We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 73 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    338
    111
    49
    25
See reviews for
247
334
46
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and could not fault it, the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was situated within easy walking distance to the beach and town/pier and I will certainly be returning again when we stay in Bournemouth next.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Andrew F
Thank you for the most complimentary review. It really means a great deal to the whole team at the hotel to read that our guests not only enjoyed their stay with us but will return for another visit when next in the area. Thank you!
Kind regards
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

My wife and I both 70+ Stayed 7 nights from 3rd to 10th August
The restaurant staff were outstanding, and food first class "well Good" also reception efficient couldn't have been More Helpful. Spotlessly clean throughout. You do get what you pay for. The position is perfect for walks into town or via cliff lift to beach and 20 buses per hour from a short distance for the less mobile. IT has a marvelous swimming pool.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Arthur D
Thank you so much for the perfect review. I was delighted to read that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff were all most helpful and efficient. Please do come and stay with us again
Kind regards and best wishes
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Just visited this hotel, a little gem. great staff very helpful. Stayed bed breakfast evening meal, food was amazing. Hotel location close to the beach and town. Our room was nice and clean and airy. Will return.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
shazWorcester
You made our day! Thank you for the lovely complimentary review - the staff all very much appreciated reading your comments and we are all delighted that you will be back. We do very much appreciate you choosing to stay with us - thank you
Kind regards
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed here Aug 2nd-4th. Given that the room rate was £110 a night we were dissapointed with the room. It was very basic and tired, the shower pressure was like someone spitting on you to the point it became hilarious and the bed was very old and springy. But the worst thing was the air, and by that I mean the lack of it. It was so hot and stuffy in our room (316) even though we kept the window permanently open it was a corner room and was just so bad that we didnt want to be in the room. I realise were currently experiencing hot weather but at £110 a night I would expect a solution to this.

Some pros- the reception staff were incredibly attentive and friendly, as were the bar man. The pool was a good addition but the amount of chlorine in there made it impossible to stay in longer than 10 mins. The breakfast was adequate and all hot, nothing that you'd remember though.

Overall I wouldn't stay here again or recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Lisa_Marie636
Thank you for the review and I am sorry that you felt we were slightly overpriced - perhaps coming from the beautiful Cape Town the exchange rates make us appear that way? That said I very much appreciate your comments which are taken on board.
Kind regards
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in a family room (2 adults and 1 child). The welcome and check in was warm and efficient and our room was made available before the advertised check in time of 3pm. The room itself was adequate but a little small. The bathroom functional but basic with an over bath shower. Towels and soaps were provided as was tea making facilities. The room was made over each day and towels refreshed as required. We found drying towels quite a chore in our smallish room, it started looking a bit like a Chinese laundry to be frank. When we stayed it was hot and the room had no air con. The hotel provided a FOC fan on request which was essential for a nights sleep. The hotel was quiet and had a nice bar and dining room. Breakfast was marvellous each day with an excellent hot and cold selection. Service at breakfast was excellent. The pool was a bit basic, no frills here and in fact was a bit cold and the water quite cloudy throughout. During our stay the sea was warmer. Overall this hotel provided a comfortable and pleasant stay in bounemouth. We'd go back if the price was right but we would also shop around. Having said this the hotel was excellent value at £372 for 4 nights including breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a big room.
See more room tips
Green Features: We were encouraged to re use towels which we did in order to reduce the laundry needs.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
dbuckingham63
Thank you for the complimentary review which the title seemed to contradict!? I was delighted that you found all aspects of the stay made for a comfortable and enjoyable stay and that you thought it provided excellent value! Please do consider staying with us in the future
Kind regards
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Nice room, nice restaurant and very nice indoor pool! Good space for parking as well, it's really the beach! The staff are so friendly and helpful. Would come back again with my girlfriend and our daughter!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Carlos C
Thank you for your kind review and I am delighted that not only did you enjoy your stay but that you will come back and stay with us again. It really does mean a great deal to all the team at the hotel especially at this very busy time.
Kind regards
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#7 of 73 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 2,349 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.1 mi away
Menzies East Cliff Court Bournemouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central
1.7 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.7 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale

Address: 16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privately owned Best Western Hotel Royale is situated on Bournemouth's exclusive and tranquil picturesque East Cliff. All 64 bedrooms - including eight spacious Studio family rooms - have been designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. The modern leisure club boasts a large and airy indoor swimming pool. Adjoining the leisure club are the hotel's beautiful sheltered gardens, ideal for soaking up the Bournemouth sun. At The BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale we are very conscious that the actions of each and every one of us may have an impact on the environment. This is the belief that everyone at the hotel works with each and every day to ensure we're doing our bit to help build a sustainable future. To this end we currently hold a Prestigious Gold Award in the Green Tourism Business Scheme of which we are extremely proud. The hotel has a Green Committee who meet regularly to ensure that the Green Policy and Green Aims are not only followed, but are constantly updated to ensure that our commitment to the environment and the principles and standards we set are at the forefront of our decision making. All staff at the hotel are required to comply with our policies and are trained accordingly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royale
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.