We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay but some attention needed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliffeside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Cliffeside to your Saves list
The Cliffeside
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 76 Hotels in Bournemouth
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay but some attention needed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

We had a beautiful room at the Cliffeside and enjoyed our stay. The receptionists were extremely helpful when we discovered we hadn't been allocated the promised large double, and they arranged the switch. On the plus side - service, pleasant staff, delicious breakfast in attractive restaurant, good meal (at the sister hotel) at a brilliant price, lovely view and a v.attractive bedroom. Parking reserved as they promised, and available whenever needed as a cone was placed there for us. Much appreciated. On the minus side, our mattress was just terrible (could feel the springs in our backs) and we had to put bath towels under bottom sheet to mask the springs a little. Formica (or melamine) around washbasin was in a bad state of repair and even a little white paint on it would have made it look 100% better. Apart from that, bathroom was fine. People reserving should be sure to ask for a good-sized double as the small one we were first taken to was minute - single room size. This was because the staff were worried that in the double we'd be bothered by noise from a wedding below, so when we reassured them we didn't mind and would be out anyway, we got a lovely room with seaview as promised. (Wonder why we weren't asked this in advance.) I always wonder why in many hotels, the management puts that sensible notice in the bathroom to the effect that if you want to save the planet (and expense to the hotel of course) please hang your towels up otherwise you'll get fresh ones, and then when you decide to be virtuous rather than spoilt and wasteful and you do hang your towels up to use them again, the chambermaid takes them away anyway!
I would return to this hotel and recommend it to friends but only on the assumption that a good mattress, not a knackered one, would be provided. Lovely staff.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielJordan, Manager at The Cliffeside, responded to this review, November 8, 2009
Thank You for your review,

I am pleased your trip to the Cliffeside was a pleasant one and that you hope to return, your kind comments of reccomendation to others about the Hotel is much appreciated.
Your views regarding reception and their efficiancy are noted, I am pleased to hear they dealt with your enquiry concerning your bedroom accordingly.
I am glad the majority of your requirements were met and I can only apologize for the standard of your mattress not being satisfactory. We like to think we can meet most requirements of our guests and I can assure you had this been bought to the Hotels attention we would have replaced your mattress immediately.
Moving on to your points concerning your bathroom, after inspection upon reading your review, our onsite maintenance engineer addressed the wash basin and has now been rectified.
As a Hotel being quite a large building we often like to think that although efficient, certain areas within the Hotel that require "snagging" can sometimes go unnoticed, this is why we place the maintenance form in all bedrooms so if this is the case, it can be bought to our attention by our guests and the problem can be solved quickly.
I have reminded the Hosekeeping department of the procedure regarding towel changes. This is obviously explained in their training, It is possible a minor mistake was made by the chambermaid when servicing your room.
I hope my comments have somewhat concluded your review and hope you return to the Cliffeside soon.
Regards
Daniel Jordan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    204
    110
    59
    47
See reviews for
108
243
31
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

Located on the sea front at east cliffe, reception staff attentive at check-in late evening, room next to lift shaft so some noise from lift, modern room decor, clean bathroom and tea and coffee facilities, side room so view of next hotel only, Ordered breakfast in room as early start next morning but nothing arrived at time arranged when complained got a few items that they could find but not full order, partner enjoyed full breakfast in dinning room later, good choice of dishes. Easy 20 minute stroll into town along seafront.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielJordan, Manager at The Cliffeside, responded to this review, October 31, 2009
Thank you for your mixed and fair review of the Cliffside,
I can only apologize for the error with your room service breakfast and that you didn’t receive the items you ordered. I have issued a strong reminder to the restaurant department that all room service orders are to be checked and double checked before leaving the kitchen and that they are sent on time.
I’m very pleased to hear your partners Breakfast in the restaurant was of a better quality and standard.
I appreciate your comments concerning the bedroom in the Hotel, we have a fantastic hardworking housekeeping team who are very passionate in making sure rooms are clean tidy and well presented at all times. Thank You.
We do not have any rooms adjacent to the lift and have never received a complaint regarding this previously; your points are noted although it is a point that most hotels do have rooms near to an elevator...during sleeping hours the lift is normally lying idle"
I hope my response has shed some light on your points raised and I invite you to contact the hotel direct upon your next trip to Bournemouth where I would be happy to deal with your reservation personally.
Best Regards
Daniel Jordan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

