We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great despite the weather” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Collingwood

Save Saved
You added Hotel Collingwood to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Collingwood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Priory Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 71 hotels in Bournemouth
1 review
“Great despite the weather”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We were the people who had one well behaved but frightened dog as left when we had dinner at 6.30 and breakfast at 8.30. Left as seemed reasonable times if howled. He was fine after first night. Amenities were great husband loved food but I found a bit home cooking style. Great location. Will return if visiting bournemouth

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    79
    20
    8
    5
See reviews for
55
126
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband and a work friend had 2 rooms as they was working near by , we stayed 6 days , the rooms are very nice , the hotel is being updated but no problems , breakfast was lovely everything you want , staff at breakfast very good always asking if you want anything . Our waitress was so good always new what we wanted sorry forgot her name ! I stayed in hotel why hubby was working but staff very nice . There is live music some nights , they have swimming pool , all in all a great hotel and very nice staff, we will be back , you will have a fab time very clean well looked after lovely food , breakfast and dinner , most of all happy staff , take it from me as my husband works away and been to lots of hotels staff make the hotel and this one has no problems , thank you for making us welcome , home from home !!!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

If i was writing this review on our first night it would be a 5 out of 5. The room was finished brilliantly and was very spacious. My wife requested a sea view which we got and she was delighted. The friendly staff advised we had been upgraded and this was not a standard room. Fantastic. Having been out for dinner and drinks as it was my birthday I wasnt sure of making the window for breakfast but we made it and was really good and piping hot. The sunday day we went out and came back for a snooze as my wife is pregnant. We didnt even get to sleep when a dog in the room above was barking and crying having been left in its room. This then happened 8am monday morning too. It advertised 'Well Behaved' dogs can stay... hmmmm. There is also lots of refurb work going on and some stairs and corridors not open but this makes sense to do this out of season. Worth noting how comfy the beds were and how good the bath was. Will 100% recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We have just got back from a foure night stay at the collingwood and had a wonderful time the hotel is spotless the staff are excellent very efficient /polite /and attentive , we booked bed breakfast and evening meal and the food was wonderful and served in a lovely modern restaraunt , The pool and juccuzi are lovely and very good temprature also games room full size snooker table pool and table tennis and football table all good fun , we had a few good nights in the bar /entertainments room
tanks to paul Hammond one of the entertainers who was great fun and got everyone involved , We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and can assure you wont be dissapointed
My only complaint was there were dogs in the hotel and although they are told to keep them in there bedrooms we saw three different dogs in the bar

Room Tip: we had top floor front room 312 little noise from fraffic but not excessive and good during the nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

At last I have found a decent hotel in Bournemouth! And I got a bargain this January. I think you deserve more stars. Keep up the good work. Rooms finished to a high standard. Very handy for shops and beach

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congresbury Bristol
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

With the multitude of hotels in Bournemouth, there is plenty of health competition. The Collingwood certainly seems to have got it right, with good location, good decor, good facilities, good staff and good food. All of this is a generalisation though, as the facilities are excellent with a swimming pool, full size snooker table and games room. The corridors were being upgraded when we were there which didn't affect us, and our room was spotless with a modern bathroom. Dining room was also faultless. The staff were outstanding - always pleasant, polite, and smart. Will definately go back there.

Room Tip: Our room was at the top of the hotel and facing the sea. We had some pretty rough weather which mean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed at this hotel several years ago. It was nice then, but even better now. We booked a last minute 1 night stay and upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised with our family room. Absolutely spotless and really comfortable. It appears that the hotel is undergoing room and decor refurbishment.

The dining room also appeared to be newly decorated. Lovely full English breakfast served by really pleasant and helpful staff.

Parking is good at the rear of the hotel, with plenty of space.

We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Collingwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Collingwood

Address: 11 Priory Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Collingwood 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Collingwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Collingwood Hotel Bournemouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Collingwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.