We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short First Time Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Collingwood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Collingwood to your Saves list
Hotel Collingwood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Priory Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Short First Time Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Comfortable, clean, excellent food, very friendly staff, great service. Convenient location. We were very well catered for as vegetarians. Enjoyed the pool. Good parking.
We recommend the Collingwood and are coming back for another visit!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    93
    24
    9
    6
See reviews for
62
147
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed for one week in July with elderly disabled father-in-law. The hotel is in a good location for both beach and town ( though the shortest route includes a steep hill). It has a large car park. There is some traffic noise and it also gets a lot of Stag and Hen parties passing at the weekend, so request a rear bedroom if you like to sleep with the window open! We had a superior room which was on the side of the hotel and you could just see the sea. The room was very big, well appointed and tastefully decorated, it also had air conditioning, which was very welcome. Our only complaint was that the bed was too hard for our liking, but when we mentioned this we were found a mattress topper , which did help a bit. The single room we had was also good. We were impressed with the choice and quality of the food and all the staff we encountered were lovely. The entertainment was aimed at an older audience. All in all had a lovely holiday and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

My husband and I have just stayed four nights at the Collingwood. We have always had a few
days at the hotel for the last 12 years or so and it has been great. We missed last year though. This year seemed so much better. Rooms have been refurbished, new carpet throughout and the food was excellent. Hot and a varied menu. It is also so nice to have food served on warm
plates. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The dining room staff worked so hard and
nothing was too much trouble. Ten our of ten to Victor our waiter.

Room Tip: We were at the back which was fine. Rooms at the front on Priory Road can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Our friends, John and I went Bournemouth to see the Hall & Oates concert at the B.I.C. We had booked into a different hotel but due to Expedia mess up they didn't have our rooms.!!!
Our stay at Hotel Collingwood was pleasant, the rooms were clean and had been refurbished, the fan didn't work, they changed it straight away, the toilet seat was broken they replaced that.the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was enjoyable with quite a good choice of juices and cooked food. We spoke to several couples all of whom had really enjoyed their stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
telford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed here for a week , the hotel is perfectly situated for the beach and town centre. There is also a large car park big enough for a hotel of this size which is not always the case for seaside hotels. The food was superb and service at meal times was very good with all staff working very hard. My wife is a vegetarian and she enjoyed the various dishes that were on offer . There was a fan in our room which was a nice touch as the weather was quite warm while we were there .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Having stayed in numerous hotels around the country for both business & pleasure,this is the first time i have felt the need to make a comment on a forum such as this. but quite simply from arrival to departure it was difficult to find fault with this hotel, nothing was too much trouble. The food was great, facilities & cleanliness were of the highest standard, the staff were both friendly & efficient. Plus the hotel itself is ideally situated,walking distance to both the shops & the beach. Superb value for money, we will definately return & would not hesitate to reccomend the collingwood. to anyone visiting bournemouth.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed there recently and I would say they do cater for the older generation which my wife and I are both in our 60's but the hotel is of a high standard for the price that you pay. the food is good well cooked and plenty off. the entertainment was also good. We had a room on the front and although it was a bit noisy when you closed the window you could hardly hear the traffic. So all in all quite a good hotel.

Room Tip: Our room although it was on the front was a good sized room with a big bathroom, a bit noisy and ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Collingwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Collingwood

Address: 11 Priory Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#11 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Collingwood 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Collingwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Collingwood Hotel Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Collingwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.