We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #10 of 71 Hotels in Bournemouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Real Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed here with my wife & children & inlaws for three nights from 18th July.

We had a very enjoyable break. I had one of the chalets at the rear of the hotel which was perfect for my disabled daughter.

The room was on the ground floor with parking directly outside. It was spacious, very tidy and comfortable.

As a hotel manager of a four star hotel myself I have to to say I was impressed with the Royale. The staff were attentive and went that extra mile to ensure my family & inlaws were well looked after.

We all dined in the brasserie on the 1st night. The food and service was very good.

Breakfast on each morning was beautifully cooked and hot. 'Buffet style'

We all enjoyed bar food twice during our stay. Again, this was very good. Bar prices are very reasonable.

Overall, this hotel is a real gem. Definately one of the best in Bournemouth.



Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
MabelEtherington
Thank you so much for the kind words! and coming from a four star colleague it really does mean a great deal to the whole team at the hotel as I am sure you are well aware - thank your compliments about the food…. they were much appreciated by the chef and his team. Please do come and visit us again
Kind regards and best wishes
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    297
    99
    45
    23
See reviews for
218
296
45
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
oxford
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Spent Saturday and Sunday night at this hotel. We arrived early and our rooms were not ready but the receptionist said she would take a telephone number and call us when it was ready. We left the car and luggage in the car park and walked into town, (winter gardens and shops about 10 minute walk.) We got a call about 2pm to say the rooms were ready. Rooms were clean (bit smaller than we are used to but fine for a couple of days.) There was ample storage space, tv, tea and coffee etc. Bathroom clean and bright with toiletries. Did not use the restaurant for evening meals. Breakfast good. Selection of fruit, cereals, yogurts, cooked breakfast, pastries etc. Staff friendly but some of them seemed a little 'flustered' at times. Swimming pool nice but only got to use it on Saturday as it was closed down on the Sunday and Monday which was disappointing but not their fault. If you get a choice/chance ask for a room at the back of the hotel or in the annexe. We had a room in the front and it was a little noisy at times. Car park £2 per night (money goes to charity) There were a couple of issues we had and we contacted Best Western and had a polite apologetic reply. All in all a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Jubie100
Thank you for the most complimentary review and I was pleased to read that Best Western were able to sort out your issues with them. I am sure that your comments will help other prospective visitors to decide to stay with us - thank you!
Kind regards and best wishes
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This hotel has excellent service the staff all very polite and helpful.
We were made to feel very welcome.
It is clean and tidy, the room cleaned and made tidy every morning,all tea making facilities replenished every day.
Above all, the food being of the highest quality and the breakfast buffet excellent.
The restaurant and bar staff very efficient and attend to your every need.
Heated indoor pool with gardens and loungers
We will definitely be staying again next year.

Room Tip: Front view rooms ,some with balcony overlooking tidy gardens.
See more room tips
Green Features: Good environment practises ie using towels again Saving energy.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dave G
Thank you for the lovely review and the the greatest compliment we could ask for is the knowledge that you will return to stay with us next year. I was delighted you appreciated the skills and efforts of the kitchen brigade who work extremely hard at this time of the year in uncomfortably hot surroundings!! We look forward to welcoming you back
Kind regards and best wishes
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This surely has to best hotel in Bournemouth in terms of service, comfort and value for money. The staff are so friendly, the rooms clean and comfortable and the bar snacks are to die for! It's also close to the station if you haven't got a car. I can't wait to stay there again and have no hesitation in recommending it to others. It's a 5 star hotel but at three star prices!

Don O.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dan O
Thank you so much for the glowing review!! It really does mean a great deal to all of us at the hotel and we also thank you for your valued custom. Please keep recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kind regards and best wishes
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

What a great hotel. Excellent food, lovely staff very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.
Room clean and comfortable, though perhaps a little basic
Excellent value both accommodation and food
Can't wait to stay again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Matt B
Thank you so much for the most complimentary review which is very much appreciated by all the team at the hotel. I am delighted that you will be revisiting us which is the greatest compliment! We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights on business this week. It's a homey hotel about 15 minutes walk away from the beach.

The rooms are fine and have everything you need including a hair dryer, toiletries and tea/coffee but could do with a bit of updating.

The breakfast was delicious with a great selection of cereals, fruit and fried items.

The staff were so helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough to help you.

For the price, this hotel is a great option if staying in Bournemouth.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
KellyE
What a superb title - thank you from all the staff - who incidentally think all our customers are lovely too!! I really appreciate your taking the time to review us with such kind words. I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale

Address: 16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privately owned Best Western Hotel Royale is situated on Bournemouth's exclusive and tranquil picturesque East Cliff. All 64 bedrooms - including eight spacious Studio family rooms - have been designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. The modern leisure club boasts a large and airy indoor swimming pool. Adjoining the leisure club are the hotel's beautiful sheltered gardens, ideal for soaking up the Bournemouth sun. At The BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale we are very conscious that the actions of each and every one of us may have an impact on the environment. This is the belief that everyone at the hotel works with each and every day to ensure we're doing our bit to help build a sustainable future. To this end we currently hold a Prestigious Gold Award in the Green Tourism Business Scheme of which we are extremely proud. The hotel has a Green Committee who meet regularly to ensure that the Green Policy and Green Aims are not only followed, but are constantly updated to ensure that our commitment to the environment and the principles and standards we set are at the forefront of our decision making. All staff at the hotel are required to comply with our policies and are trained accordingly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royale
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.