We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fawlty Towers with potential” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Queens Hotel to your Saves list
The Queens Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Meyrick Road, Bournemouth BH1 1DL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Harrow, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fawlty Towers with potential”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Queens hotel as a group of six as part of a lads golf weekend arranged through GolfBreaks.com. It looked as though the majority of the other guests were also big golfing groups too and to be honest the hotel fit the bill for this sort of stay: bar, bed, shower, breakfast - repeat. For those looking to stay somewhere for a romantic or special break this is not the place for you. Although some money has clearly been spent in the bar area the rest of the hotel is tired in every sense including the catering. Given its location near the sea and close to town this hotel has the potential to be so much more but needs a considerable amount of money invested into it. Currently though it is a bog-standard, old-fashioned resort hotel stuck in a cycle of mediocrity.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your review.
We are in the process of refurbishing various areas of the hotel and yes, we are very popular with many people visiting the area. Some that return year after year. We do hope you return in the future and if you do, we would be only too happy to accommodate you in a newly refurbished room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    187
    178
    113
    84
See reviews for
113
247
37
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

So we stayed here for 3 nights. Staff were friendly and greeted us well. Location was perfect with walking distance to the beach and town center. Breakfast buffet was pretty good also.

The parking can be a nightmare within the hotels car park, especially during the weekend. The beds were very uncomfy and the window hardly opens soo much which was a big problem as the room got very humid and it made it very difficult to be able to sleep at night with there being no air con. Whats worse? There were people outside from the bar downstairs or from the streets who kept making noise really loud until the early hours of the morning.

Overall it was a good hotel with good friendly staff but the experience was broken down to unsettling nights with humid rooms and uncomfy beds and the room seemed to expensive for what it was and the experience we had without any air con

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your review, we appreciate any feedback. Very pleased to hear our staff were friendly and courteous and that you were happy with the location that we pride ourselves with.
Yes, the parking is limited, but we are very fortunate to have one of the largest hotel car parks in the East Cliff area and we do offer a 'double parking' system. We are sorry your room was not what you expected and would be only too happy to accommodate you in a newly refurbished room next time you visit Bournemouth. Please do speak with the Duty Manager.
After reading your title to your review and the spelling of 'better' being 'bettee', I then continued to read your review in the voice of Frank Spencer! Quite amusing, and very glad he's never asked for a job at the Queens Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Bookham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I booked Bournemouth for this special weekend as neither of us had been together. I booked the queens hotel for one night as the prices for two nights were incredibly high. We arrived early and we were welcomed by very attentive staff at reception. They informed us the room was not ready but we were able to leave the car and take a stroll down to the beach as it was so close to the hotel. On our return we were given a room on the fourth floor which is always a bonus and it overlooked the front of the hotel and had plenty of natural light in it. We were booked to see a show at Bournemouth Pavilion so did not have a chance to take advantage of the Leisure facilities but it all looked great. Breakfast the next morning was very good but it would have been nice to have had hot drinks served to our table rather than buffet style. Layout could have been improved on and staff could have been more attentive but overall an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Always better to have a higher floor room as it is quieter and no noise from parties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We do appreciate all feedback and we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We will take on board your comments regarding the hot drinks too and hope to see you again in the future. Next time you stay we do highly recommend booking a treatment or two in our Day Spa, you certainly would not be disappointed. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My partner booked a nights stay at this hotel as a surprise for my Birthday, we checked in, which was nice and quick, and found we were in a 4th floor room which is the top floor of this Hotel. Lovely spacious room, with two chairs and a table, tv, coffee/tea and a very clean bathroom.

Plenty of hangers in a well decorated and furnished room, staff in reception were welcoming, and a great breakfast the next morning, We were offered a seat straight away, and there was everything from cereal and juices to full English, and kippers were cooked fresh if you wanted to order them. All in all a lovely hotel, close to the sea and Bournemouth Pier.

I have no concerns about recommending this hotel, and would certainly stay here again

Room Tip: Top floor, so you have nobody above you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that your birthday celebrations went well! We really do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

For the price, £135 for a twin room (inc breakfast), it's not bad value for money if you want to be close to the coast and not too far from central Bournemouth. The staff were helpful and friendly and the breakfast was pretty good. It's obviously popular as the hotel was completely full. On the downside it feels very tired and dated, it's relatively noisy (there were lots of hen/stag parties) and all of our group found it stiflingly hot (no a/c). The rooms at the front of the hotel seemed noisier than those at the back. By no means a memorable stay but functional and adequate.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your review.
Yes, we are indeed a very popular hotel and when you stayed we were very busy. We are glad you enjoyed your stay overall. We are in the process of refurbishing the hotel and next time you visit the area, we would be only too happy to accommodate you in a newly refurbished room, please just speak with the Duty Manager upon booking. We do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Hotel staff were amazing, nothing was too much trouble. The leisure facilities would be excellent if the gym equipment was more updated (great indoor swimming pool etc). The buffet breakfast was fantastic and plentiful, but regarding the evening meal, you'd be better off finding a restaurant outside the hotel. Unfortunately, because of the age of this hotel, there is no air conditioning in the room (even the fan was missing from our room), which means having the window open and having to put up with outside noise at night. The location of this hotel is it's best feature because it's very close to the beach (although high up), and great access to the town centre. I would stay here again, but only after looking around for something else which may be better.

