We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel, brilliant location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Air Show First Row View!
Ranked #34 of 70 hotels in Bournemouth
Birmingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel, brilliant location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is the perfect hotel for a weekend in Bournemouth. It's right on the seafront and walking distance to all the tourist attractions. We had a large, sea view room which was very comfortable and well decorated. The bar is very impressive!! Elegant decor and comfortable furniture again with views of the sea. We had 3 course dinner in the restaurant with wine, which was great value, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Cottonwood Boutique Hotel and I do hope that you will choose to stay with us again should you come to Bournemouth. You may want to sign up to our mailing list as we have some superb offers coming up, Bournemouth is such a lovely place in the summer time, sitting on the terrace, enjoying the view with a cheeky glass of Vino!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    115
    76
    31
    19
See reviews for
60
177
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We just popped in for lunch as we have been there twice before. Have just been diagnosed as wheat intolerant so asked if the chef had any gluten-free bread otherwise I would have just had chips!! Not only did they have gluten-free bread but the chef came to me himself and asked if I would like the bread toasted (instead of a sandwich) as he had always found it very dry and like cardboard. I could then have my smoked salmon on the side. It was delicious served with the salmon, butter and a small side salad. Needless to say we were so impressed we thanked him and left a large tip. Shall certainly go there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you so much for you review on Trip Advisor of which I have passed your comments to our Executive Chef. We very much pride ourselves on our ability to cater to the majority of dietary requirements and any special requests. It can often be a difficult decision for people with food intolerances to choose a venue to dine at and with reviews like yours it very much gives peoples the confidence to choose our product and service. So thank you once again and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I had a very pleasant stay at the Cottonwood Boutique Hotel in Bournemouth, which has been recently refurbished? I had booked a single room and was delighted when I was upgraded to a double room.
The lounge and bar were comfortable. Had a snack lunch which was nicely presented. Breakfast buffet was quite adequate and coffee was good.
The downside to the hotel was there was no disabled access to the reception and the disabled toilet was downstairs with no lift access. There is a lift to the bedrooms.
The floorboards are a bit creaky.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm glad that the team were able to upgrade you to a double room rather than a single, where possible we always try to upgrade peoples room category. Access to the hotel is very limited for those in wheelchairs of which we are always very open about. The disabled toilet downstairs provides a facility to those purely using the Garden Restaurant as there is also access via a ramp to the restaurant. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had booked at the sister hotel and got upgraded to the Cottonwood. On arrival the reception was okay (I have a guest house and really make a fuss of my arrivals, especially if it's awful outside) We had booked a family room and I asked for a seaview, was told it is £20 more. We only booked for one night so was not really worth it. The entrance is lovely, the bar area, beautiful and certainly had the WOW factor. I love all the bright pink and opulent gold decor. Lush seating in the bar area. Our room and bathroom was MASSIVE! We were also delighted to have a seaview....strange that the receptionist did not know this ? We did not have the pleasure of eating in the restaurant, our family had booked elsewhere, but it looked lovely. Breakfast was great, a good selection of continental and cooked food. Overall a great experience and certainly will be sending more guests your way :-D

Room Tip: The lift makes quite a noise but it's not enough to keep you awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We have eaten in the restaurant on several occassions and found the food excellent. What a great chef! The waitress service was excellent and Julie was particularly helpful and attentive. The fixed price 3 course menu was superb and the supplement for the steak was well worth paying as it was one of the best steaks I've ever had. The glass of house included was excellent quality, and the upgrade to a bottle was great value.
We will be dining here again. One of Bournemouths hidden gems.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We arrived to a warm welcome by the receptionist who couldn't do enough for us. However when entering the hotel the decor really hits you. Although classed as "boutique" it is a mismatch of different styles which doesn't quite come off. The feature wall in our room was rather bold for the size of the room and the throw didn't match the furnishings. The bathroom was tired with filler visible on the skirting board as well as glitter mosaic tiles. However the beds were very comfortable and the linen of good standard. That said the staff in the dining room were pleasant as was the food and the set menu for £14.95 for 3 courses was good value for money. Again the dining room decor was too bold with red and black flock wallpaper on the ceiling. Breakfast in the morning was good with plenty of choice in cereals. To sum up our stay keep the staff and cuisine but time to change the decor.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Cannot fault location of the hotel and also the staff who were extremely welcoming and helpful. The hotel is looking rather tired in places and could do with a revamp but I do understand with the current climate may not be possible. Found the bathroom a bit strange in that to have a shower you had to sit in the bath as it was a hand held shower which was on a low hook near the taps with no shower curtain. Room was not spacious but comfortable. The bar area is good for a nice evening drink. Did not try the restaurant. The mention of usage of the outside pool next door , although at this time of year I did not plan to, was a definite no when on looking out of the window saw what I can only describe as a pond by the colour of the water and yellow hazard tape around the outside. Perhaps could drain or cover which would provide a better impression. Wi fi also a bit hit and miss. I will say that I have had better value for my money at the likes of Premier Inns. I would not pay full price for this hotel. What I paid I feel is the right price. Having said this the hotel served the purpose for which I required and I go back to my opening statement staff were excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel

Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With magnificent panoramic views across the bay, the chic and recently refurbished Cottonwood Boutique Hotel has a superb cliff-top location. It offers a sun terrace, and an on-site restaurant serving locally sourced fresh ingredients. Free parking is available on site and free Wi-Fi is available throughout. The boutique hotel has 28 stylish rooms with tea/coffee making facilities, a TV and a hairdryer. Many rooms overlook the bay, and all have a private modern bathroom. The stylish Bar Vista, with its sunny terrace and garden, provides contemporary brasserie food all day. The Garden Restaurant offers refined and elegant dining using local, fresh ingredients from one of Dorset's leading chefs. Guests can enjoy a range of beauty treatments in the on site beauty parlour Beauty Essence, as well as live entertainment in the Bar Vista. The Cottonwood Boutique is located a 15-minute walk from the centre of Bournemouth ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Minotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.