We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit and still so good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Cumberland Hotel to your Saves list
The Cumberland Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH13AF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Second visit and still so good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We loved our second visit, we booked through travelzoo on a deal for a 2 night stay with Dinner .
It was great , we upgraded to a sea view for a good price what was worth the extra money.
The rooms are big and have everything what you need.
The dinner in the evening was excellent , we couldn't believe the 3 course meal included was such high standard.
The service was spot on very friendley and professional.
We can highly recommend the food in the restaurant, and in the bar(lunch the next day.)
It was so busy and we loved the atmosphere.
Breakfast was plenty and if you wanted something else what is not in the buffet they happily make it for you.
I loved my costa coffee at breakfast for additional £1.50 what a bonus.
Location is great because you walk in to city centre in 10 minutes, and in to Boscombe in 5 minutes.
Beautiful along the coast, we love our stay and looking forward to our next one in June.

Room Tip: We pay for a seavieuw upgrade. It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,162
    701
    213
    88
    55
See reviews for
387
1,044
87
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (728)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English Lady
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

10 of us met for Sunday lunch yesterday it was excellent. Very helpful and attentive staff, good service and above all excellent food. When we have our next meet up can't wait to book up again. I cannot comment on rooms etc as we did'nt stay over, but the bar and public areas were excellent. Well done to the management and staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed at the Cumberland 4 years ago and with sentimental memories of our previous visit, returned for the Valentines Weekend again this year. Again the staff were very attentive and welcoming and the food in the restaurant was extremely good. However, although the public areas downstairs, ie lounge, bars and restaurant are really very comfortable, the hotel is quite badly let down by the accommodation. We had issues with our room on the first night and were moved immediately to another room. Unfortunately the second room wasn't much better albeit for different reasons and our weekend was spoiled by two very poor nights' sleep. The manager was sincere in his apologies and compensated us. We would definitely return to dine at the Cumberland but we wouldn't want to stay here again unless their rooms were completely refurbished.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear RandDSurrey,

Thank you for your review. I remember speaking with you on the morning, as I was the manager that dealt with your issues. The issues you reported have been discussed and pleased to report that progress has been made. I am glad that you enjoyed the Cumberland and you noticed the good. Without feedback it would be impossible to improve a product.

We hope you visit again soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This Hotel is Excellent the food in the Restaurant is Excellent and good value for money the Hotel is on the East cliff in Bournemouth a three course meal for £17.95p plus tea or coffee in the Restaurant great value.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Felt I had to write a review after such a great experience today. Came here with 3 children (15,10 &7) and my parents for lunch. Decor, food & service was of a very high standard. We had the 3 course lunch and there was a lot of choice and it didn't disappoint. The restaurant and it's staff were so well managed we couldn't fault it at all especially as it was fairly busy. Everything ran like clockwork. The children's food choice was also great and didn't hear a peep out of them while they were eating. Our 10 year old likes his food and we were wondering if the portion size would be enough for him as other places sometimes skimp but there was plenty! Staff are attentive & very friendly. We will definitely return as this place is a real find. Thank you :)

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

..they do it right every time.

The management and staff here are worth their weight in gold, nothing is ever too much trouble.
It is like part of the DNA of the staff, everybody just wants to make your stay here better, and they do that effortlessly. If you love fillet steak, hot and as rare as they come, then I wouldn't go any where but here. The weather this time was as unkind as it could be, but if you are grounded then this is the place to just chill-out and have a few drinks and lunch and then go for a nap, in a room that has been cleaned to perfection...by people you hardly ever see.

You have probably gathered that I (we, my wife and I) love the Cumberland to bits. We won't go any where else in Bournemouth at any price.

Can't say more than that, go and try it.

Kind regards,

Ray Fearnley.

Room Tip: If you smoke get a superior room, then you can smoke on your own balcony with a sea view to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

4 nights here. Rooms are fine as three star hotels go. Position, over the Channel is great, they are fitting new double glazing and they do need to. Really bad weather and it was howling. So were the foxes throughout one night. Public areas very pleasant. But the staff throughout steal the show. Romeo, the maitre d', is on top of his game, a real pro. The restaurant works like clockwork with attentive, genuinely committed and cheerful staff all working hard. (that's down to excellent management/ training, too, let's not forget). Table d'hote at £32 is a bit high, but the food is very good and portions generous. Would be good if the chambermaids responded to basic English in some way rather than semaphore, but that's a minor detail.

Room Tip: sea views are premium priced as you'd expect. Check best rooms for wifi /some rooms are hopeless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH13AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#5 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cumberland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 3 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cumberland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.