We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect venue for our special day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth to your Saves list
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Durley Chine Rd, Bournemouth BH2 5JS, England (Formerly Hallmark Hotel & Spay Durley Hall Hotel & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 76 Hotels in Bournemouth
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect venue for our special day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

The Hallmark Hotel has been such a great venue for our wedding reception. Its certainly a day that we'll remember thanks to the hard work of all the staff.
Not only did we have lots of help and support leading up to the wedding but on the day Steve was highly organised, and ensured that the day and evening ran very smoothly but yet in a very discrete manner so as not to impose.
We thought the food was really lovely and we received many comments from our guests. The empty plates spoke for themselves!
Our executive room was spacious and the bed very comfy after a long day on our feet.
We also enjoyed the use of the swimming pool and spa, it was a perfect way to relax after the big day.
We would recommend the Hallmark Hotel to any couple looking for a good value wedding reception venue.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    306
    325
    211
    182
See reviews for
133
583
26
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Stayed there several times now. Consistently good service. Attention to detail is outstanding. The whole experience is equal or even better than hotels charging twice as much

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

We stayed two nights 6 n 7 th may at this hotel, clean , large and comfortable ... we had very warm service from all the staff speacially the Asian manager gave us a wonderful stay by offering a room more than our expectations and helped us eveytime even though he was terribly busy..special thanks to him for his great service and advice and the experince he shared with us for his personal n honest advices***** and food was awesome and late night bar is simply superb for couple drinks till late..
Lounge was modern , and my husband loved the gym as well told it was excellent,,, we enjoyed the big pool of them with steam and savona made us so ralaxed and much more valuvale for the money we paid for them..
we had a really wonderful and relaxing time in this hotel Hallmark made us to come back to the same hotel again when ever we plan to visit bourenmouth..

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

Have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Hallmark for a girly few days away. From the moment we went to reception to check in to the time we checked out we found all the staff that we encountered to be friendly, courteous and very proffesional. The room that we had was Number 7 (a deluxe room) was big, had very comfortable beds and a large bathroom with a really fab shower!
Its location to the beach and town of Westobourne can be done in about 15 mins on a flat level walk (the road to the beach has a bit of a hill) It also has free car parking and in fact we did not use the car whilst we were at the hotel.
The hotel has a lovely conservatory area where we had afternoon tea on the day of arrival. It was delicious - the scones were warm and had a huge bowl of clotted cream!
We had booked a Pamper Package in the Spa that included 2 treatments and lunch. At £50 I thought that this was very good value. The Spa facilities are in the process of about to have a big re-vamp but with a swimming pool (there is also an outside heated covered pool), jacuzzi, hydrotherapy pool, saunas and a relaxation area it was really very nice. The therapists are really good.
We ate in the restaurant for dinner. There are specials and the food was of very good quality. The waiting staff looked good in a very professional uniforms.
Breakfast is of good quality and plenty of it. I like to have fresh yoguht and fruit in the mornings and it was lovely to see that they had that on offer. We both asked for poached eggs (which were done the proper way) and again nothing was too much trouble.
At check out we wanted the bill to be split so that my friend could pay half of the dinner bill and an extra treatment that she had had. Again thsi was no problem.
Would I return to the Hallmark Bournemouth? Of course I would and in fact I am recomending to friends who need a hotel that would cater to a large private party and with the quality of the staff and what they can offer I will certainly be telling them all about this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

We got married in Hallmark hotel in September, the atmosphere and the venue were fantastic.
The food for the wedding breakfast and the evening buffet was an absolute sucess and from a chefs point of view (my husband's)excellantly cooked, the DJ for the reception did a fantastic job.
The Hallmark hotel took care of all of our needs and special requests professionally and expertly, we wish to thank you for making our special day unforgettable!

Stayed September 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

I have just returned from a wonderful weekend with friends in the Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth. For the last 4 years we have spent a weekend in the Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire, but this year we wanted to do something different , and as a frequent visitor to the Bournemouth area, I persuaded to others to have a change. We arrived at the hotel on Friday 29 April just in time to watch the Royal Wedding which was being shown in the bar. From the moment we arrived in the hotel we felt welcomed, our rooms were not quite ready, this wasn't a problem as we had spa treatments booked through to the afternoon. When we got into the rooms we were all very pleased, one of our party requested another pillow and this was supplied within minutes of asking. The rooms were very, very warm though, no heating on, but there is a ceiling fan and when I mentioned it at reception I was offered another fan if required. The Girls Night In Package we booked was good, although there was not a great choice of DVD's (3 rather obscure titles, most having been taken by guests!!). The food was really good quality and plenty of it. Breakfast was buffet style and very good. The spa area is lovely, very relaxing and lots to do, robes and towels supplied. Bournemouth town centre and beach were within walking distance so we hardly used our cars all weekend. We also took up the option of the evening meal on the Saturday night and this was excellent, the staff and service were superb. All in all we had a fantastic weekend. There were the odd little things noticed at the time but they did not affect our stay at all. I can't even remember what they were now. We would definately return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Stayed in rooms overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

We booked direct with hotel for 3 nights and were offered a rate of £118 per night including breakfast. We arrived late on the Friday evening after a long day of travelling. First impressions of the hotel were good with a stylish pleasant lobby and friendly receptionist. I asked the receptionist if the room was large and she replied that it was a very nice room and we would like it. The room was number 60 and took us a while to find. The room was small and looked out on to a central well with a fire escape. There were unacceptable stains on the bed throw. We decided to go back down to reception and ask for a different room. Firstly reception advised that there were no other rooms but after some persistence from myself they then offered a room change to room 49, but we would have to move again in the morning. We accepted room 49, which was a reasonable size and overlooking the front. As with other reviewers we found the room to be very hot, but were able to open the window to allow the room to cool.
The next morning we tried to shower, but this was hopeless with a shower that trickled hot and cold water intermittently.
We decided we could not stay here for the rest of our three night break, so looked at other hotels and found the Durley Dean Hotel (A three star hotel with very good rooms and of a far higher standard then Hallmark).
I went to reception at Hallmark and advised that because of the poor experience we had received and not knowing what our next room was going to be like that we had decided to check out early. Adding insult to injury, the duty manager then advised that I would have to pay for the three nights and with no apology for the inconvenience and poor room standard. There was no mention of cancellation policy when the booking was confirmed and most 4 star hotels would adopt a same day cancellation policy of noon or later. I was obviously infuriated by this which then prompted a call to their Operations Manager, who agreed only to charge the one night. No offer of an adjustment in rate for the first night problems was made, but by this time I realised that this hotel really just did not care about customer care.
Certainly not worthy of 4 stars with the condition of the bedrooms as they are.

Room Tip: Unfortunately, don't book at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth
1.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#8 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 2,403 reviews
1.1 mi away
Menzies Carlton Hotel
Menzies Carlton Hotel
#45 of 76 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
0.8 mi away
Royal Bath
Royal Bath
#57 of 76 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 stars 2,252 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth

Address: Durley Chine Rd, Bournemouth BH2 5JS, England (Formerly Hallmark Hotel & Spay Durley Hall Hotel & Spa)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel West Cliff, Bournemouth is centrally located to the town being only ten minutes walk away, and only ten minutes walk to Durley chine which leads to seven miles of beautiful beaches.The hotel offers 83 rooms with comprehensive meeting and event space for up to 300 people.Leisure facilities include two pools, jacuzzi,steam room, sauna, gym and five beauty treatment rooms.We also offer very good WIFI, and free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Hallmark Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.