We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Wedding @ The Hallmark Hotel, Bournemouth 05/11/2011” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth to your Saves list
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Durley Chine Rd, Bournemouth BH2 5JS, England (Formerly Hallmark Hotel & Spay Durley Hall Hotel & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Our Wedding @ The Hallmark Hotel, Bournemouth 05/11/2011”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Where do I start, the only word that can describe our wedding is PERFECT. Our wedding organiser broker her leg the night before the wedding and therefore could not make it on the day, this didnt effect our day atall. In her place was a guy called Neil Bennett he is i belive the events organiser of the hotel (a pure gentle man who ensured it was our dream day) . As we got out our wedding car with the hotel manager, Helen greeted us with a glass of champagne, and then went on to have our wedding breakfast in the merlot suite, the food was to die for, it truely was incredible. We had 77 guests in the day and he team did very well to cater for all these guest on time making sure the food was of top quality. The room looked superb. We went up to our honeymoon suite and there was petals leading to the bed with chocolates and champagne all supplied by the hotel. The evening was faultless, we had 140 arrives and was soo very enjoyable, again the food was great. All of our guests commented on how great the day was, I would 1000% recomend this hotel for you wedding. Neil Bennette is a credit to the hotel and did everything within his power to make sure the day run smoothly, i have seen the previous negative wedding day feedback on this site but i would take this with a pinch of salt. The spa is very good, clean and very relaxing. We will be returning for another stay and thank you soo much The Hallmark for truly the best day of our lifes.!!!

Room Tip: Room 69 is amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    247
    259
    172
    143
See reviews for
94
446
21
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Second time we have stayed here ,First time was for my son's wedding in Poole in April (Easter) there was lots of family members staying all said how much they enjoyed their stay, staff was very helpful and friendly, Excellent leisure facilities with helpful leisure &spa team. Rooms very clean and spacious. Would recommend staying at this hotel whenever in Bournemouth.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Stayed at the end of October for 2 nights . Reception on arrival very plesant no problems at all, the room was very clean and well decorated , the only thing we found was even in October it was very warm, we turned the towel rail off and opened the windows put the fan on that helped a bit.
Breakfast was lovely , buffet style. Didnt eat in the restaurant.
Used the gym, the pool , sauna and steam rooms all lovely clean.
Great location short walk to the beach and the shops , Even on one night we didnt fancy the walk to the seafront a cab fare was only £4
Would definately stay there again , even considering when we checked out they gave us our bill which had a 2 meals wine and coffees charged to our room even though we never had these but this was quickly rectified

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I took my husband to Bournemouth as a suprise for our wedding anniversary, upon check in we were told that we have been given a complimentary upgrade to an executive room, which was a lovely thought, and made our stay more special, the room was spacious and very clean. We booked a table for dinner and the staff were very attentive and suggested a lovely wine to go with our meal. The next morning we had breakfast in bed followed by a relaxing spa treatment. I must say its a great location, only 10 minutes walk to the beach, we will definately be back for the summer.

Room Tip: Definately go for an executive room they are big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Me and my Husband went to bournemouth for a concert at the B.I.C. Hallmark is in walking distance of this and of the Triangle for a night out afterwards so it seemed Ideal.

The room was a decent size and looked pretty tasteful. Very clean and has these posh bed spreads which give the room quite the look.

We decided to have dinner in their brasserie. the food was really nice and the resteaurant has a really stylish look about it. They were really busy on the night with two weddings. Despite this I still feel that we were looked after during dinner. They have some good wines on the list which are reasonably priced and not the run of the mill stuff that you can buy at the supermarket for a fraction of the price.

It is really handy that there is a free car park with ample spaces. This is something that you don't always see in Bournemouth.

all in all we had a great time.

John

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I never complain and i have been in the catering industry for over 20 years - but my mums spacial day was so badly run, so badly organised, i have to warn future couples looking for somewhere special - Look somewhere else !!!!!

Not really the hotels fault but there is a lack of parking space so most the guests had to drive around looking for somewhere to park, this anyone can forgive.

