We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saturday stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Cumberland Hotel to your Saves list
The Cumberland Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH13AF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Saturday stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one night on a B&B basis but had an evening meal in The Ventana Grand Cafe during our stay. The Room itself (426) was clean enough if not a little compact with the necessary tea making facilities and dispenser style soap/shower gel in the bathroom. The shower itself was not of a very good standard due to the pressure being poor and hard to get a warm rather than very hot shower. All in all for the rate we paid it was as expected.
The food we had at breakfast was good and plentiful, being buffet style you could have as little or as much of what you wanted. The evening meal we had in the restaurant was very good, not cheap but about right for the quality of the food and service.
The only real downside to our stay was trying to park the car. I don't think that the hotel has enough spaces to deal with the rooms when a wedding is on here so we spent a good 30 minutes to eventually get a space at one of their sister hotels that are adjacent to it.
All in all a very nice stay at the hotel with pretty much as expected value, would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,041
    612
    189
    83
    54
See reviews for
342
927
80
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dartford Kent
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from our second stay at The Cumberland Hotel.

We stayed for four nights in a sea view room on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis

We were initially allocated room 407 which seemed fine, if a bit garish in the decor department (gold coving!). This room had an a locked door leading to the room next door and there always seems to be a noise problem with these adjoining doors. Judging by the very loud intimate noises the couple in the next room were having a great time!

We retired around 10pm but by 1am had still not managed to get to sleep because of a strange thruming noise somewhere in the room that totally prevented me from sleeping.

In desperation I went down to reception and the very helpful night porter offered me the key to room 411, I went back upstairs to find the key didn't work. Back down to see the night porter again and this time got the key to room 412.

We crashed out around 2am and woke around 7am and moved all our belongings along the corridor to our new room.

During our whole stay we experienced very high winds and I'm pretty sure that the problem we experienced in room 407 was the wind blowing a flag pole on the roof above our room, anyway the problem was handled as well as possible by the hotel staff and I even negotiated a few free drinks vouchers as a bonus!

The rest of our stay was fine, as stated by previous reviewers the public areas and the Mirabelle restaurant are really plush and stylish, the bedrooms less so but perfectly adequate.

I can't agree with a previous reviewer who criticised the quality of the breakfast (the eggs were absolutely fine) also that the food was too far away, this is no problem for the able bodied and as stated on the menu you can be served at your table if you ask, there are plenty of helpful staff on hand to help.

Dinner each night was fine served by friendly staff, wine was expensive (around £7.00 for a 250ml glass) but no more than in other hotels, I just feel they would sell more if the prices were
more realistic.

In conclusion a very pleasant stay, in particular the staff are a credit to this hotel, we visit Bournemouth regularly and The Cumberland is now our hotel of choice.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have a very good outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Dawnandkeith,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, despite experiencing the terrible weather Britain has been receiving. Also good to hear that your problem was sorted out in an efficient manner.

Good comments regarding the food too.

We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventnor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I had booked The Suncliff but was sent next door to this sister hotel. Everything about this hotel is excellent - friendly helpful staff, tasteful decor, exceptionally clean, good breakfast and very good value for money.

Room Tip: I had room 403. Perfect for a single traveller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

This is our second year for our associations Annual General Meeting at the Cumberland and even with severe weather conditions the whole event was meticulous, everything ready from the start from IT to refreshments, really pleasant staff and a very warm welcome. This is how to run business events in hotels, I know, I used to be a hotel manager, the worst type of critic!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

The art deco style in the reception areas is appealing, but our room was very dated. It had a tired 1980's avocado bathroom suite with no shower hose. I did notice that the carpets were new. The brasserie restaurant was good with well-trained staff. The self-service breakfast was awful. The different food options were very far apart in a big room and the eggs were particularly disgusting.
I would like to warn guests about the state of the pool in the sister hotel next door - don't go there! The loo doors were very dirty and the pool was not clean. I can't believe that this hotel offers spa breaks in these very run-down facilities.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear emand357,

Thank you for your review. You comments have been noted, and where we can improvements are made to hotel rooms throughout the year. Understandably running a busy hotel, with high occupancy levels, urgent maintenance is dealt with first. At the Cumberland we have a ongoing maintenance and room decoration programme.
Your comments regarding your experience will be investigated and I can assure you if there are any issues they will be resolved.

We hope that we can welcome you back soon again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the Cumberland. We also had my daughters wedding reception here and have eaten meals on a number of occasions.

The staff are excellent and the food is exceptional.

Seaview rooms are worth upgrading to.

Thank you for a lovely weekend..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear lynette r,

Thank you for your review. Great to hear another superb experience you have had.

We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The Sunday lunch at the Cumberland hotel was recommended by friends and it did not disappoint. Three courses with plenty of choice in each course. Staff were friendly and efficient. A lovely and relaxing occasion. Although a little more expensive than other hotels I considered it very good value for money.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear David C,

Thank you for your review. Lovely to read your feedback regarding your Sunday Lunch experience.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH13AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#5 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cumberland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 3 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cumberland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.