We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated hotel in a good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hinton Firs Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hinton Firs Hotel to your Saves list
Hinton Firs Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Manor Rd, Bournemouth BH1 3ET, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dated hotel in a good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was the only hotel we found with availability during the AIr Show. We stayed in a family room with our 2 children. The room was roomy but really needs to be updated. We had to buy some air freshner as the room smelt so stale. However, the bed was comfortable. The outdoor swimming pool was dirty, the indoor swimming pool was very small (but ok to splash around in with the children), the jacuzzi was cold, the sauna was nice. Breakfast was mediocre with very slow service. Reception staff (Anna in particular) were helpful. Car park small with limited spaces. We stayed at the Chine last year- also a 3 star but significantly nicer. Unlikely to come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    57
    50
    23
    26
See reviews for
45
77
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Faro, Faro, Portugal
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My sister and I took our 91 year old parents to this hotel for a week. We were looking for a disabled room with wet room for our parents and this was one of the reasons for bookingat this hotel. The second reason was for evening entertainment for our parents in the evenings and the website assured us there would be entertainment each evening. All entertainment had been cancelled when we got there, the indoor pool was closed for most of that week, access to the disabled room was really tight and we had to ask our parents to keep their arms within the wheelchairs. There were 2 sunbeds to accommodate guests for 52 rooms, we had to ask for a different dining room table because the one we had was not big enough to accommodate 2 wheelchairs, we had to ask a guest in the dining room to move her chair several times each day because their table was situated right in the way of our access to our rooms, the Manager was very unhelpful and actually laughed at us when we made complaints, we spoke to the owner of the hotel who had a very bad attitude when we complained about there being no entertainment for our parents and he told us to stick them in front of the tv in their room, he blamed the fact that they had to cancel entertainment on the recession and low bookings and informed us we would not get any refunds and if we did not like the hotel to leave. The outdoor pool looked nothing like the photos on the website, it was cloudy, full of leaves and paint was peeling off the floor of the pool. There was no access for wheelchairs to the pool area or to the grassed areas. We asked to see other rooms and were taken to a place called their cottage which was really small and dingy and definately not suitable for disabled people. We had to go through the dining room at night to get to our rooms and all the lights had been turned off. Doors to the rooms did not stay open and it was really difficult to hold the door open and get a wheelchair into the room. You had to stand on a cupboard to reach the small windows to open them and the long curtains got caught behind this heavy cupboard when trying to open them. My father almost stood on a small pair of sharp scissors that had been left on the floor in the wet room, obviously the cleaner had not spotted them. Locks on our door failed to work properly and when reported they were not repaired until the end of that day. The manager stated if anything was missing from our room it would not be their responsibility. The only good thing about this hotel was the restaurant food and the foreign young people who served us. The showed my parents great respect and looked after us really well, as for the other staff in this hotel, well they definately need to have training in dealing with people!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I booked 'living socials' offer of glass of champagne, use of swimmimng pool, sauna, jacuzzi. First of all my Mum and I tried the swimming pool as i had bought this as a treat for her. Then we had a coffee and glass of champagne, We then went out to watch the 'Red Arrows at the airshow. We then came back and had their fabulous Buffet it was out of this world, nothing was too much for the hotel staff. If you fancy staying by the sea i would highly reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