Room Tip: Try to book a room on the top floor because as you'd expect, noise comes through from residents...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Bournemouth itself does sit on the top of the East Cliff and West Cliff areas and most hotels are an uphill walk from the beach. We are very fortunate to have a Cliff Lift which is stone's throw away and takes you directly to the beach for a small charge or there is a zig-zag which takes between 10-15 minutes to walk, depending on your speed of walking!
Most rooms do have fans and should you not have one in your room, reception would be only too happy to have one brought to your room.
We do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is a difficult hotel to review. I really want to say good things about it - but that's quite challenging! Location - good for the able-bodied. The 'convenient' lift to the beach was expensive and stopped running at 4.30pm - in fact, as I was with my sister who has mobility problems, none of the local facilities were within our (admittedly short) walking distance. At the hotel I asked for, and got, a room close to the lift. Excellent - until we wanted to use the Spa, which is in the basement where the lift doesn't go, and the stairs are quite steep! Staff were very helpful and let us out of the Fire Escape door into the car park. So that was OK. The Spa itself is not great - tired, dark and gloomy, nowhere to relax by the pool - but the prices are lower than you would pay at a 'proper' Spa. Parking was fine for most of time - but after a day out (midweek) I was unable to find a place and had to park in the Pay & Display on the street for the last part of our stay. Accommodation was nice enough - clean, comfortable beds, good hospitality tray (with extra supplies on request from Reception). Food in the Restaurant - not good. Constantly ran out of items on the breakfast bar, cold coffee, some items poorly cooked, choice not great. Dinner - mains and desserts - was fairly awful (for the price). Bar food was much better for choice, freshness, price, everything - not sure why when, presumably, it came from the same kitchen? In spite of all this, every request for assistance was treated with genuine concern and an instant positive response. In fact, the staff - Reception, Bar, and restaurant in particular - are The Queens best asset. They are clearly under-resourced and work really hard - especially when the hotel is coping with coach-loads of visitors. They were, almost without exception, cheerful, friendly and helpful and all did their very best to make our 4-day stay a pleasant experience, in spite of all the drawbacks. I really can't praise them highly enough (especially Olly in the Restaurant - thank you Olly!). After 4 days we felt like family - and like going back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammy Jane O, Guest Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. Obviously we want to respond to all your points as you've so kindly taken the time to review in so many areas.
Our Forever Gorgeous Day Spa is indeed in the basement level of the hotel and access for those with mobility needs is through the fire escape and we are very happy to hear that our staff were attentive to your needs in this respect. The Spa itself is one of the largest in the area and the dimly lit rooms (lit with electric candles and water features and music) are all part of the relaxing atmosphere that we like to create for our guests and those using the spa for treatments. This area has recently been updated and refurbished, along with a lovely new extension to the Spa, called The Hideaway. I could be mistaken and you may be referring simply to the pool area and this too is not brightly lit, simply to create a relaxing atmosphere as I said before. The pool area is often referred to as a great place to refresh and revive, with areas to relax in, such as the jacuzzi, the poolside, the sauna and the steam room. The Forever Gorgeous Day Spa is very popular and highly recommended. If perhaps you didn't visit the Day Spa, I would certainly like to show you around if you do visit the hotel again in the future.
With regard to the parking, we do say to guests to double park and leave keys at reception if this is possible. We can get busy, and we do have one of the largest areas for parking in this area of the East Cliff, which we are very fortunate to have. Keep this in mind for next time.
We do only have one kitchen you are correct, so very pleased you were happy with the bar food. We will pass on your other comments to the Chef.
Extremely happy that our staff were attentive and your comments will be passed on to them, thank you.
We do look forward to seeing you again and please do ask for a look around the Spa next time and possibly book a treatment or two?
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Address: Meyrick Road, Bournemouth BH1 1DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This superb privately owned AA 3 Star Bournemouth hotel boasts 109 en-suite rooms and deluxe suites. It is ideally situated in the heart of Bournemouth's East Cliff, only a short walk from the busy town centre where you can find the Bournemouth International Centre (BIC), the Pavilion Theatre, family friendly pubs and restaurants that cater for all tastes. We are a few minutes walk away from Bournemouth's Blue Flag award winning, golden, sandy beaches and Bournemouth Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.