We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
corby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed at this hotel over the August bank holiday, we were able to park okay even though there was a wedding taking place on the Saturday. We left our car in the car park and walked to the town, beach etc, it was no problem. You are charged £2.00 a day for the car parking but this is added to your hotel bill. Its about a 10 mins walk to the beach and about 15 to the town for shopping etc. Its a little hilly so high heels are out. Shops are brilliant. The hotel itself was lovely from booking in staff to restaurant staff, they couldn't have been friendlier. Our room was on the second floor and was spotlessly clean, the bathroom was very spacious. The breakfast was plentiful, the food was well cooked and very hot, my husband said it was the best breakfast he has had in any hotel we have stayed in here and abroad. There was something for everybody from cereal, fruit, yoghurts to a cooked breakfast. We had booked dinner and that was just as good. You can chose from the table de hote or from the al a carte menu and just pay the extra if you choose the latter. The restaurant staff were very attentive and couldn't do enough for you. We didn,t use the swimming pool but my sister, husband and son did and they enjoyed it. they said it wasn't freezing as some people have stated. They had a family room which was situated at the back of the hotel and from what they said it was big enough for the three of them, we had a look and it and thought it was spacious and looked very comfortable. The hotel was very quiet in the evenings after dinner and we did say may be some music could have been played to liven it up a little bit. It was very quiet at bedtime and we were never disturbed as we have been in other hotels with people coming back in the early hours. All in all we had a great time and will certainly be back one day.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    331
    109
    48
    25
See reviews for
241
328
46
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

We have just returned from a family birthday trip at this hotel and could not have been looked after more considerately. Every request was granted - from the location of the specific rooms to the requirements of an elderly grandmother and the early dinner requirements of our young children. All our rooms were comfortable and spotless and the staff were friendly and accommodating. Parking at the hotel was easy, and its location, only a five minute walk from the cliff lift and zig-zag path to the beach and equally near town, makes it ideal. This was not our first stay at this hotel, and will not be our last.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Family of four with two girls aged 7 and 9, all of us made to feel very welcome and special by all members of the hotel staff. Every single employee that we had the pleasure to come in to contact with had the same attitude - nothing was too much trouble and a couple went well above and beyond. When staying in Bournemouth I challenge anyone to find a better hotel with as helpful staff - we certainly wouldn't stay anywhere else. The breakfast is divine - in taste, choice and appearance and the dinner menu is fab and so delicious - clean plates from all four of us every time. Well done for making our stay the best !!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

Staying here for the third time, excellent as always.

Arrived here like the last reviewer, early on the 20th and no problem parking.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester,England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

I'm stunned to read four and five star reviews for this truly awful establishment - one star is leaning towards the generous. We arrived early evening to find no parking available, not in the hotel itself and nothing within a mile! The imminent arrival of the Bournemouth AIr Show meant that the Police had bollarded every road around. What did this hotel do (knowing the airshow date had been set a year ago)? Hold a function in the dining room so that Hotel guests arriving by car had nowhere to go! I demanded a refund because the staff appeared incapable of offering a solution - I was quite happy to drive for 2.5 hours to get home. At first they agreed but then they withdrew that agreement because we'd made a prepaid 'guaranteed' reservation. My wife and daughter persuaded me to stay - it was only one night after all. A mistake I feel - we were invited to double park round the back of the building meaning we couldn't actually go out anywhere other than on foot. We were placed in a dreadful bungalow/chalet which would be perfect for a seventies/early eighties period drama. I could go on but I think I've made my point here! The swimming pool was freezing cold and the breakfast was emminently school dinner-ish. I've been disappointed with a number of hotels in this area over the last few years, hoteliers it would seem are getting lazy. They can no longer afford to be in the current economic climate. This one then topped the lot - stay here at your own peril. Check to see if there's a function on first and if there is, try and be helpful and walk won't you?!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

We have just returned from the Hotel Royale. It was excellent - spotless. The staff were happy and efficient from dining room to bedroom and reception. We are already making arrangements to return next year.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

We have just spent 4 nights at the Royale and can honestly say its one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in.....we were a family of 8 adults and 3 children staying in 4 rooms...all of the rooms were spotlessly clean, a really good size and very comfortable...the hotel staff were very welcoming and friendly, in fact they made our stay even more enjoyable...the food, both beakfast and dinner was wonderfull...so many choices and all delicious.....the hotel is only a 2minute pleasant walk to the sea front. The hotel pool was again spotlessly clean...although the pool room was warm, the water was quite cold but it didnt spoil our enjoyment of it.....all in all its a really fantastic hotel and i have nothing negative to say about it at all......we'll certainly be staying again....

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale

Address: 16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privately owned Best Western Hotel Royale is situated on Bournemouth's exclusive and tranquil picturesque East Cliff. All 64 bedrooms - including eight spacious Studio family rooms - have been designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. The modern leisure club boasts a large and airy indoor swimming pool. Adjoining the leisure club are the hotel's beautiful sheltered gardens, ideal for soaking up the Bournemouth sun. At The BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale we are very conscious that the actions of each and every one of us may have an impact on the environment. This is the belief that everyone at the hotel works with each and every day to ensure we're doing our bit to help build a sustainable future. To this end we currently hold a Prestigious Gold Award in the Green Tourism Business Scheme of which we are extremely proud. The hotel has a Green Committee who meet regularly to ensure that the Green Policy and Green Aims are not only followed, but are constantly updated to ensure that our commitment to the environment and the principles and standards we set are at the forefront of our decision making. All staff at the hotel are required to comply with our policies and are trained accordingly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royale
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.