After both our parents being in hospital myself and my sister decided to take them on holiday to converless. We found Hinton Firs while browsing the web and from their site it ticked all the boxes. The main reason I booked with them was the fact they had a wet room, catered for wheelchairs and had entertainment in the hotel. From the time we arrived it was a disaster.
*no disabled space was reserved even though I was told it would be
*access to the disabled room was via the dining room where we constantly had to ask guests to move whilst they were eating to get the wheelchairs through the door
*in the evening the dining room lights were turned off and we had to push 2 wheelchairs in the dark back to our room. Once we complained they did then leave a light on.
*the table in the dining room was not big enough to get 2 wheelchairs under and therefore mum and dad found eating/reaching difficult. The manager did rectify this once we pointed it out.
*the corridor and doorways to the disabled room and wet room were very tight (mum & dad had to hold their arms in so as not to bang them)
*we had to prop open the bedroom door with the hotel brochure to get in with the wheelchair as there was no room for 1 person to hold it open while other pushes wheelchair in
*the Corridoor area and room was very grubby and needed decorating. The disabled room was also very dark and cold
*the kettle didnot work, every time you used the kettle we had to unplug the tv or boil it on the floor(only other plug accessible)
*tv was very old and took up a lot of space
*only 2 tea bags per person given per day(tea is all mum and dad drink) when I asked for more I was told I would be charged for them!
*in our room, next door, at 7.10am, we were woken up by the kitchen fans blasting as the kitchens backed onto our room. Then one morning at 7am we were woken up by a member of staff vacuuming in the Corridoor!
* on Saturday evening we took mum and dad into the lounge area ready to watch the entertainment. When nothing happened we asked at reception when it would start, to be tod it had all been cancelled due to low guest bookings. We were not told at time of booking, or website had no such information. No allowance was made for this regarding payment other than a free bottle of wine and a few tea bags and a free coffee and tea.
*only 2 sunbeds for whole hotel (52 Rooms) when we asked why we were told they were being replaced and had not arrived
*disabled access to pool area is out of hotel, through front car park, through back carpark, through locked side gate (where's Health & Safety!) we ended up pushing them over a concrete ledge at side of hotel, then we had to ask guests to move so we could get the wheelchairs along the patio.
*not able to take wheelchairs either down by pool or on grassed area due to steps.
*indoor pool was closed for most of the week we were there - don't really know why.
*outdoor pool was uninviting, full of leaves, looked like a fish pond!
* one morning our bedroom lock broke, we reported it to reception who told us it would be fixed. We arrived back at the hotel early evening to find the lock still broken, our bedroom door had been open all day with our valuables inside. When we asked why it had not been fixed we were told "what do you do when your maintenance staff turn up for 2 hours then leave"? I asked the manager if the hotel would take responsibility for any missing items, he said no! He then made up an excuse about not getting an email and proceeded to fix the lock himself!
Good points, excellent food, excellent friendly restaurant & bar staff. Angela listened. Hotel owners & manager need to read these reviews and act on them! Same complaints all year!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We booked the hotel via a KGB deal and were a little worried we would not get the best from the hotel.
Far from it, the receptionist made the booking very easy and even put our name against a parking space when I informed them that we would need to use the carpark. Nice location a couple of minutes from the beach and a 10 min walk from Bournemouth. We even took the ride down to the beach and back up so not taxing on the legs!!
We could not be more pleased with the attidude of the staff, all we came across were very friendley and helpful and our dinner and breakfasts were fresh and tasty.
Our room was very clean and comfortable, didn't realise we would have tea and coffee making facilities or a hairdryer. The kettle didn't work and was replaced within minutes, so not a problem. Shower not like our power shower at home, but adequate.
Excellant hotel and value for money,even at the normal rates

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and our room was quite bigger than the double on one of the pics with 2 windows. The room was a little smelly at first maybe the carpet but the windows were there, towels are bit too old and yellowish! Outdoor pool didn't look good to swim but indoor pool and jacuzzi was ok.

The hotel GM seems fake, the host at breakfast was not very welcoming but all other staff who are foreigners were very good as some of them are multi-task.

The hotel is in a good location, close to beach and 15mins walk to town centre. They also got 2 car parks with an additional small one at entrance for disabled badges. Family friendly, table tennis, pool table and board games available on reception.

Nice and quiet stay on the coast!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for two nights, July 12. The overal look of the hotel is very nice, open spaced and has different areas such as a lounge, Pool room, Ping pong room.

However it is a bit scatty round the edges eg. need decorating. Lounge looked clean and the outside patio area was nice too.

Shame about the outside pool, it looked like a swamp

The bar looked very nice however there was no bar staff at the bar. I think i got served once in the two days.,..

Swimming Pool, Steam room and Jacuzzi - Was good to have a swim, not big enough to do lengths, but hey. Clean pool. Jacuzzi was nice to however you have to ask forit to be put on, and they only had it on for like ten minutes....then went off again.

Steam room was nice, we wasn't informed were it was, and theres no signs so we went through a door which sed "changing rooms" and saw a wooden door, having a peek we found it but we would of never known it was there.

Staff were fine, waiteress and waiters at breakfast were helpful and good service, smiled and worked hard. Receptionists wasn't massivly friendly. (Gave them some strawberries and they looked at us like we were weirdo's lol) i would be happy if someone gave me some strawberrys when i was working?? .....

Room was good, average standard room, we got a nice room for the price we got for our two nights. Smelt like feet when we first arrived but we just opened the window. Had all the supplies and hairdryer, places to put clothes etc.Bathroom small but had everything we needed, was clean.

Shower wasn't great.

It seemed like the hotel was popular with families as children were around alot. So if your playing a chill time in the pool might be difficult.

Its ten minutes walk to the beach, not minutes. Still close so was a good location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hinton Firs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hinton Firs Hotel

Address: 9 Manor Rd, Bournemouth BH1 3ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hinton Firs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to offer you a warm welcome to Hinton Firs Hotel, set in tranquil gardens on Bournemouth's prestigious East Cliff, just a few minutes' walk from the sea. Our traditional three star hotel is family owned, which means that we create an ideal atmosphere to ensure that your stay is a real home from home. We take pride in offering a truly personal service, and firmly believe that our hospitality is unrivaled. With beautiful beaches a stone's throw away, two theatres on the doorstep, as well as excellent shopping and many leisure activities, Hinton Firs Hotel is the perfect place to explore, be entertained or just unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hinton Firs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hinton Firs Hotel Bournemouth
Hinton Firs Bournemouth
Hotel Hinton Firs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hinton Firs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.