On arrival we found that the carpark was already full. Fortunately there was a parking space on the road opposite the hotel with a very reasonable charge.
The two female receptionists on arrival and departure were very friendly and helpful, as were the staff in the restaurant at breakfast. The breakfast choice was ok, but on the second morning we had breakfast in the Cumberland, one of the sister hotels, and thought it definitely had the edge on choice and quality.
Our room was terrible! I'm sure it must have been the worst in the hotel, and certainly the worst we have ever stayed in. Although clean, it was VERY small; dark, as it was on the side of the building with the neighbouring hotel just feet away, and although the window was wide open the room was very hot and airless. We were in Bournemouth for a wedding, so in such a small, hot and claustrophobic environment it was a nightmare getting ready. Definitely not worth the money!
This hotel is in a very good location, with excellent views to the front and one side, so I would recommend anyone booking to make sure to choose their room carefully, and arrive early if you want to park in the hotel carpark.
Also, although we didn't need it personally as we were at a wedding in a neighbouring hotel, there didn't seem to be any entertainment.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell S, Manager at The Cliffeside, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your review
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback.
By telling us what you think about your stay and how we can improve.
You are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.
Trevor Cornish
Opps Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

The reception staff are very helpful and friendly. The rooms are tiny. The bathroom door didn't shut at all. The bed was not in my opinion a full size double. It was also very soft. Every move is like laying in a water bed. Only meal we ate was the breakfast which nice with some choice. We booked the hotel on octopus travel which was over £100 less than the hotel would have charged. Would not have been happy if if had paid full price!!! Overall the hotel was clean including the pool area and the bedrooms are cleaned daily. Also you get the use of the two hotels next door which in my opinion are of equal quality.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell S, Manager at The Cliffeside, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your review
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback.
By telling us what you think about your stay and how we can improve.
You are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.
Trevor Cornish
Opps Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

I actually booked The Cliffeside for 2 nights through NHS Discounts at what I thought was a good rate of £60 per room per night.

One of the reasons for booking The Cliffeside, apart from its location, was the fact that it was part of a group and offers guests the use of the facilities of 3 hotels. This meant we would have the choice of indoor and outdoor pools depending on the weather, as well as table tennis and pool table facilities.

On arrival we were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to The Cumberland Hotel 2 doors away so felt we got even more value for money. Breakfast was excellent and the outdoor pool lovely.

However, if paying the full rate for this hotel, I would not have been impressed by the bedroom which was very sparsely furnished.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell S, Manager at The Cliffeside, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your review
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback.
By telling us what you think about your stay and how we can improve.
You are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.
Trevor Cornish
Opps Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearly London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

Having seen previous reviews of the hotel on this site, I almost cancelled my booking but am very glad I didn't. It's true - The Cliffside isn't the Ritz, but then you get what you pay for.

Our room had a seaview and was spotlessly clean although the decor was a little 'tired'. The staff were friendly and efficient. The location of the hotel is very good, overlooking the beach and only a short walk from the centre of town. The dinner menu is varied and good value and breakfast is more than adequate. The hotel has an outdoor pool but guests can use the facilities of the 2 sister hotels next door so an indoor pool, futher large 'Miami - style' outdoor pool and deck, evening entertainment, cocktail lounge and 2 further restaurants are available.

The only downside is that on-site parking can be a problem as the car park is small but there is plenty of 'pay and display' parking opposite the hotel. I would also recommending paying for an upgrade to a seaview room as I believe the rooms at the back of the hotel can be a little airless.

My daughter and I enjoyed our seaside break and would happily return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell S, Manager at The Cliffeside, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your review
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback.
By telling us what you think about your stay and how we can improve.
You are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.
Trevor Cornish
Opps Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

As I am a wheelchair user, I booked a ground floor room which was spacious and comfortable and had a wet room en-suite.

On the first day of our stay, the car park was full and had to park in the sister hotel's car park next door. It would be helpful if disabled guests could reserve a parking space close to the front door which has good space for allowing transferring from car to wheelchair.

There is a sit on stair lift up to the entrance (approx 10 steps), which is operated by a key by the hotel staff. This might be difficult for disabled people who cannot transfer from a wheelchair.

The restaurant is on the lower ground level and the lift was too small to accommodate my wheelchair. This was not a problem for me as my wheelchair folds up and is light for carrying by my husband. It might be worth checking on the lift dimensions before booking.

The room was spacious and comfortable and had a wet room en-suite.

The food was wonderful with a varied breakfast menu and the staff were courteous.

The location of the hotel is excellent for exploring Bournemouth and the lift to the beach front walk is nearby and is free to use for wheelchair users and companion.

The room could benefit from air conditioning, as there was poor ventilation.

Despite the negatives, we would definitely return to this hotel as it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell S, Manager at The Cliffeside, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your review
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback.
By telling us what you think about your stay and how we can improve.
You are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.
Trevor Cornish
Opps Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#37 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,205 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#8 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 2,408 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ocean View Hotel
The Ocean View Hotel
#47 of 76 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
1.4 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#39 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Chine Hotel
The Chine Hotel
#24 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffeside

Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#26 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cliffeside 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic Bar and Terrace overlooking Bournemouth's beautiful coastline. Superb Swimming Pool with sun loungers and modern outdoor seating. Brilliant new bar menu launched, serving a great selection of Fresh Salads, Light Meals and HOMEMADE BURGERS. An excellent location for a comfortable stress free break in Bournemouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Cliffeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliffeside Hotel Bournemouth
Cliffside Hotel Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliffeside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.