We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but could be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Cumberland Hotel to your Saves list
The Cumberland Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH13AF, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% DISCOUNT BOOK DIRECT
Ranked #10 of 76 Hotels in Bournemouth
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good, but could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Booked three rooms for a special occasion weekend - double with terrace, double with balcony and twin. The twin was the most modern and looked good. The terrace room was dated and a bit of a disappointment, but at least the view was great and we were all able to sit outside there as long as it wasn't too windy. The other double was upgraded to a suite, which was spacious and had interesting furniture, stereo system, two tv's and a mini fridge. Unfortunately, the bed was extremely hard and it was a relief to get up in the morning!

Breakfast was good, as was dinner in the Ventana restaurant, although quite pricey. The location is ideal, although we had to park on the road the first evening and then in the hotel next door, never quite managing to park in the car park at the hotel we were actually in until we loaded the car to leave!

I'd be tempted to return but for the uncomfortable bed and the feeling that it wasn't great value for money at over £400 for two nights B&B.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snailrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Newport, Gwent
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We had a three day stay here and were staggered by the excellent service. Being disabled can be difficult but every request was fulfilled without a problem. The Art Deco decor was wonderful and our room was spacious and comfortable.
The pool and poolside area was very attractive and the food was delicious.
We had massages too which were fabulous and we can't wait to go again. One small draw back was a very small lift.. Too tight for the wheelchair.

Room Tip: We had 107 which has a big terrace too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hascy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
Dear Hascy,

Thank you for your review. Fantastic comments regarding you stay with us. We are very pleased it was so enjoyable for you.

We hope to welcome you back soon again. For the best rates please visit our website or call our reservations on 01202-298350. We also guarantee the best rate when booking direct.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The Cumberland is a very nice hotel but sadly my husband and I were put in an unfurnished room which spoilt our stay, also there was no remote for the TV. After trying several remotes was told that nothing could be done about it. The room was not very clean was shocked when the porter was looking for the remote and pulled out the bed there was a thick layer of dust on the carpet.i know the rooms are still being refurbished but the cleaning should still be to a certain standard.

I must say that all the communal places were wonderful with a great Art Deco feel and the food was enjoyable. I would stay again but in a refurbished room.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Softstuff2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The Cumberland Hotel is in a beautiful location. The pool and terrace are fab and we were blessed with glorious weather.

The staff were excellent and restaurant and communal areas really well done.

I was less impressed with food, which was pretty average and some of the rooms. They are obviously renovating the rooms from top down. We were part of a large group and those who had newly decorated rooms were lovely but our 2 rooms were very tired and 1 was tiny!

Some had great terraces too.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My niece and I had two nights in The Cumberland Hotel with evening meals and a massage.The situation was perfect overlooking the sea and there was even a nearby lift down to the beach.The staff were so helpful and friendly,our room was spacious and the food was excellent with a good choice.We used the outdoor swimming pool a lot and the massage in the next door hotel was one of the best I have ever had.The big advantage of staying here is that one can use the facilities in three hotels next door to each other.

Room Tip: We were very happy with a non sea view cheaper room although the view wasn't great.We were out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylviabarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2014
Dear sylviabarry,

Thank you for your review. Fantastic comments regarding your stay. It is always rewarding to read such positive feedback.

We hope to welcome you back soon again. We do guarantee the best rate, booking direct with the hotel. Please call us on 01202-298350 or visit our website for the latest offers.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Went on a girls couple of days away trip. Hotel was brilliant,the staff couldn't do enough to ensure we had a good time,food was superb. We come from a customer service background and the service was faultless. It was delightful to actually stay somewhere where they are not ashamed to have plenty of staff to assist you. They say they are a 3* hotel trying to give 5* service and they certainly achieve that. Can't wait to visit again

Room Tip: Ask for a front sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2014
Dear Gillian H,

Thank you for your review. Such great compliments regarding the customer service.

We hope to welcome you back soon again. We do guarantee the best rate, booking direct with the hotel. Please call us on 01202-298350 or visit our website for the latest offers.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Before i got my familys passports this hotel was a regualar of mine. Ask for the family seaview suite its perfect with balcony. Great hotel amongst one of the best seaside hotels ive visited.great views and 5 min walk to pear and beach. Short walk to cable car takes u to beach.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear martin p,

Thank you for your review. Good feedback regarding your experience. The Cumberland has a great location, sea front with great views and a short walk away from town centre.

We hope to welcome you back soon again. Check our website or call us on 01202-298350 for the latest offers.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#35 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,299 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH13AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cumberland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 3 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing