We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Cumberland Hotel to your Saves list
The Cumberland Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH13AF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Canterbury
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This is an excellent hotel in many ways.The location,just a short walk away from the beach and the centre of Bournemouth is ideal.It is just far enough away from the crowds to be peaceful without being cut off.
There are stunningly spectacular views across the seafront from the cliffs of the Isle of Wight in the distance to the cliffs of the Dorset coast beyond Poole from many of the rooms.
The lido pool at the front of the hotel is heated and is a delightful alternative to the indoor pool at the neighbouring Suncliffe hotel (to which guests of the Cumberland have access).
The food is excellent with a choice of restaurants in the evening.
The buffet breakfast is a real feast setting you up for the day.
The service is polite and efficient.
It is a very good place to have a break from the norm.
All in all,apart from a rather small lift (due to the building's being 1930s)it is a really wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Make sure that you have a room with a sea view.It is really worth it.THere are huge balconies on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear AnnaTaylorCanterbury,

Thank you for your review. Great comments regarding your stay with us. You are right, we are in a great location.

We hope to welcome you back soon again. Please call direct on 01202-298350 or visit our website. We do guarantee the best rate booking direct.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,022
    607
    189
    83
    54
See reviews for
339
919
79
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This is a generally good hotel with very friendly staff. I would stay again but try to have a ground floor room whilst we need the buggy.

The car park is quite small for the size of hotel and we had to park on the road where it's free 5pm-9am and around 50p/hour otherwise.

We ate dinner in one of the restaurants. The service and food was good except for the langoustine soup had small pieces of shell in it.

The single room was very hot because hot water pipes are under the floor. We rang for a fan but had to call after 30 minutes (10:00pm) as it had not arrived. The receptionist was waiting for the night porter to start work (at 11pm) to deliver it but agreed they would bring it sooner.

We travelled with 2 children under 2 years old and had to carry the double buggy up the stairs because it didn't fit in the lift (I appreciate it's an old lift but our buggy is one of the smallest you can buy).

Breakfast had a very good range especially if you have special dietary requirements; providing vegetarian, gluten free and dairy free options. Unfortunately the scrambled egg had pieces of egg shell in it.



Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear nzspider,

Thank you for your review. Good review, and kind compliments. Unfortunately alike most hotels in the area we are limited when it comes to car park space. Being fortunate to have the two properties next door, guests are able to use their facilities as a resort. If all full, the sea front road is just £3 for the whole day, free overnight.

We hope to welcome you back soon again. Please call direct on 01202-298350 or visit our website. We do guarantee the best rate booking direct.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Although I have already reviewed this hotel within my review of the Oceana Day Spa (in sister hotel Cliffeside) I felt I wanted to comment on here too.

A group of us had booked a celebration spa package. The lunch and use of facilites was at the Cumberland following very relaxing treatments at the spa.

The lunch was out of this world. We had the choice of sushi or oriental platters with champagne. I chose Sushi, it was delicious, a huge portion and amazingly presented. Top marks to the chef. They even catered for our vegan friend without a fuss.

All the staff were friendly and courteous. The manager of the ventana bar and grill was very accommodating and nothing was too much bother.

The outside pool area was lovely and relaxing and you could have been anywhere in the world. A decking area around the pool with comfortable seating. Indoors was art deco design and felt comfortable too.

Top marks Cumberland, I would highly recommend it. Unable to comment on rooms as didnt stay here!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Becky B,

Thank you for your review. Great compliments regarding you lunch and the day spa.

We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Welcoming hotel, basically clean but some attention needed. Food lovely, staff helpful and will definitely be back soon. We went with a 7 year old and 2 x 4 year olds, our daughters and their husbands in their late 20's and early 30's. We are grandparents in our 50's and 60's and it suited all our needs.

Room Tip: We had family rooms with balcony facing the sea and superior room with terrace facing the sea - all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Bluesrose,

Thank you for your review. Great feedback regarding you family holiday break. We are pleased it was enjoyable for the whole family.

We hope to welcome you back soon again. Please call direct on 01202-298350 or visit our website. We do guarantee the best rate booking direct.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Visited late last year and really enjoyed our stay - even if it was only for one night! the room was well looked after and very clean, check in was quick and easy and breakfast in the morning was great with lots of option and plenty of everything!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Leigh W,

Thank you for your review. Great feedback from your stay with us. We are pleased that it was all enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you back soon again. Please call direct on 01202-298350 or visit our website. We do guarantee the best rate booking direct.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

My Husband and I have just returned from a short break at this Hotel. We found the staff welcoming, friendly and efficient. Nothing too much trouble. Whilst there we had lunch, two evening meals and excellent breakfasts. The food was very well cooked and fresh. The Hotel is in a very convenient position, buses right outside, lift to the beach a short distance, but walkable into Bournemouth. It has a nice pool area and use of facilities in sister hotels next door. We booked last minute so we were not expecting the best of rooms in August. Our room was clean if not a little dated, but had all we needed and although on the side of the hotel we still had a good view of the sea. All in all a very nice stay and we would go again.

Room Tip: As on cliff top with lovely views probably best to have a room overlooking the sea at the front on 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Jill W,

Thank you for your review. Great feedback regarding you stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to post these for the TripAdvisor community.

We hope to welcome you back soon again. Please call direct on 01202-298350 or visit our website. We do guarantee the best rate booking direct.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Had a lovely 2 night stay at this hotel. Great atmosphere and fantastic people watching. The hotel has a touch of the shinning about it. But it's very cool and unusual. Great place to take a partner and nice dinning and bar. When I stayed there there was a double act playing. Unbelievable entertainment. Not the act, just watching the people that were attending the show. It was just like the scene from the bar in Star Wars. Hilarious. All round a good stay. Nothing to fault and good value. With a good break fast I. The morning. The hotel is a little away from the town centre and will need a taxi trip but the was less than £10 so nothing to complain about.

Room Tip: Parking can be a problem and is in short supply. Get there early or you will struggle and have to pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Justin T,

Thank you for your review. Great feedback regarding your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back soon again. Please call direct on 01202-298350 or visit our website. We do guarantee the best rate booking direct.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH13AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#5 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cumberland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 3 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cumberland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.