We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Decent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Solid one night stay at the hotel recently.

As others have stated, staff were very warming and considerate. Reasonable value for this hotel as it isnt 5 star, the room was adequately furnished but for any hotel taking on a domestic property there are limits to what you can do, the small two person lift and thin walls between rooms are a prime example of this.

Location, parking and breakfast were all very good and we enjoyed our visit

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    317
    106
    48
    24
See reviews for
233
314
45
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Four night stay late April 2015. Room spacious, clean, plenty of hanging & drawer space.
The Aqua Brasserie was very well run. Good food, good service very friendly.
Free in room WiFi & tea and coffee.
My only mark down would be that the Bathroom was a little dated with no heating in it, the hot water wasn't always very hot and the shower was "weak".
Maybe other bathrooms were better than mine.
However, the rest of the hotel was faultless and would have no hesitation to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

First off, outstanding customer service, everyone working there was so helpful, friendly and kind, couldn't rate them highly enough.Lovely hotel. Parts look quite dilapidated and in need of a bit of work. Food was outstanding, although for the price it was to be expected. Swimming pool was nice, not during busy hours.. The rooms were just what we expected, very nice, bed was huge! On closer inspection it was just two singles pushed together but this was not an issue! Only concern was the rooms did get quite hot during out stay so we left our balcony door open.

On slight dissapointment we had is someone above snoring, as the rooms cielings are quite tall the sound travels quite far, and this was very distracting so sleep was quite difficult. But this is NOT at fault of the hotel. Surrounding areas and the coast line are fantastic with many bars and restaurants that offer food to die for.

Room Tip: Superior Double room, highly recommended. (balcony)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Just wanted to thank y'all for a really nice stay last week. The weather could have been better but the staff were A-mazing!, best service we had during our stay in UK. The food wasn't bad either and the bedrooms and bathroom were clean as you'd like. So I can recommend to anyone to stay looking for good value and staff who really did want to serve you!

Room Tip: Studio rooms were just right for our family
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 4 nights at this Best Western visiting Bournemouth for first time for a wedding. Wow what a great hotel – modest prices and really ace service from all the staff. Great breakfast – obviously not as good as in the US!! – but totally acceptable and great bacon cooked to perfection. Ate as a family in the brasserie one night and food was great – the pork and the fish and chips got top rating and desserts were out of this world – try the chocolate tasting plate it’s high calorie but high standard too! Highly recommend to all.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Was put in a bungalow in the garden.The room was hot despite it being 15 degrees outside as it only had one tiny window by the door.The room was very tired with an eclectic mix of old furniture and beds.It had one plug and an old brown carpet. Won't be staying again!

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed one night with a good deal on the BW website - Good value for one night. Its a dated property but well maintained. Small single room on third floor. I ate in the restaurant and the food was good and the service better than average. I have belly pork which was very tasty - can recommend the sticky toffee pudding for dessert! Parking is £2 - cramped but adequate. Had a phone call from reception checking everything in the room was ok and I was happy which is unusual but appreciated. Only small niggle - I needed too leave early but reception doesn't open until 7am so had to go pay as you go. However the clientele didn't look business men - more tourist so probably doesn't matter to many. With the right deal this is a hotel I would stay at again - Kudos to reception and restaurant staff.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 1 week ago
IBC35_Mike
Thank you very much for the most complimentary review which was very much appreciated by all especially reception and restaurant staff! It is a great compliment from a Senior Reviewer - thank you. It makes it all worthwhile and really negates those who love to randomly criticise and purport to be experts! Your comments are a great motivator for the whole team
With appreciation and kind regards
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale

Address: 16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privately owned Best Western Hotel Royale is situated on Bournemouth's exclusive and tranquil picturesque East Cliff. All 64 bedrooms - including eight spacious Studio family rooms - have been designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. The modern leisure club boasts a large and airy indoor swimming pool. Adjoining the leisure club are the hotel's beautiful sheltered gardens, ideal for soaking up the Bournemouth sun. At The BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale we are very conscious that the actions of each and every one of us may have an impact on the environment. This is the belief that everyone at the hotel works with each and every day to ensure we're doing our bit to help build a sustainable future. To this end we currently hold a Prestigious Gold Award in the Green Tourism Business Scheme of which we are extremely proud. The hotel has a Green Committee who meet regularly to ensure that the Green Policy and Green Aims are not only followed, but are constantly updated to ensure that our commitment to the environment and the principles and standards we set are at the forefront of our decision making. All staff at the hotel are required to comply with our policies and are trained accordingly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royale
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.