Guests started to arrive from all over the country and from over sea's to enjoy the special occasion
My mother was told to wait in her room and the hotel manager would escort her down to the ceromony, time ticked on and on we were suppose to go down at 4 and as the big hand hit 4.15 on the clock we started to get nervous, we tried to call down to reception but sadly the phone did not work, we went to go down to the reception but sadly the lift did not work :-/

The manager was apparently busy doing something else up in another room so a receptionist came to escort my mother on request.

The Manager asked us what time the balloons were arriving? we pointed out the hotel was organising this and the manager scuried off red faced.

The ceromony went very well and the canapes were good service was attentive and prompt.

I had concerns with the safty of my young children as the pool area was very open as was the unattended gym area, which some of the children used to get water?

We all moved to the reception area - as time ticked on we realised there was no music and the light were on full - once again the manager asked us what time th DJ was due? our heads feel and the blood drained from our faces "thats all been organised by the hotel" we said!!
The manager went red in the face - balloons is one thing but with a hundred guests arriving the evening was on the verge of ruin on our mothers most special day!

My sister followed the manager to reception to ask what he was planning to do? his first desicion was to ask my sister, the daughter of the bride to get out the hotel!!!!

After an hour, most the guests had arrived and it was very clear there was a problem,
the waiting staff tried to set up the chefs radio from the kitchen, they were unable to get this to work, but did provide something to watch ( the confusing thing was there were wall mounted speakers all around the hall, maybe linked to nothing?)

My mother started to wonder what was going on and where my sister had gone.
The best man asked the manager to explain to all the guests what was going on and why there was no music or disco - the manager refused and left the room!
A DJ was found and was greeted to a round of applause - i think the hotel was lucky to find someone this fast on a sat. night.
A good night was had in the end - however my mum did have difficulty in getting any of the wedding cake back and was told it had all been served - so any couples wanting to keep the top tear be warned, and all the flowers went missing!!!!?

The hotel have since compensated a few hundred pounds and a spar break(on request)- to be honest they should have got it free - what a shambles

Plenty of hotels in Bournemouth look around this hotel does not care about your day just your money!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helly200, Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Thank you for your review further to your Mother's wedding.
There are some points that need clarification.
We have 80 complimentary carparking spaces and very rarely do we have an issue given that the on street parking is also free.
There was an issue with timing on the ceremony which I have discussed with the Bride and Groom, as you know the DJ was sick at short notice and the person running your event didn't want to worry anyone without due cause. Yes we should have created a more appropriate atmosphere in the meantime until he arrived but this is the first time we have been let down.
I also know that you swore and shouted at this person to the point where he was going to ask you to leave and caused him to stray from ettiquette by insisting he deal only with you and not the best man.
The leisure club is montiored by lifeguard trained staff and covered by cctv, there is also very clear signage stating that children should be accompanied by an adult.
I am sorry you felt the need to say these things given that your Mum said if the entertainment had arrived on time there would not have been an issue, as you know we have compensated them and they were happy with the conclusion and making them happy is the outcome I wanted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed at the hotel on Saturday night and really enjoyed the stay. Okay,the room wasn't huge but it was clean, modern and all that we needed for a night's stay. The hotel is well situated, just a short walk to the town and the beach. The hotel staff were really friendly and although we couldn't check in when we arrived (we were early) they were happy to put our things in the holding room. The bar staff were really friendly (although,a little slow) and although we didn't eat at the hotel, the food looked really nice. The spa was really nice and we were lucky as it was quiet quiet when we were there. For the money, I was really happy with the hotel. I have paid more in Bournemouth and the hotels have not been as nice. We will definitely go back and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: We were in room 66 and I have no complaints at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helly200, Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Thank you for your comments further to your stay, I am so pleased you enjoyed it and I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth

Address: Durley Chine Rd, Bournemouth BH2 5JS, England (Formerly Hallmark Hotel & Spay Durley Hall Hotel & Spa)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Hallmark Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.