We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but could be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Cumberland Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH13AF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Good, but could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Booked three rooms for a special occasion weekend - double with terrace, double with balcony and twin. The twin was the most modern and looked good. The terrace room was dated and a bit of a disappointment, but at least the view was great and we were all able to sit outside there as long as it wasn't too windy. The other double was upgraded to a suite, which was spacious and had interesting furniture, stereo system, two tv's and a mini fridge. Unfortunately, the bed was extremely hard and it was a relief to get up in the morning!

Breakfast was good, as was dinner in the Ventana restaurant, although quite pricey. The location is ideal, although we had to park on the road the first evening and then in the hotel next door, never quite managing to park in the car park at the hotel we were actually in until we loaded the car to leave!

I'd be tempted to return but for the uncomfortable bed and the feeling that it wasn't great value for money at over £400 for two nights B&B.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    946
    569
    181
    79
    52
See reviews for
325
851
77
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Gwent
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We had a three day stay here and were staggered by the excellent service. Being disabled can be difficult but every request was fulfilled without a problem. The Art Deco decor was wonderful and our room was spacious and comfortable.
The pool and poolside area was very attractive and the food was delicious.
We had massages too which were fabulous and we can't wait to go again. One small draw back was a very small lift.. Too tight for the wheelchair.

Room Tip: We had 107 which has a big terrace too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The Cumberland is a very nice hotel but sadly my husband and I were put in an unfurnished room which spoilt our stay, also there was no remote for the TV. After trying several remotes was told that nothing could be done about it. The room was not very clean was shocked when the porter was looking for the remote and pulled out the bed there was a thick layer of dust on the carpet.i know the rooms are still being refurbished but the cleaning should still be to a certain standard.

I must say that all the communal places were wonderful with a great Art Deco feel and the food was enjoyable. I would stay again but in a refurbished room.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The Cumberland Hotel is in a beautiful location. The pool and terrace are fab and we were blessed with glorious weather.

The staff were excellent and restaurant and communal areas really well done.

I was less impressed with food, which was pretty average and some of the rooms. They are obviously renovating the rooms from top down. We were part of a large group and those who had newly decorated rooms were lovely but our 2 rooms were very tired and 1 was tiny!

Some had great terraces too.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My niece and I had two nights in The Cumberland Hotel with evening meals and a massage.The situation was perfect overlooking the sea and there was even a nearby lift down to the beach.The staff were so helpful and friendly,our room was spacious and the food was excellent with a good choice.We used the outdoor swimming pool a lot and the massage in the next door hotel was one of the best I have ever had.The big advantage of staying here is that one can use the facilities in three hotels next door to each other.

Room Tip: We were very happy with a non sea view cheaper room although the view wasn't great.We were out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Went on a girls couple of days away trip. Hotel was brilliant,the staff couldn't do enough to ensure we had a good time,food was superb. We come from a customer service background and the service was faultless. It was delightful to actually stay somewhere where they are not ashamed to have plenty of staff to assist you. They say they are a 3* hotel trying to give 5* service and they certainly achieve that. Can't wait to visit again

Room Tip: Ask for a front sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Before i got my familys passports this hotel was a regualar of mine. Ask for the family seaview suite its perfect with balcony. Great hotel amongst one of the best seaside hotels ive visited.great views and 5 min walk to pear and beach. Short walk to cable car takes u to beach.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear martin p,

Thank you for your review. Good feedback regarding your experience. The Cumberland has a great location, sea front with great views and a short walk away from town centre.

We hope to welcome you back soon again. Check our website or call us on 01202-298350 for the latest offers.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH13AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cumberland Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 3 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, HotelsClick, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cumberland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.