certaining recommend this hotel, which had onsite parking also.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view - sunset and sunrise absolutely lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Lisa B
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Cottonwood and would gladly recommend us. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Bournemouth over the coming months. We have some superb offers over the coming months, perhaps Christmas or New Year by the coast would be on the cards. Thank you once again.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel

Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#25 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With magnificent panoramic views across the bay, the chic and recently refurbished Cottonwood Boutique Hotel has a superb cliff-top location. It offers a sun terrace, and an on-site restaurant serving locally sourced fresh ingredients. Free parking is available on site and free Wi-Fi is available throughout. The boutique hotel has 28 stylish rooms with tea/coffee making facilities, a TV and a hairdryer. Many rooms overlook the bay, and all have a private modern bathroom. The stylish Bar Vista, with its sunny terrace and garden, provides contemporary brasserie food all day. The Garden Restaurant offers refined and elegant dining using local, fresh ingredients from one of Dorset's leading chefs. Guests can enjoy a range of beauty treatments in the on site beauty parlour Beauty Essence, as well as live entertainment in the Bar Vista. The Cottonwood Boutique is located a 15-minute walk from the centre of Bournemouth ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Minotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.