We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming service and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gilbey's Restaurant

Gilbey's Restaurant
5 Wollstonecraft Road | Boscombe Spa, Bournemouth BH5 1JQ, England
+44 1202 394588
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 557 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Price range: $31 - $78
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Gilbey's Restaurant in Bournemouth is situated in the Liston Hotel which is two minutes from the Cliff Top Gardens in Boscombe Spa. The large open restaurant with polished oak floor and wall murals of Edwardian days on the pier compliments the cosy bar and entrance hall with original features dating back to the turn of the century. Our food is modern English with some influences from the rest of the World.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming service and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We had been warned not to be put off by outward appearance of the hotel which is just as well as this could easily happen. Our greeting was welcoming and relaxing. The restaurant has character, the decor sets an unusual scene and table laid with white linen cloths and serviettes. Service was considerate and attentive. Food was well presented and tasty and certainly exceeded my expectations. Sunday lunch was great, good selection of fresh vegetables that were not over cooked and the meat was tender. The deserts were lovely with the exception of 2 out of the 3 trio of deserts. The trifle and creme caramel were bland. To their credit, the waitress picked up on the fact that not all the desert had been eaten and asked the reason why and responded well to our observation. The menu was mid price range. Would definitely go there again.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    34
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Went on the back of previous trip advisor reviews and was not disappointed. The food was great. I had scallops to start, fillet of beef for main and it was beautiful.

Service was great too. Only one other couple there which was a shame as this food should have a bigger audience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic New Year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We booked in for the New Year Banquet Meal for a change as we normally end up trying to find somewhere last minute that is overpriced and bad quality. I can say that Gilbey's is neither! The waiting staff were very attentive and in my rush to book a table and the crisis of Xmas I forgot to mention that I was Gluten intolerant....it only came to light when the lovely homemade bread tray came round....not a problem some gluten free bread rustled up and toasted in minutes and then this was remembered for the cheese course and some rice crackers arrived! Amazing. Diane the hostess was most attentive and even managed to book us a taxi home (although it failed to show - shame on you Start Cabs) We had a fabulous evening with great wine, great food and even managed some dancing! The only thing that I could add was that more fireworks are needed for next year!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Second time we have had Sunday lunch here and both times were great. Food exceptional and delivered on hot plates and the food was hot too. Staff were very attentive. Will definitely come here again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal, great team”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Ate here 21 December on a red and blacked themed evening, though many people chose not bother with colour scheme in their dress!! The food was excellent for all 10 of us not a morsel left on any plates that went back. My beef was just beautifully cooked. The panino cotta was to die for didn't want to finish. The staff were friendly, caring and not intrusive but there if you wanted them. Thank you Diane, Steve, Dave , loupe and team once again a lovely meal and enjoyed the evening. Happy Christmas

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilbey's Restaurant also viewed

 
Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Gilbey's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gilbey's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.