We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep clear of this Hotel!!! I wish i did..” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Queens Hotel to your Saves list
The Queens Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Meyrick Road, Bournemouth BH1 1DL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
cardiff
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Keep clear of this Hotel!!! I wish i did..”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My friend and I had booked this hotel for a boot camp break away?! Arriving at the 80's style hotel it was very dirty, holes in the ceilings, wallpaper falling from the walls. There was no morning boot camp which we paid for. We had complained about this to the duty manager who had offered us complimentary spa treatments which we had agreed on. Well the following day he was on leave and the general manager would not honor these. He was extremely arrogant and rude to us. We were so upset that we left straight away to face a three hour drive :/ we had asked for the trip to be refunded he said just tonight's will be not the night before. We wrote a letter of complaint to them which have yet to hear a reply.. management defiantly need some people skills. They also used a card on file to pay for a friends stay without the cardholders permission!! they wouldn't refund that either which is against the law if it isnt authorized. Thank fully the bank are looking in to this. Really try to avoid hotel it gives a bad name to Bournemouth.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMarshGM, General Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write.

I have recently responded to many radiant reviews from those participating on the boot camp. It is such a shame that you did not allow yourself to have fun and join in with the rest of the group.

To reply to your review, it was never the case that you were to be given free spa treatments in addition to those included within the boot camp. I could not honour what was never agreed.

We adhere to data confidentiality, and the credit card information mentioned here belonged to the guest’s mother.

Once again, I am sad that you missed out on the fun and could not take a happy memory away with you.

Please do not hesitate to contact me to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    192
    183
    117
    88
See reviews for
116
252
39
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just got back from this lovely hotel, rooms were very large and clean but would say the mattress has had plenty of use !!! And wasn't comfy at all . Had a lovely evening meal and plenty of it, we had a ok breakfast in morning but would say to people don't leave it too late to go for breakfast as wasn't a lot left and cold !! We used the pool that evening and very nice too. Beach was a 5min walk and town 10 min. Would use this hotel again !!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMarshGM, General Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about the Hotel.

Thank you for your kind words that I have passed on to the team. I am disappointed to hear about the mattress, this will not happen again.

I look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to discuss any of this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Having just spent a weekend at this Hotel despite the problem of driving down the A34 in the snow - we had to move rooms as found that the wing of the Hotel was very cold and chilly. Huge window and just one radiator, and no heating in the large bathroom. The rooms were clean - and as we were moved to the front of the hotel found that the room was smaller and so lovely and warm - no comparison with the previous room. Staff were friendly in the restaurant. The majority of the party who were in our Group - had stayed in the Hotel for many years and informed us that this Hotel would try and put any matter right, which is a good thing.

Room Tip: If you are staying in this Hotel during the very cold weather make sure you do not have a room in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMarshGM, General Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about the Hotel.

It is unacceptable that your bedroom was cold. I can assure you that we will not make mistakes like this in the future. I am pleased the front office team assigned a more suitable bedroom.

You and your party are genuinely lovely people, who it is our pleasure to liaise with. I look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to discuss any of this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Good points - HUGE clean room. Friendly staff. Great food. Close to the seafront. Close to the shops.

Bad points - booked in because of the spa, but then was told it was closed. We felt as though we were in an old people's home because the average age of the guests was about 80!

At least it meant we had a quiet weekend...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMarshGM, General Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about the Hotel.

I have passed you kind words about the friendliness and food quality to the team.

I am sorry that the beauty area – Forever Gorgeous was not open. There is a short shut down period at the beginning of the year. But, it is operating to its normal exceptionally high standards again, and delighting our guests.

We do not discriminate against any age group, as we do have the facilities and willingness to welcome a spectrum of age ranges.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to discuss any of this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed here a single night for a christmas party despite only living about 10 mins down the road! Thought it would be preferable to a taxi home.
Our first room wouldn't open so we were moved elsewhere. The central section of the hotel was very warm and the outer wings quite chilly. The room was a bit dated but comfortable.
The event that we attended was overall well presented. Food was average and wine a reasonable price. The downside with the food was that, having been notified of a dietary requirement (no dairy, pointed out to the waiter directly) they offered a cheese plate for dessert!!?!
Hotel itself was pretty quiet despite there being three large parties going on and the buffet breakfast was plentiful and well cooked.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMarshGM, General Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about the Hotel.

Thank you for visiting us for a Christmas Party. I am pleased you enjoyed the event; nevertheless I am most disappointed that the restaurant team reacted poorly to your dietary requirements. This is unusual and contrary to the efficient service they normally offer.

I am pleased you enjoyed your breakfast which is a wise option after a busy night’s entertainment.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to discuss any of this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Really enjoyed the hotel! Lovely staff, breakfast was good and it played a nice setting for my best friends wedding.

You can't really fault the hotel - has a good pool too but I couldn't use it due to being fake tanned up! But my dad said it was good!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMarshGM, General Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about the Hotel.

Thank you for your kind words that I have passed on to the team. It was a beautiful wedding, and I am delighted that you enjoyed it.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to discuss any of this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Would agree with an earlier contributor that, as we helped make up one of the three coach parties booked in over the New Year (4 days/3 nights), the Hotel was certainly stretched, Whilst this was apparent at times, we thought the staff coped quite well overall. We were on the first floor and though the room was nothing to write home about it was reasonable apart from some odd noises which were apt to disturb one at night time, plus the fact that the balcony door could not be locked and the bathroom could do with an update. however others in our party who were on the third and fourth floor seemed satisfied. With regard the entertainment on New Years Eve i.e an Elvis impersonator - who seemed to go down quite well - and a piper accompanied by a drummer, were also appreciated by most, though it would have been preferable if they could have made an appearance at midnight and not an hour earlier. Guess it must be extremely difficult to try and satisfy everyone but if you are with friends and prepared to make allowances, this helps to gloss over certain aspects. Other than New Years Eve, the Hotel arranged a variety of other sessions for the coach parties which were all O.K. Hotel well situated for the sea front and a fairly easy walk into Bournemouth for the shops and gardens. Possibly a bit unfair to try and review the Hotel over a hectic holiday period but, whilst we would not rush to make another booking at Queens, we would not write it off. Should also add that my partner enjoyed the hotel swimming pool.

Room Tip: From our experience it would sem preferable to try and avoid the first floor rooms, especially those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielMarshGM, General Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about the Hotel.

The Hotel was popular over the New Years period; in fact the whole of the Christmas season has seen many guests celebrate with us. I am pleased that the team contributed successfully to your enjoyment.

I am pleased your partner enjoyed the leisure facilities.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to discuss any of this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Address: Meyrick Road, Bournemouth BH1 1DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This superb privately owned AA 3 Star Bournemouth hotel boasts 109 en-suite rooms and deluxe suites. It is ideally situated in the heart of Bournemouth's East Cliff, only a short walk from the busy town centre where you can find the Bournemouth International Centre (BIC), the Pavilion Theatre, family friendly pubs and restaurants that cater for all tastes. We are a few minutes walk away from Bournemouth's Blue Flag award winning, golden, sandy beaches and Bournemouth Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.