We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Bournemouth” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 22% off stays!
Ranked #10 of 70 Hotels in Bournemouth
oxford
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Weekend in Bournemouth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Spent Saturday and Sunday night at this hotel. We arrived early and our rooms were not ready but the receptionist said she would take a telephone number and call us when it was ready. We left the car and luggage in the car park and walked into town, (winter gardens and shops about 10 minute walk.) We got a call about 2pm to say the rooms were ready. Rooms were clean (bit smaller than we are used to but fine for a couple of days.) There was ample storage space, tv, tea and coffee etc. Bathroom clean and bright with toiletries. Did not use the restaurant for evening meals. Breakfast good. Selection of fruit, cereals, yogurts, cooked breakfast, pastries etc. Staff friendly but some of them seemed a little 'flustered' at times. Swimming pool nice but only got to use it on Saturday as it was closed down on the Sunday and Monday which was disappointing but not their fault. If you get a choice/chance ask for a room at the back of the hotel or in the annexe. We had a room in the front and it was a little noisy at times. Car park £2 per night (money goes to charity) There were a couple of issues we had and we contacted Best Western and had a polite apologetic reply. All in all a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Jubie100
Thank you for the most complimentary review and I was pleased to read that Best Western were able to sort out your issues with them. I am sure that your comments will help other prospective visitors to decide to stay with us - thank you!
Kind regards and best wishes
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    266
    90
    44
    23
See reviews for
202
267
42
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This hotel has excellent service the staff all very polite and helpful.
We were made to feel very welcome.
It is clean and tidy, the room cleaned and made tidy every morning,all tea making facilities replenished every day.
Above all, the food being of the highest quality and the breakfast buffet excellent.
The restaurant and bar staff very efficient and attend to your every need.
Heated indoor pool with gardens and loungers
We will definitely be staying again next year.

Room Tip: Front view rooms ,some with balcony overlooking tidy gardens.
See more room tips
Green Features: Good environment practises ie using towels again Saving energy.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dave G
Thank you for the lovely review and the the greatest compliment we could ask for is the knowledge that you will return to stay with us next year. I was delighted you appreciated the skills and efforts of the kitchen brigade who work extremely hard at this time of the year in uncomfortably hot surroundings!! We look forward to welcoming you back
Kind regards and best wishes
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This surely has to best hotel in Bournemouth in terms of service, comfort and value for money. The staff are so friendly, the rooms clean and comfortable and the bar snacks are to die for! It's also close to the station if you haven't got a car. I can't wait to stay there again and have no hesitation in recommending it to others. It's a 5 star hotel but at three star prices!

Don O.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dan O
Thank you so much for the glowing review!! It really does mean a great deal to all of us at the hotel and we also thank you for your valued custom. Please keep recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kind regards and best wishes
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

What a great hotel. Excellent food, lovely staff very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.
Room clean and comfortable, though perhaps a little basic
Excellent value both accommodation and food
Can't wait to stay again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Matt B
Thank you so much for the most complimentary review which is very much appreciated by all the team at the hotel. I am delighted that you will be revisiting us which is the greatest compliment! We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights on business this week. It's a homey hotel about 15 minutes walk away from the beach.

The rooms are fine and have everything you need including a hair dryer, toiletries and tea/coffee but could do with a bit of updating.

The breakfast was delicious with a great selection of cereals, fruit and fried items.

The staff were so helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough to help you.

For the price, this hotel is a great option if staying in Bournemouth.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
KellyE
What a superb title - thank you from all the staff - who incidentally think all our customers are lovely too!! I really appreciate your taking the time to review us with such kind words. I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Organising our annual trip down to Tankfest at the Bovington Tank museum, this hotel caught our eye because of the great reviews it had received. Taking these on-board, we booked two rooms for three nights arriving Friday June 27th 2014 (room numbers 125 and 126).

