We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“41st Birthday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Natural Bourne Grillers - CLOSED

Natural Bourne Grillers
274 Old Christchurch Road | Lansdowne, Bournemouth BH1 1PH, England
01202 290306
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $48
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British, English, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Natural Bourne Grillers steakhouse restaurant serves fresh local steaks and seasonal British food. The entire menu is coeliac friendly. We cater for up to 30 guests at any time and recommend booking on weekends.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“41st Birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Hi there

i came here with my girlfriend on monday the 4th of febuary to celebrate my 41st birthday we had chicicken wings, garlic bread for our starter and steak for the main course i love blue steaks so ordered the club sirloin and found it to be very delicious being a chef of 25 years makes me quite fussy and this was very nice not the usual bournemouth cold in the middle unrested sirloin im used to keep up the good work we will be back.

The only negative part of our visit although our hosts were very polite we waited for the bill and in the end had to get up and get the waitresses attention she was kind enough to stop texting and we got up and paid

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    10
    6
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Lovely king prawn starters, great steaks, locally sourced, perfectly cooked & super cheesecake for pudding. Friendly informal atmosphere & attentive service - very well paced. Take your own wine - what could be better! Very good value for money & highly recommended.
Comment - portion sizes were good - not over-facing - but the main course plate was perhaps a little small - difficult to find some items until part way thro' the meal! Suggest using slightly larger plates or serve salad on side plate?

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Should be 6 stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We tried this place based on Tripadvisor reports and were not disappointed. Don't be put off by what the outside looks like, this place serves simple food cooked to perfection and of the highest possible quality. The staff are also really friendly and very genuine.

We went on two consecutive nights and had steak both times. I can't put into words how fabulous these steaks were; cooked to perfection and without a single piece of fat or gristle they almost crumbled under the knife, absolutely wonderful.

Steak is the speciality, and this is backed up by delicious home-made coleslaw and a range of potato and veg/salad options.

There's a surprisingly wide range of starters, all 4 we tried were superb, and in the unlikely event you have space, the deserts are pretty good to.

One slight oddity is that you need to take your own booze if you want it as they don't have a licence. There's no corkage charge though, and you'd be amazed at the quality of wine you can buy locally at half the price restaurants usually charge you.

£53 for 2 starters, 2 fillet steaks with the trimmings, and one shared desert can't be bad. Add £10 or £15 for a bottle of good wine and you have the perfect meal.

Thank you Natural Bourne Grillers, we will be back. Sadly we don't live locally so it might be a while.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“fantastic food will definitely go again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I went with my 2 children (5 year old and 1 year old) early evening and the service was so friendly. They do have highchairs for babies and a childrens menu with just as great food for them as the adults. Our food was fabulous and having a coeliac in the family it was great as all their sauces were gluten free. The childrens menu was great too - homemade variations on the usual choices which really made the difference - my little girl had homemade salmon fish fingers and they were devoured quickly with no persuasion. I ordered steak and was not disappointed, there is also no corkage charged on byo alcohol which is a great plus (there is an off licence 200 meters down the road if you forget like me to bring it with you). highly recommended and will definitely return. thank you

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by the first look inside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely meal here during our recent stay in Bournemouth. We found it on Tripadvisor and it sounded great. Also it made a great change from all the usual Italian, Indian & Chinese places. (I'm not racist - honest!!) We were not disappointed with the food although if you are looking for 'Fine Dining' this is not it! Very basic no tablecloths etc. We enjoyed perfectly cooked steaks with plenty of extras like side salad or grilled veg. There was also a choice of grilled mushroom, fried onions and tomato OR a lovely sauce. We had chips but Jackets were also available. The menu was varied with steak burgers and vegetarian options to choose from. Finally you can take your own booze (If you buy from the nearby shop you get 10% off) No charge for corkage. All in all an excellent meal for a very reasonable price.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Natural Bourne Grillers also viewed

 
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Natural Bourne Grillers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.