We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to have a Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Cumberland Hotel to your Saves list
The Cumberland Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH13AF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 76 Hotels in Bournemouth
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to have a Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Cumberland Hotel was the 2nd place we looked at for our wedding and fell in love with the hotel and venue straight away, it is modern and beautifully decorated, just what we were looking for. We had a fantastic wedding day at the Cumberland Hotel with great service and organisation for our big day, the food was amazing (dinner, breakfast, wedding meal and buffet) and our stay in the beautiful 4 poster sea view room was outstanding. The Cumberland presents a relaxed atmosphere and and very attentive staff. I would highly recommend anyone to concider having their wedding at the Cumberland Hotel or if not for a wedding then a few nights stay at the Cumberland. Thank you again and look forward to spending many more memories at the Cumberland.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend a sea view room, its beautiful to wake up to in the morning :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,261
    760
    230
    94
    57
See reviews for
436
1,118
95
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (792)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed for only one night here.

I noticed that the place is decorated incredibly well from the reception area to the restaurant. I loved the chandaliers - I felt like I went back into the 20s or maybe 40s with the classy theme!!

Even though our room was also decorated lovely, I felt that it was slightly smaller than I expected the bathroom was clean and tidy, but my massive pet hate is limescale grime on shower heads and unfortunately our bathroom had that problem.

Putting that aside everythingwas comfortable the staff were very professional and the breakfast was too my liking - I would of given 4 rating if it wasnt for the small room with the shower head.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

From start to finish, this was a superb experience and all for £39 B&B!
I was upgraded to a double room, which was clean and well equipped. Breakfast was plentiful and well organised in a fine art deco dining room. The staff were very helpfu and charming at both check in and check out.
This hotel restored my faith in seaside establishments.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

The hotel interior of the hotel has instance appeal. It gleams with fresh paint finishes and sparkly light fittings.
The reception welcome was bright and cheerful whilst the room rates were amazingly good.
Given the room was so cheap I expected substandard and was bowled over to find a really clean room with super fresh linen

I really wood come back again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We found this hotel through a Travelzoo deal. I booked 5 rooms for a group of friends on a 40th Uni reunion. I breathed a sigh of relief as everything from the booking process to the relaxed atmosphere in the lounge and the welcome we received was appreciated by all of us.
Normally dinner bed and breakfast deals are let down by a poor evening meal. This is not the case at The Cumberland. We had a table for 10 before I had even asked and there was a limited choice but an excellent one - all well prepared and served by well trained, cheerful staff.
Rooms are recently refurbished and spotlessly clean. Location is ideal for the town and the BIC centre.
I left my ipad charger in the room and this was posted to me promptly. So efficient and friendly. Thank you and well done!

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd floor and up room to avoid noise from below. Top your milk up a reception in the eveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The cumberland is well up on my list of places stayed at, and to keep revisiting when in Bournemouth.
Staff , very attentive and helpful and polite - but not overbearing.
Room with view is an option - which I take up - as it is so envigorating to see the white horses rolling in and the breeze whafting in.
Excellent Food ! Excellent & plenty of choice.
I very much l;ike th Arc DEco.

The Cumberland Bournemouth is a modern resort style hotel which has achieved Bournemouth’s Highest AA 3 Star Hotel rating of 88% last year. offer good quality, comfortable, 3 star hotel rooms.
The standard of the public areas, dining options, facilities and services are often likened to a 5 star hotel. This is at a 3 star price, with the added extra of the “can do” service culture, whilst going the extra mile. For this reason they have been awarded Best Value for money Large Hotel in the UK and Ireland at the HRS national excellence awards. The Cumberland Ventana Brasserie has also been award a double Rosette by the AA

Room Tip: ask for room at front with view ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here at the beginning of March for one night with friends from London and enjoyed it so much went back by ourselves for another night in April. We loved the art deco refurb and felt the whole place had a lovely relaxing ambience. All of the staff went that extra mile from the cheerful reception staff to the lovely staff in the restaurant to make us feel welcome, it was lovely being greeted like long lost friends as many remembered us from our previous visit.

The food was exceptional and as I am trying to keep to a diet managed to find healthy choices with the fish and fresh fruit salad. The choice of food for breakfast was amazing as they cater for everyone and had an especially good range of gluten free cereals.

The hotel is situated on the sea front roughly half way between Boscombe and Bournemouth piers with great views and not far from Bournemouth town centre. Ideal if you enjoy walking but not too strenous and mainly on the flat.

The English weather was the only downside as the outdoor pool loooked very inviting but far too cold to venture in, although there is an indoor pool in the sister hotel next door that residents can use.

Room Tip: We upgraded to sea view rooms for a small supplement on each visit so had amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.1 mi away
Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth
1.0 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH13AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cumberland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 3 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cumberland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.