Until we arrived, we didn't realise there are a number of chalet type units built in a line around the edge of the car park at the rear of the hotel. Some are one storey and some are two. Rather than being allocated rooms in the main hotel, we were given two of these upper floor chalet rooms. It only takes a minute to walk from these rooms to the hotel front entrance so the distance is no big deal even in the rain. At first we were a little unsure as to what they were going to be like but we ended up being very pleasantly surprised. Both rooms shared a private outside entrance door and a short, fairly steep, stair case. The actual room doors were at the top of the landing, one either side.

Both rooms were generously large and tastefully decorated giving them a classy feeling. There were lots of windows to the rooms on the car park side and these were certainly needed. The one criticism of the rooms was that they got quite hot and it was necessary to leave the windows open overnight to cool them down. The hotel management must have recognised this issue as each room contains a large floor standing fan which proved to be invaluable. With the windows open, we only had a problem with outside noise on one occasion when a couple of drunken residents in a neighbouring chalet woke us at 4am one morning as they returned after a night out. On the window side, each room had it's own lockable internal door which joined the two rooms together by a short connecting passage over the stairs. Having a door at each end was a nice touch as it adds to the soundproofing.

There were some creaky floorboards in the rooms which made a noise at the slightest touch. This didn't pose us a problem but we wondered whether the occupants of the downstairs rooms were getting a bit annoyed with them. A good reason for insisting on an upper floor room.

During our stay the staircase walls were repainted whilst we were out. Having said that, when we first walked in I can't recall that they looked in desperate need of redecoration.

Looking through previous reviews we could find very little information about the parking at the hotel so here's what we thought. There are parking areas at the front of the hotel, on the left hand side and at the rear. There's an automatic barrier which goes up when you drive into the hotel but you'll need to key in a pass code to raise the exit barrier on the way out. Parking costs £2 per night. Some parking spaces are end to end ones whilst others are in a row. A few of them are a bit narrow but most are ok. Unlike other nearby hotels there look to be an adequate number of spaces (even when the hotel is full) and we always found a space. Down the road, some of the hotels we walked past really do have parking issues. Although their car parks might have been bigger, at times they were absolutely jam packed with some cars blocking the driving lanes. However we had no complaints about the parking at this hotel.

The inside of the main hotel was again tastefully decorated and had a classy feel to it. The breakfast room was nicely furnished and was a really nice environment to eat in. There was a good help yourself breakfast selection including a cooked a breakfast.

I can't remember a hotel where the staff have all been so nice and polite without exception. The reception staff were lovely as were the staff in the breakfast area. At the previous hotel we stayed at you could see that there been a drive by the hotel management to introduce good customer service which felt a bit gimmicky. Here it was absolutely effortless making it feel all the more sincere.

The hotel it located down a wide quiet leafy road and it's only a 3-4 minute walk to the seafront. You're quite high up the cliff so you need to walk down steps to the lower promenade and beach. Bournemouth pier is a short 8-10 minute stroll away. It's downhill on the way there but uphill on the way back. There's a large Harry Ramsden's fish restaurant on the hotel side of the pier overlooking the beach.

Going in the other direction, the walk to Boscombe pier is very pleasant.

Room Tip: If you go for an outside chalet, get an upper floor one to avoid the sounds of creaking floor boards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Krizz00
What an amazing review! Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write such a glowing report on the hotel, the staff especially and the area. I am sure it will prove to be of great use to other prospective visitors. I can't tell you how much we appreciate your comments and opinions - thank you! and please do come and visit us again
Kind regards
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale

Address: 16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privately owned Best Western Hotel Royale is situated on Bournemouth's exclusive and tranquil picturesque East Cliff. All 64 bedrooms - including eight spacious Studio family rooms - have been designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. The modern leisure club boasts a large and airy indoor swimming pool. Adjoining the leisure club are the hotel's beautiful sheltered gardens, ideal for soaking up the Bournemouth sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royale
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.