We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our wedding day made special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Queens Hotel to your Saves list
The Queens Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Meyrick Road, Bournemouth BH1 1DL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 73 Hotels in Bournemouth
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our wedding day made special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I would just like to thank ALL the staff at The Queens Hotel for being so kind and tentative toward our guests. We had 13 rooms booked for our wedding on Fri 9th Aug, ranging from double to family. Not one complaint. Breakfast was good too. So if you're thinking of having any kind of function here do not let negative reviews put you off, as I nearly did. Find out for yourself that they are a caring bunch of people. My sister was in a wheelchair after a knee operation and they catered to her every need.

Room Tip: We had a double with a balcony and were going to be upgraded for our wedding night but we didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesGordon, Managing Director at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your excellent Trip Advisor review and your kind words. I am so pleased that your wedding day was perfect at the Queens and that our staff looked after you all so well.
I am also pleased that you were happy with the rooms and if you choose to return some time, even just to see us to let us know how you are getting on, you are more than welcome.
Thank you once again.
James Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    232
    209
    136
    104
See reviews for
146
296
45
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I recently attended a business meeting at the Hotel and therefore used a meeting room, the facilities and stayed for lunch. The room we used was light and airy and although it was a hot day a lovely cool breeze flowed through the room all day. The staff were well presented and extremely attentive. Our drinks were kept topped up all day and dirty crockery etc was removed speedily. The lunch was delicious and well priced. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesGordon, Managing Director at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review on Trip Advisor. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel for your business meeting and that the service was very good. I am glad you enjoyed your lunch and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
If you decide to return for a business meeting, or even a stay, please contact Daniel Marsh, our General Manager on 01202 554415 and I am sure he will look after you.
Thank you once again.
James Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great hotel, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were a hen party so came home in the early hours after both nights out and the night porter Phil looked after us, he was so helpful and friendly. All of the front office staff were also excellent with arranging taxis for us and letting us check out an hour later on our last day. The pool was great and so was Breakfast, great value for money! We will definitely stay again if we are ever in Bournemouth. Thank you Queens Hotel & Spa for a great weekend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesGordon, Managing Director at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for you review and your kind words on Trip Advisor.
I am pleased to hear that everything was good for you including our excellent front of house staff, great breakfast and pool and that Phil, our night porter looked after you so very well.
Please contact our General Manager, Daniel Marsh if you decide to return in the future and he will look after you. 01202 554415.
Thank you once again.
James Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife and I had a reservation for afternoon tea using one of the daily deal offers. We arrived a few minutes early and were shown into a large room (dining room?) where we were one of only 2 couples present. We sat there for around 5 minutes with nobody attending to us. Eventually a waitress appeared and asked if we would like tea or coffee and then disappeared, returning a few minutes later, holding a teapot, hot water jug and milk, very unsteadily (health and safety? - does the hotel not provide trays?). She then went off and returned with our stand of sandwiches/scones/cakes and then disappeared again to then return with our bubbly.
The afternoon tea itself was ok, although like a previous reviewer we also had the large piece of chocolate cake and the uncut cream slice. Again the best part was the strawberry and custard pastry.
One of the most disappointing things was the total lack of atmosphere- I appreciate that the hotel cannot conjure up customers, but with only 2 couples present for the whole time that we were there, and in such a large room, it seemed totally lifeless.
Will we return? Very unlikely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesGordon, Managing Director at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I have looked into this and due to the numbers on the day, we could not fit everyone in the bar. The bar is where we usually serve our afternoon tea. As it was a nice day, some other guests chose to sit outside so this is why there were not many of our guests around you. However, The Purbeck Suite is a beautiful room and a favourite for weddings and I am sorry to hear that most of the other guests chose to sit elsewhere on the day.
If you would like to return, we will ensure that you experience your afternoon tea surrounded by other guests. Please contact Daniel Marsh our General manager on 01202 554415 to organise this.
Many Thanks
James Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Excellent location next to the sea, ten minutes walk from town Centre. My room was a small single at the inside so no view but it was decorated fine inside. It is hot in the room and opening the window does not work as the noise from the kitchen below or something is quite loud but does stop around 9pm and is quiet after this. A big fan is provided however. It is beside two lifts which is noisy too. Bed was not very comfortable. Blonde girl in reception who checked me out was exceptionally efficient, friendly and impressive in her handling of myself and other customers I noticed. Staff are generally friendly including the cleaning ladies which is nice if you stay for longer. Solid wallls stop any noise from neigbours a important touch these days.

Room Tip: Room facing away from the inside and not near the two lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesGordon, Managing Director at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I am glad to hear that everything was good for your stay apart from the noise from the kitchen fans. I do hope you return in the future, and if you do please contact Daniel Marsh, our General Manager and he will do his best to ensure you have a room further from the kitchen.
Many Thanks
James Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I attended the hotel for a business lunch. The hotel had a wide range of people staying. I was invited to look around the pool and spa which I must say looked perfect for some relaxation. The food was first class as was the service. The staff were attentive, well dressed and polite. I look forward to a return visit very soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesGordon, Managing Director at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you were looked after so well for your business lunch.
If you choose to return to the hotel in the future please contact Daniel Marsh, our General Manager and he will look after you. 01202 554415.
Thank you once again.
James Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at the Queens Hotel and we had a nice 2 day stay at the hotel with family and our children. We thoroughly enjoyed the swimming pool, spa, and the hotels other facilities. The staff are all very friendly and helpful and the restaurant Managers and waiting staff ensured that our children were very well looked after with nothing we asked being too much trouble. Both the breakfast and the evening meals were of a very high standard.

Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesGordon, Managing Director at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review on Trip Advisor. I am so pleased to hear that everything during your stay was to your satisfaction and that you have returned a number of times.
If you would like to return again in the future please contact our General Manager, Daniel Marsh on 01202 554415 and he will ensure that you are looked after.
Thank you once again.
James Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#7 of 73 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 2,359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth
0.3 mi away
Royal Bath
Royal Bath
#54 of 73 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 stars 2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.3 mi away
The Ocean View Hotel
The Ocean View Hotel
#44 of 73 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Address: Meyrick Road, Bournemouth BH1 1DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This superb privately owned AA 3 Star Bournemouth hotel boasts 109 en-suite rooms and deluxe suites. It is ideally situated in the heart of Bournemouth's East Cliff, only a short walk from the busy town centre where you can find the Bournemouth International Centre (BIC), the Pavilion Theatre, family friendly pubs and restaurants that cater for all tastes. We are a few minutes walk away from Bournemouth's Blue Flag award winning, golden, sandy beaches and Bournemouth Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.